Find companies:
armed forces
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

armed forces Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it the most
Postal and courier operator (Former Employee), Motherwell, SCTDecember 3, 2013
Pros: great place for working as a team
Cons: wish i didn, t get medically disscharged
would be great to still be there, it was what i always wanted to do. didnt work out but learned a lot to help me later in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never the same day routine
Army (Former Employee), Tidworth ED, ENGNovember 28, 2013
Pros: good people and friends
Cons: long hours
A good place to work, meet a good bunch of people and get qualifid in many different thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school work experience.
work experience (Former Employee), ENGOctober 29, 2013
Pros: my friends were with me.
Cons: realised the army is not for me..
i enjoyed learning about the army..and everything they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most secure and rewarding job.
Driver / Lance Corporal (Former Employee), UKOctober 27, 2013
Each day was different and challenging. I learned to be part of a team and to take control of all types of situations. Working with all types of people from all different types of backgrounds. The most hardest part of being a Soldier was when travelling to different countries to get the message across that we were there to help not to cause trouble. – more... i enjoyed all aspects of the job including working part of a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working yet enjoyable
driver/communicatin specialist (Former Employee), Basingstoke, ENGOctober 25, 2013
working in the stores department meant that i had to make sure that all my stock was neat and tidy and easily accessed. i have learned how to manage stock correctly and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Various (Former Employee), VariousOctober 17, 2013
Pros: security of a job.
Cons: separation.
I joined the Army as a very immature 16 year old in 1975. In those days Junior Soldiers trained for 18 months before being posted to their parent units. For the next 31 years I travelled all over the world as indicated in my CV seeing many cultures and indeed learning from them. In time I moved through the ranks becoming a Warrant Officer.
In a military – more... environment everyday is different, presenting different challenges particularly when one is in an operational role. The most important part of this environment is team work and having those whom you are responsible trusting you. That trust is gained from good man management skills; letting your people know you are in charge but you are not a tyrant and you can be approached whenever they feel there is a problem be it personal or work related.
I would say the worst part of the job was the many months of separation from families but the enjoyable part was coming home. Indeed when based in a 'peace-time' role there are many opportunities to go on courses either to benefit your career of more of recreational based ones such as adventure training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), LondonSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: life skills
Cons: can be physically draining at times
I joined the armed forces as an infantry soldier and would have to say that I learnt a lot of my life values from working here. It was an enjoyable role and allowed me to mature at a young age. I had to learn life skills, team work, management, and general infantry skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The armed forces are excellent
Soldier records clerk (Former Employee), Abu DhabiSeptember 21, 2013
The armed forces are considered excellent for the citizens of non-citizens they are excellent for experts I've heard the work of the armed forces during the 3 years and benefited greatly for me was the basis on which it was built functional skills I have learned a lot of them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good life
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), world wideSeptember 17, 2013
I would recommend it to any one but the Infantry life wasn't for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), Catterick Garrison, ENGSeptember 8, 2013
i worked here for a few months while i trained to go into the army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts
Accounts & Admin Clerk - Administrative/Clerical (Former Employee), AbbotabadSeptember 7, 2013
Nice experience
learned about clerical duties
eperience adventure under organized institution
Disciplined life
honesty, hard work, loyalty and motivation are key features of this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, fun environment
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee), GermanyAugust 23, 2013
Whilst in Germany I worked as a Domestic Assistant for 28 Engr Regt. This involved all domestic duties, I also had to be aware of Confidentiality and Health and Safety, as I was responsible for cleaning offices and buildings in an Army Environment.

At Church Army Pipers Club, which includes a Newsagent and a Cafe, my duties included opening the shop – more... in the mornings and lock up after closing time, I was responsible for preparing cold and hot food, operating the till, cashing up, ordering new goods, sorting delivery and maintaining cleanliness of the restaurant. All the food was prepared fresh on a daily basis, which could be challenging at times on a busy day, due to being a very organized and people orientated person, I always managed to keep the customer happy. I left this work, due to not being able to get more permanent hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job
soilder (Former Employee), germanyAugust 19, 2013
loved this job but my contract ended.served 5 years very exiting job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family commitments
Lance Corporal (Former Employee), WalesAugust 14, 2013
Had a successful career left for family reasons.

worked in and out of the country operations and exercises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting, unpredictable
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee), North yorkshireAugust 10, 2013
Pros: friends, pay, medical benefits
Cons: away from home for long periods of time
A typical day at work would include early morning starts followed by some form of physical fitness, then lessons each day being different improving skills and learning new ones. During my time in the armed forces I learned how to work as a team, problem solving, communications skills, detainee handling, first aid, infantry skills, leadership, punctuality – more... and discipline. whilst in the army I met some of the best people I have ever known and trusted in no matter what situation we got in they would have my back and I would have theirs, the hardest part of my job was whilst on a tour of duty serving in Afghanistan but this was also the most enjoyable part of my job as that's why I joined in the infantry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career choice
Marine Engineer Mechanic (Former Employee), Devon PortAugust 5, 2013
Pros: enjoyed naval life
I enjoyed seeing the world
excellent advancement
learned different skills
support from officers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good challeng
Chef (Former Employee), TidworthAugust 1, 2013
Pros: get to experiance more than most do in a lifetime.
Cons: army disapline is getting far too soft!
Had loads of good times serving in the army,
just a shame the way its all changing! "Why change something that wasn't broken"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every one should serve
Private (Former Employee), worldJuly 16, 2013
sorted me right out every one should join the forces even for the minimum great time travelling good banter and your work is your life amazing highly recomend
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 years well spent
Driver/Mechanic/Instructor (Former Employee), boviJuly 16, 2013
Good days and bad ones. its not as bad as its made out. Best days ever when young and footloose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Infanteer
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), Canterbury, ENGJune 15, 2013
Excellent job in all aspects. amazing life experiences. would do it all again.