Find companies:
armed forces
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

armed forces Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), LondonSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: life skills
Cons: can be physically draining at times
I joined the armed forces as an infantry soldier and would have to say that I learnt a lot of my life values from working here. It was an enjoyable role and allowed me to mature at a young age. I had to learn life skills, team work, management, and general infantry skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The armed forces are excellent
Soldier records clerk (Former Employee), Abu DhabiSeptember 21, 2013
The armed forces are considered excellent for the citizens of non-citizens they are excellent for experts I've heard the work of the armed forces during the 3 years and benefited greatly for me was the basis on which it was built functional skills I have learned a lot of them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good life
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), world wideSeptember 17, 2013
I would recommend it to any one but the Infantry life wasn't for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), Catterick Garrison, ENGSeptember 8, 2013
i worked here for a few months while i trained to go into the army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts
Accounts & Admin Clerk - Administrative/Clerical (Former Employee), AbbotabadSeptember 7, 2013
Nice experience
learned about clerical duties
eperience adventure under organized institution
Disciplined life
honesty, hard work, loyalty and motivation are key features of this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, fun environment
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee), GermanyAugust 23, 2013
Whilst in Germany I worked as a Domestic Assistant for 28 Engr Regt. This involved all domestic duties, I also had to be aware of Confidentiality and Health and Safety, as I was responsible for cleaning offices and buildings in an Army Environment.

At Church Army Pipers Club, which includes a Newsagent and a Cafe, my duties included opening the shop – more... in the mornings and lock up after closing time, I was responsible for preparing cold and hot food, operating the till, cashing up, ordering new goods, sorting delivery and maintaining cleanliness of the restaurant. All the food was prepared fresh on a daily basis, which could be challenging at times on a busy day, due to being a very organized and people orientated person, I always managed to keep the customer happy. I left this work, due to not being able to get more permanent hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job
soilder (Former Employee), germanyAugust 19, 2013
loved this job but my contract ended.served 5 years very exiting job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family commitments
Lance Corporal (Former Employee), WalesAugust 14, 2013
Had a successful career left for family reasons.

worked in and out of the country operations and exercises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting, unpredictable
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee), North yorkshireAugust 10, 2013
Pros: friends, pay, medical benefits
Cons: away from home for long periods of time
A typical day at work would include early morning starts followed by some form of physical fitness, then lessons each day being different improving skills and learning new ones. During my time in the armed forces I learned how to work as a team, problem solving, communications skills, detainee handling, first aid, infantry skills, leadership, punctuality – more... and discipline. whilst in the army I met some of the best people I have ever known and trusted in no matter what situation we got in they would have my back and I would have theirs, the hardest part of my job was whilst on a tour of duty serving in Afghanistan but this was also the most enjoyable part of my job as that's why I joined in the infantry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career choice
Marine Engineer Mechanic (Former Employee), Devon PortAugust 5, 2013
Pros: enjoyed naval life
I enjoyed seeing the world
excellent advancement
learned different skills
support from officers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good challeng
Chef (Former Employee), TidworthAugust 1, 2013
Pros: get to experiance more than most do in a lifetime.
Cons: army disapline is getting far too soft!
Had loads of good times serving in the army,
just a shame the way its all changing! "Why change something that wasn't broken"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every one should serve
Private (Former Employee), worldJuly 16, 2013
sorted me right out every one should join the forces even for the minimum great time travelling good banter and your work is your life amazing highly recomend
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 years well spent
Driver/Mechanic/Instructor (Former Employee), boviJuly 16, 2013
Good days and bad ones. its not as bad as its made out. Best days ever when young and footloose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Infanteer
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), Canterbury, ENGJune 15, 2013
Excellent job in all aspects. amazing life experiences. would do it all again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
army medic
Medic and Infantry Soldier (Former Employee), all over the worldJune 12, 2013
good mates and a great life would not change a thing.got to see a hold lot of the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good support network
Information Systems Support Manager (Former Employee), World wideJune 6, 2013
The Armed Forces supply an excellent support network, coupled with good job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fleet maintenance
fleet manager (Former Employee), Germany, Location around the UKJune 2, 2013
Controlling the use of vehicle's in a busy working environment. Ensuring vehicles are maintained. Driving a wide range of vehicles .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme environment
Assistant medical director of Health (Former Employee), DRMay 3, 2013
Do not know what you can expect on a regular day. I can take my own decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security, Logistic and IT
platoon leader (Former Employee), Security, Logistics, and ITApril 21, 2013
Pros: free in lunch
I learn lots security, Manage and IT skills in the Armed Forces, atypical day at work is like normal day where everyone is doing his or her work which you have been assigned for that day and you should your work in a professional and disciplined manner. The hardest part of the job is when you have been deployed to war zone like Afghanistan.The enjoyable – more... part is when you on leave meeting with your family member and have meal together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly responsible and work proficiency place
Telecom & Computer operator (Former Employee), inside KarnatakaApril 19, 2013
I have learnt how to manage a project assigned to me in a stipulated period and up to the satisfaction of my superiors both in peace and challenging areas, The hardest part of the job is at J & K by handling cipher and signal equipement with personal weapon while performing Ambushes and Road opening teams. With these ground work, i have given up my – more... body rest to learn Computer Hardware and networking as i was working in office and my officers were also very good and understandeble personalities – less