Find companies:
ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
232 reviews

ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company allowing experience in multiple fields.
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Lee, VANovember 22, 2014
I enjoyed working for AAFES and all the experience gained. I was able to serve in multiple roles. Each of them provided me with extensive knowledge I can utilize for the rest of my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and amazing work place
Labor (Former Employee), Fort Polk, LANovember 12, 2014
Pros: good people surrounding me
Cons: short lunch breaks
A Typical day at work would be slow, nice and easy a lot of amazing customers.

I learned a lot of things such as socking, rebuilding, fixing pumps, working the front register.

The management was amazing it was like we was all one big family, yes we had our disagreements but whats a family with out those.

My Co-Workers we're my engines, my backbone – more... they we're amazing and taught me another reason why its no I in team.

The hardest part I would say was learning how to Shock Vacuum and fix the pumps when I first started but after I learned it was a easy to teach.

Most enjoyable part of the job was being able to satisfying my customers smile and making them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close nit company and base surroundings
Burger King Restaurant General Manager (Current Employee), McConnell AFB, KSNovember 8, 2014
Pros: comraderie un delivery a company concept to the military personnel
Cons: short staffed.
I learned how to have more patience in the training of new personnel and customers.
Customer relations was a very crucial topic that had to be addressed daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented, taking care and pride in serving the Military Members of the Armed Forces and their Families
Store Manager/Branch (Current Employee), Barksdale AFB, LANovember 2, 2014
Pros: ability to work all over the world, where ever the military goes.
Cons: never had a negative work experience, so i can not tell about any cons.
This company is all about the Military Members and their families.
Any position held from cashier to management has always been a pleasure and fun. The diversity in every position is great. A typical day at work is to take care of the customers and meet their needs.
Hardest part in any positon within the company is not being able to help a customer – more... due to various factors, i.e shortage of merchandise and/or special orders, as well as to see long term returning customers moving on to a new duty station. the most enjoyable part in any position is the smile of a satisfied customer, coworkers and all the differnt people you meet and make friends where ever you go.
The greatest learning experience, is to work within a diverse work force of different cultures and countries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job is a job, but unless you know someone or have worked there for several years not much chance for advancement
Warehouse worker (Former Employee), military installations world wideOctober 31, 2014
Pros: 6 hour work day
Cons: low pay
typical day is fairly easy stocking shelves sorting merchandise in the warehouse and helping customers. I became really adept at running the supply location system. management was ok nothing spectacular, and it was great people to work with and for. hardest part of the job was sorting orders for customers, and the most enjoyable part was getting along – more... with everyone – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and customer oriented.
CASHIER & SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCOctober 27, 2014
A typical day includes maintaining a clean store, taking care of customers, and working together. I learned new skills besides the regular job descriptions such as transferring money as a Western Union agent. Co-workers worked together as a team to make what seem to be impossible possible. The hardest part of the job was keeping short lines in such – more... a fast pace workplace. Most enjoyable was the opportunity to experience all shifts available in a 24 hour store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmophere
Store Clerk/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCOctober 22, 2014
I loved this job relocated to Augusta Ga. I loved working with others and learning the ins and outs of the position..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with excellent benefits and retirement
Manager, Planning, Allocation, and Replenishment (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 18, 2014
Pros: rewarding work and great people
Cons: some cutbacks on travel can make field interaction difficult.
The Exchange allows most people to work independently with little supervision. Most days people go to their desks and begin working and only interact when necessary to get the job done. There are people from all over the world working at the Exchange which enhances the culture and makes for a rich working experience. The hardest part of the job is getting – more... IT changes implemented in a timely manor even when they make sense. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work with a great group of people in the mission to serve the military customers world wide. The benefits are excellent which include liberal vacation and sick leave and comprehensive medical and dental at very good rates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace interacting with customers
Taco Bell-Food Service Worker (Current Employee), Andrews AFB, MDOctober 17, 2014
Pros: short brakes and 50% off on lunch
Cons: no benefits
Working at Taco Bell is fun, I love interacting with the customers. I love satisfying my customers with good customer service. My co-workers are fun to work and great working as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated working here
Crew Member (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 9, 2014
Management is poor, it's all about who's friends with who in order to advance. They think they are military, when most of the employees are spouses / civilians, so if you have any complaints about your management - you can't go to HR like any other job. Human Resources will straight up tell you to go up your chain of command with complaints / issues, – more... but if it's with your management you can see how that won't resolve anything. I would not recommend working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Overnight Stocker/Flowteam (Former Employee), Hewitt, TXOctober 7, 2014
Pros: laid back employees
Cons: short breaks
I enjoyed working with this company! I enjoyed working in this warehouse!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall gained a lot of knowledge
Visual Merchandising and Sr. Store Associate (Former Employee), Schofield Barracks, HIOctober 1, 2014
It was a great experience working with customers with a suggestive selling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an honor and a pleasure to have retired from such a great organization.
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 30, 2014
The Army Airforce Exchange Service (AAFES) was mandated by Congress in 1895. That there would be a Exchange or trading post for the troops, anywhere they may go. The AAFES employees take that statement seriously, and are always willing got the extra mile. In a retail environment on a military base, serving the people that protect our country is an honor.

A – more... typical day is very busy, meeting deadlines, working with customers to meet their needs. You must be a people person to work in retail and management. It's a very rewarding, but demanding career. The hardest and most enjoyable part of the job is change. Sometimes changes are meet with resistance which can be challenging; change can also bring new and better ideas and procedures which can be rewarding. Not matter what, change is constant.

The most enjoyable part of the job are the relationships made with co-workers and customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graet place to work, and great benefits.
Food Activity Foreman (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: high turnover rate
Great place to work, provided great opportunities for advancement. provided great pay and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a Company that's main goal is to support the military community which allowed us to become part of the community. Great experience.
Area Brand Manager ( West Coast) (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CaSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: great benefits; great people
Cons: frequent out of state travel
Definitely a family atmosphere which makes it a very enjoyable place to work. This company provides numerous opportunities for training in all aspects of retail from clothing to groceries, promotes from within and has a great benefits package. The hardest part of my job was convincing the management to follow corporate policy when they wanted to do – more... there own thing. The most enjoyable part of my job was training my Visual Merchandisers and watching them improve as they learned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics
Logistics Accountant (Former Employee), Abilene, TexasSeptember 21, 2014
Very calm and rewarding position. Set schedules. You must have a knack for attention to detail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oh Dear Lord
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yigo, GUSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: people, management, structured training
Cons: benefits
I absolutely loved this place! I cannot give enough kudos tot he teams that worked at Andersen Base in Guam, they were Awesome!
The management provided much support to their teams and were insistent that we enjoy our time there. Do not get me wrong, they were no pushovers, if you did not do your job, they would make sure that steps were taken. Overall, – more... an awesome place to work and I miss my on base family here, they were amazing!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AAFES
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Fort Polk, LASeptember 2, 2014
AAFES has many great things from locations to the overall work experience if you don't have
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Retail Organization
Accounting Tech Lead (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 30, 2014
AAFES was a great organization to work for. Their cause tells it all ! they donate 50% of profits back into all military branches of services through the MWR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 26, 2014
A typical day would be cleaning, taking orders.
Management at Macdill AFB Burger King is horrible! The managers need to learn how to speak to their associates, not at them.
My co-workers were great people!
The hardest part of the job is dealing with the angry managers!
Most enjoyable part of the job was making the customers happy!

1 2 3 4 5

About ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE

Be all that you can be and buy all that you can buy at the PX (Post Exchange). The Army and Air Force Exchange Service (AAFES) – Read more

ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE Photos