Find companies:
Army Corps of Engineers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
166 reviews

Army Corps of Engineers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Park Ranger
Park Ranger (Current Employee), Bloomington, INAugust 25, 2014
Learned so much, many opportunities around US, fun & exciting job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced
Prime Power Production Specialist (Current Employee), Schofield Barracks, HIAugust 24, 2014
While working with the Army Corps of Engineers I've learned that the work environment is very fast-paced and demanding. You have to learn new skills on a daily basis and apply those skills in order to succeed. There are a lot of employees that do just enough to get by, but the employees that do a good job and put effort into their work usually advance – more... faster than those that do not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Automation Clerk (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 24, 2014
Pros: holiday parties and government job
A typical day at work was scheduling meetings and setting up teleconferences for the general. Putting different news letter in the teams mail box and arranging travels for the general. I learned a lot about being an office administrative assistant. There was really no hard part of the job.The most enjoyable part of the job is being around a good team – more... of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrator (Former Employee), Portland, OregonAugust 22, 2014
Rally enjoyed my time there. Management was always supportive and looking to enrich your career through additional training and added responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoting resource conservation within a major national (and global) institution
CERL Research Assistant (Former Employee), Champaign, ILAugust 18, 2014
Working for the Army Corps of Engineers, I was always aware of the importance of my department's work in promoting environmental conservation and moving towards sustainable environmental practices. The U.S. Army maintains hundreds of installations around the nation (and many more worldwide), and I found it truly inspiring and even enjoyable that the – more... work I put into creating informational materials, presentations, and maps would be used to encourage resource conservation on such a large scale and within such a large and important institution. My coworkers, all fellow planning students or ex-planning students, exhibited the utmost professionalism and attention to detail about their work and were always willing to lend advice or knowledge to coworkers in need of it. Aside from the increased security protocols inherent in an employment position affiliated with the U.S. Army, I learned much about developing efforts to make the U.S. Army more environmentally conscious, and the many potential ramifications or impacts of these efforts not only on the environment, but on army unit training for contingency situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace serving the country and world
Engineering Technician, GS-12 (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 4, 2014
A great place to work. The work that is accomplished here involves civil as well as vertical construction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Realty Clerk (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NV Nellis AFBJuly 30, 2014
Very easy going and laid back place to work. I work eight hours a day. My co-workers don't talk much. Most of them are way older than me. I like that I can do my work and be left alone. I work for construction division in the corps so it's really not my field of work but I have learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations of Large Hydroelectric Facility
Hydroelectric Power Operations Manager (Former Employee), Portland, ORJuly 23, 2014
Highly complex daily jobs and advancement in supervisory skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Construction Management Assistant (Current Employee), Fort Campbell KYJuly 21, 2014
Company and management was great. The owner passed away and the contract was ending. I also needed a place to work that had more benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relax work environment, employees first
Biological Science Technician (Current Employee), Crofton, NEJuly 20, 2014
Pros: outside every day, great working with one boss
Cons: job title required me to be away from the project, i did not get to know hardly anyone that works their
I spent most my days away from the project in two different field about 40 mins away. Great being outside all the time. Mostly my job was to kill a-lot of invasive species and erect tree shelters for land restoration projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Regulatory Programs Data Analyst (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free
Cons: no free lunches
So far so good and it is stable. Not so micromanaging. Busy environment. Co workers are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Local Government Emergency Management Liaison (Current Employee), Clarks Hill, SCJune 24, 2014
J. Strom Thurmond Dam and Lake located on the Savannah River in Clarks Hill, SC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Enviroment
Construction Control Representative (Former Employee), New OrleansJune 11, 2014
Verify contractor complies with contract requirements and specifications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship With A Great Opportunity To Learn
Finance and Accounting Intern (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJune 7, 2014
As an intern, I was given the projects that nobody else wanted to do. This opportunity served as a major step in my accounting pursuit. I was able to receive hands on training from a great group of workers, led by extraordinary team leads. My coworkers were both other interns and full time staff. The hardest part of the job was learning the government – more... database and the most enjoyable part was our annual picnic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Volunteer research student (Former Employee), Hanover, NHMay 30, 2014
Pros: excelent experience to learn and find new oportunities
Work there two summers as a volunteer research student and all people there are able to help in any field the can. A place perfect to learn and meet people from different cultures. No pressure on your job as long as you keep working even you dont get results. The hardest part is when i leave and the must enjoyable is all the new experiences you learn. – more... Can talk about payment but there are lot of programs to apply and work there or at school recieving a compensation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job, but it was temporary
Student Aide, Project Management (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 28, 2014
Pros: nice work environment
Cons: temporary position with no benefits
I wanted to continue my work at the Army Corps, but I ended up getting hurt and have had 2 surgeries. I cannot return to a normal office setting as I need the flexibility to move around and get up on an as needed basis. I am on Social Security Disability and I would like to supplement my income with my skills and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for USACE
Geotechnical Engineer (Current Employee), Concord, MAMay 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: slow moving, contract a lot of design work out
Great company to work for with amazing benefits. Vacation time is great and upper management is very understanding when you need to take time off.

A typical day is doing various projects. From working on floodwalls to reviewing dams and levees. A lot of my work is assessing the status of federally owned dams and levees for their risk of failure. My – more... work changes from week to week which is always great. Something new from drilling to analyizing data.

The hardest part of the job is that a lot of work is contracted out and actual design work has started to become limited and sometimes moves very slow.

Management can sometimes be difficult just because there are so many chains of command you need to go through before anything gets approved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hooha
transportation (Former Employee), Fort Leonard Wood, MOMay 20, 2014
Pros: great skills builder
Cons: its the army.
great work place. life building skills.

driving A.I.T students to their appontments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once in a lifetime experience
Engineer Platoon Leader (Current Employee), Joint Base Lewis McChord, WAMay 17, 2014
Working for the Corps of Engineers, especially in Afghanistan, is unlike anything you will ever do. You will be challenged, pushed to your limits, and end up discovering your potential along the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with some great individuals that provides training to Corps Employees.
Office Automation Clerk (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALMay 8, 2014
Pros: cafe within walking distance of workplace, 40 hours per week, good place to work most of the time, gain experience as a student
Cons: no benefits, no heathcare, no room for advancement, management always talks down to most everyone and won't help progress with career path
My review only speaks for the USACE Learning Center.

I assist senior specialist in assessing, managing and preparing training equipment for shipment to support program cost, schedule and performance to locations worldwide. I receive material requirements to initiate, process review and analyze the need for actions to the related training schedule. – more... I plan, organize and manage warehouse inventory and training equipment, issue and receive supplies for training, manage real property and prepare items for shipment to include various items of supply, technical and training manuals, sensitive electronic equipment and materiel. I perform research and recommend strategies related to providing support to training requirements and delivery schedules. Identify near-term and long-term supply and transportation requirements to support training objectives. Participate with technical personnel in developing and implementing integrated logistics plans and assessments to support operational policies. Organization is a key factor to maintaining a well-functioning warehouse so I pay a great amount of attention to inventory management. Interface with vendors and suppliers to manage and maintain inventory. Utilize automated information systems to manage warehouse inventory and property accountability systems, order training materials and supplies, and schedule shipments with commercial carriers. I receive inbound shipments, sort and account for items prior to returning them to their proper locations within the warehouse once training classes have been completed and shipment is returned to the ULC. I also assist Course Managers and Training Technicians in setting up training course secessions as needed.

What I learned: When I become a manager I will treat people with respect "The way I would want to be treated."

Management: Refer to CONS

Hardest part of the job: Having to respect management

Most enjoyable part of the job: Setting up classrooms for training with some really funny technicians who will make you laugh and make your day. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Army Corps of Engineers

Much of the nation's infrastructure was built on the proverbial back of the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE). In the 19th and – Read more

Army Corps of Engineers Photos