Find companies:
ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
203 reviews

ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific learning environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Italy, TXJuly 9, 2014
Great opportunity for employment. While employed with AAFES, I worked in two very rewarding work areas. I learned more than I could have hoped for. Met many interesting personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a fun environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: scheduling
Fast pace call center always friendly staff and help avail when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and interact with your active duty military customers. Some of the greatest customers in the world.
Warehouse/Stocker (Current Employee), RAF Mildenhall, EnglandJune 30, 2014
A typical day at work is to show up at 5 a.m. and unload merchandise from the trucks. Stock the shelves of my respective department prior to 9 a.m. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to interact with customers and help them with their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt
Stocker (Former Employee), McChord FieldJune 29, 2014
Pros: close to my house
Cons: every thing about this job is corrupt
This company is terrible. the managers allow foremen to treat associates with so much dis respect, the managers cover up the corruptness that goes on, and when you a file a compliant AAFES investigates themselves and the managers only question employees that go along with the corruption. I would not advise anyone to work at the McChord field BX until – more... someone comes in and cleans house,which is not going to happen, they say they are all the military when in fact they are all about the money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Operator was enjoyed and comfortable.
Computer Operator (Former Employee), Fort Carson, COJune 25, 2014
Major duties and responsibilities were diagnose/troubleshoot all hardware technical support for store operations as cash register.

A degree of creativity, independent judgment & experience to plain/accomplish goals, performs a variety of tasks.

Most of time very comfortable and easy going during a day.

I enjoyed the customer services to help them – more... and see their smiles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your typical fast food restaurant
Food Service Foreman (Former Employee), Fort Sam Houston, TXJune 24, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: erratic scheduling, no time off, faulty equipment, low employee moral, corrupt management
A typical day started at 5 am with one other employee until about 8:30 am. We prepped the food for the day to come while also serving breakfast to customers. The location was plagued with equipment malfunctions and was understaffed and had terrible upper management, despite that we tried to make the best of a bad situation and fix things on our own. – more... Once I was promoted to foreman I started to address a lot of the issues and it wasn't met well with upper management. There were stretches of time where I had to work 2 - 3 weeks straight with no days off because of employees or supervisors quitting. The employee moral was terribly low because of not being appreciated by customers or ever being recognized by upper management or the organization. The hardest part was dealing with the favoritism that took place among the HR department in their hiring practices. We never got a single holiday off except Christmas and were forced to stay open even though all the soldiers on base had went home for exodus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A failing company.
Laborer/Driver (Current Employee), Fort Bliss, TXJune 21, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: no one including management cares, company is hemorrhaging money which has manifested in lay offs, hour cuts and hiring freezes.
Major business decisions as well as micro-management is all conducted from headquarters with little to no contact with stores affected. There is a wide gap between management and exchange installations, leaving a nonsensical method of conducting day to day operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employee has the opportunity to shop on military base and doesn't have to pay tax on merchandise, Fair day or department pacnia sometime bonus
Reconciliation Tech (Current Employee), Dallas TxJune 18, 2014
Pros: govenment holidays
Cons: advancement opportunity
A typical day at work can be anything to surprise you. Day to day productive work envorinment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Movement Control Team Manager (Former Employee), Fort RileyJune 11, 2014
It's a job... Not a career move. Typically a transit community because of the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Safety and Security (Current Employee), West Point, NYJune 9, 2014
Great environment. Helping the military is very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier (Current Employee), Biloxi, MSJune 3, 2014
An enjoyable job to assist U.S. Servicemembers. Ensuring they receive the best customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place
WAREHOUSE WORKER - SKILLED (Former Employee), Forest Park, GAMay 26, 2014
a typical day at work -picking,packing,shipping,receiving,loading,unloading trucks,stocking shelves and use scanner and inventory shipping world wide
what you learned - how to pick,pack,stock shelves and inventory
management - was good they work with the people
your co- workers- every body got alone
the hardest part of the job - it wasnt hard for 26 – more... years everything was easy.
the most enjoyable part of the job- working with other people as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Barista (Former Employee), Fort Leonard Wood, MOMay 22, 2014
I loved serving my customers their caffeine with a smile. Everyday came with new and interesting challenges!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Support
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Meade, MDMay 21, 2014
Pros: inexpensive products
Cons: low pay
A typical day involved interacting with military members of all ranks and branches. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting atmosphere with different backgrounds and religion
Lead Cashier, Store Associate (Former Employee), Eglin AFB, FLMay 16, 2014
Pros: meeting different people from around the world in the military
Cons: making sure all sales and products match their needs
• Answering telephones and preformed general reception duties
• Providing customer service to civilians and military
• Handled all money transactions such as, credit or debit cards
• Practicing loss prevention, theft, and safety hazard procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace and helpful coworkers, with an important task.
Receiver (Former Employee), Carlisle, PAMay 11, 2014
Pros: very busy and productive workplace
Cons: cold warehouse setting
A typical day was electronically keeping a log of the incoming merchandise, being received from outside vendors, to the Carlisle Main Store PX. While at this position, I learned to do quick mathematical equations, while on the run, and multitasking among many different tasks. My management and coworkers were very experienced and willing to lend assistance – more... whenever needed. All coworkers were very informative and educated about their positions. The hardest part of the job was also the most enjoyable. As a receiver, one is to be able to multitask and think individually, while also staying attentive to the supervisory staff and changing one's agenda on the go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job.
Power Zone Supervisor (Former Employee), Aberdeen Proving Ground, MDMay 8, 2014
Pros: advancement, benefits, and training.
Cons: pay
AAFES is a good place to work for the most part. The benefits were good and the pay was abouve the average pay in a fast food facility. There were times that were stressful, but overall this is a pretty good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative (Former Employee), FayettvilleApril 29, 2014
Pros: great work hours
Great coworkers, everyone worked together to get job done..work days began early and off early
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee
at (Former Employee), Fort Leonard WoodApril 28, 2014
Don't walk - Run AWAY from this employer. Warning: DO Not work for this company. my supervisor was a bully and the corporate culture bullies are protected. I complained many times to my chain of commamd with no help. Worked overtime without pay. AAFES treats military badly. I would have given zero stars. No opportunity to move up. Only management pets – more... are allowed to advance. I have never been treated this bad at any job - Ever!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My days with AAFES
Store Associate (Former Employee), Mannheim, GermanyApril 26, 2014
Pros: work environment with the military.
Cons: out of pocket expenses, for temporary employees.
Let's begin with the hardest part of the job...
There were times where I had to deal with certain moods, from some supervisors. On one occasion, I left the store, with a very bad taste in the mouth, because of a racial slur, shouted out, while functioning in my daily duties. Some customers always tried to circumvent the system, and that upset my supervisors, – more... a lot. But, that gave me room to grow, get to know my customers, and serve them better. The pay, could be more, coming from a multi-billionaire corporation, that has set their roots, in working together, with the Department of Defense.

I learned to cope with various situations, and to remain always flexible, due to working with German Employees.

My co-workers? They were always the best friends I could have, at work. They provided me with advice, and sometimes, they were there, when someone else would just walk out, when I had issues. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE

Be all that you can be and buy all that you can buy at the PX (Post Exchange). The Army and Air Force Exchange Service (AAFES) – Read more

ARMY & AIRFORCE EXCHANGE SERVICE Photos