Find companies:
Arkansas Tech University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Arkansas Tech University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning 101
Institutional services assistant (Current Employee), Russellville, ARApril 1, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: they could pay better for what we have to do
A typical day at ATU is a lot of cleaning, dusting, sweeping, and just keeping it neat. I learned patience at this job and how to do different types of cleaning. The management at my level is very understanding about what we have to do on a daily basis. I only get to work with my co workers in the summer months, but enjoy it. The hardest part of the – more... job is the repetitiveness and the most enjoyable is interacting with the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Health and Physical Education Faculty (Current Employee), Russellville, ARMarch 18, 2014
Great environment and vibrant University to work. Great mentors that will teach you skills you need to learn to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Russellville, ARMarch 4, 2014
Pros: coffee
Cons: not enough time in the day
I loved working at tech. The individuals I worked with were awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with a lot of culture
Administrative Specialist I for ELI (Current Employee), ARFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: fun environment, interesting students, enjoyable staff
Cons: part-time position
A typical day of work is rare. Days always consisted of various jobs and tasks, usually different than the prior days. I learned how to create purchase orders, administer tests to international students, general administrative work, and gained more managerial experience. My co-workers were the faculty of the ELI program. They were great and loved teaching – more... international students English. I had a great supervisor that showed me a lot of ways to be successful in our program. The hardest part of my job was teaching students as a substitute teacher. I have never taught a class before but it developed my speaking skills and challenged me. I enjoyed getting to know international students and their various cultures the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great leadership
Office Assistant (Former Employee), ARFebruary 24, 2014
This job was a work study job that I had while I was enrolled in school. A typical day would include reviewing documents, printing/copying documents, answering phones, handling students concerns, filing student information, and running errands across campus. I mostly learned how to communicate with people verbally and electronically. I really enjoyed – more... working with my co-workers as they were very friendly to work with and very helpful when I asked questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Math Tutor (Former Employee), Russellville, ARJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: fun environment, great management
Cons: part time
I would come in to work at about 4:30pm. I was usually the first one to the tutor lab. unlocking and setting up the room was the first thing. Next I would wait for students, which never took long.

The management was great. Very helpful and a lot of fun.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with students upset with particular faculty staff members.

Most – more... enjoyable part of the job was the co workers and studying mathematics everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Fiscal Support Analyst/Accounts Payable (Former Employee), Russellville, ARJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: no one hanging over your shoulder
I truly loved working at Arkansas Tech University. I love what I did, and the respect from other departments and co-workers.

I paid invoices, paid all travel for the campus, paid all organization check reimbursements, filing and speaking with vendors by phone and e-mail.

The hardest part of the job was having to leave it when we moved.

The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Math Tutor and Grader (Former Employee), AROctober 27, 2013
Great university. Great professors. Great experience working there interacting with professors and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
student (Former Employee), Russellville, ARSeptember 5, 2013
had a great time playing football and made some great friends. Great challenging professors who only want you to suceed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place, but wasn't for me
Admissions Analyst Supervisor (Former Employee), Russellville, ARAugust 19, 2013
Pros: free tutition
Cons: to much responsibilty
I worked in the admissions office with a wonderful group of people. I enjoyed the review and data entry of my job. The hardest part was the student workers duties, sometimes there would tons of work for them and other times not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary/ Volunteer Work
Student Worker (Former Employee), Russellville, ARJuly 20, 2013
Pros: servicing and interacting with clients.
Cons: lots of hours spent in front of a computer monitor.
I started out volunteering for the Center in order to gain some experience in the field. After a month and a half the Director decided to offer me a paid position. A typical day included data entry into the Arkansas Continuity of Operations Program (ACOOP), reviewing plans, and creating exercises and After Actions Reports (AAR). I would also travel – more... to other counties and school districts to pitch our services to COOP essential personnel, and conduct hazard analysis of their facilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience working with my professors
Senior Fellow- Department of Behavioral Sciences (Former Employee), ARApril 21, 2013
Pros: good hours, good placement (on campus)
I loved being in the office of Behavioral Sciences each day. Interacting with my professors was a good way to take full advantage of my education; I was not just learning in the classroom, but also at work! We have had many intellectual conversations and discussions about recent events in the lobby, enriching my outlook on different issues. When professors – more... needed assistance grading papers or quizzes, I was there to save them time. I also ran any errands needed, such as taking paperwork across campus. My co-workers were students, like myself, and we all enjoyed each others company. If there was a lot of work to be done for a professor, we often shared the job to see that it be done in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job was walking up three flights of stairs with a heavy backpack each day to reach the office! My favorite part of the job was most likely the treats that were sometimes brought in. Several co-workers and professors loved to share goodies with the office and would bring in vegetable snacks, cheese and crackers, cookies, and many other things! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Graduate Assistant, Graduate College (Former Employee), ARFebruary 18, 2013
i learned a lot and made a lot of friends. The environment was conducive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Student Worker (Former Employee), Russellville, ARJanuary 16, 2013
Being and student and working there was my second home. My managers were like my family, great and very caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Spanish Instructor,Translator/Interpreter (Former Employee), Russellville, AROctober 22, 2012
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: temporary job
A typical day of work included interacting with all the faculty members of the department, interacting with the students that passed through and also giving them further instruction in Spanish outside of their classroom in a Lab setting, reviewing the lesson plans set out by the Lab director depending on the class level and teaching the set lesson plan – more... to the incoming students. Also Assisting the professors if needed. I enjoyed interacting with the students and seeing their faces glow as they began to understand the language. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have nothing but positive things to say about this institution
Supervising Dining Staff (Former Employee), Russellville,ARMay 15, 2012
Pros: free meals
Cons: late hours
my work consisted of setting tables for events and waiting tables also making sure that guest were all taken care of

handeling dificult guest

the management was nothing but helpful

my co-workers changed a lot and were moody

working with dificult cheffs

seeing happy guest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work, just no opportunity for advancement
Visiting Instructor, Health Education (Former Employee), Russellville, ARJanuary 20, 2012
Pros: students, coworkers, supervisors
Cons: lack of yearly raises
As mentioned before, was a great place to work. Had excellent supervisors etc... Good size student body with much diversity.