Arlington County Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work long hours, no job security, supervisor pets,
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  washington Blvd., Arlington, VaJune 16, 2016
Be Careful! Older coworkers have years of experience. Training is two months and you must know the material that older coworkers took years to understand.

Management is stressed! They need a supervisor and haven't found one for over six months.

It looks terrific in the beginning for work/life, however, long hours to finish your paper work, contact clients, contact physicians, etc.

Look elsewhere! If you are bilingual your job is safe.

Equipment does not get fixed by computer techs quickly.
Pros
Building is new and office space one of the best.
Cons
Benefits if you can stay over five years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is great; hours are inconsistent
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 27, 2015
Pay is great and people are for the most part good but hours are very inconsistent. Work is inconsistent too; some managers demand very little others make the lifeguards do. The older guards get cheated out of hours because they are more expensive. Very stingy culture; have been asked a few times to leave a few minutes early because they didn't want to pay me for my full hours worked.
Pros
Good pay for older guards
Cons
Inconsistent hours, some managers are very stingy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place and fun
Trades worker (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 17, 2015
This is my current full time position, Been here for 5 years 4months. the benefits are great and the opportunity's are there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and work schedule
APPRAISER TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 12, 2014
Excellent benefits and work schedule. Very professional and good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and gratifying
Court-appointed attorney (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VADecember 5, 2014
I have just completed a DBA (Doctor of Business Administration) program and I am ready to work in an area where I combine my knowledge of US domestic law and International law (foreign attorney) and my Business administration skills
Pros
Doing what I like to do providing legal representation
Cons
limited benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for government
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 28, 2014
ok to work for Arlington country
medium pay
management ok
job security great
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Service Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 27, 2014
Hard work but worth experience
Learned how to use power tools
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential for excellence, enjoyable work,
Equipment Bureau Chief (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 13, 2014
Overall positive experience. I enjoyed having great credibility and inclusion in management committees. I was able to propose many improvements to the operation.

On the down side there are impediments including decision making at top management levels instead of the appropriate level of management, ineffective purchasing procedures, cumbersome personnel procedures.

The staff are quite capable but first level supervisors are ineffective. Mid-level managers are not engaged as much as they should be.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning a lot of QA & QC for DOC DOC.
Record Assistant IV (Former Employee) –  Alrington, VANovember 3, 2013
requirement a lot of detail and function communication between the courthouse and sheriff. It also needs performance the job accurately in order to calculate inmate sentence.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some management was not great
Mgmt and Bud Bureau Chief for Dept of Human Svcs (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 24, 2013
The first manager I had was great but after that the management was not positive and caused a lot of people to leave their jobs. It was important to me to work there as we helped people with medical issues to try to keep them stable and healthy. The majority of co-workers were great and positive but most of them left because of the change in management.
Pros
Wanted to get medical issues resolved.
Cons
Management was not forced to get positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arlington County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7

Arlington County Reviews by Location