Find companies:
Army Medical Command
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Army Medical Command Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, political atmosphere, changing priorities
Director, Task Force (Former Employee), Ft. Lewis, WADecember 26, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: term position
This was an extremely challenging position at which I believe I succeeded. My last performance rating was exceptional. I was challenged because everything was new. I was responsible for coordinating my employee's talent to create new learning on a day to day basis. The task I was given was to develop a training program and train trainers to give the – more... training. By the time my term position had ended, we had completed approximately 15% within a 12 month period. The training was very well received. An enjoyable part of the job was traveling throughout the world. The hardest part was being on the road 90% of the time and daily changing mission requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
Medic / EMT (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 13, 2013
Typical day began with early morning workouts followed by a 12 hour day, depending at the task at hand. As medical specialists for an infantry company we were required to maintain medical vehicles, inventory & manage mass amounts of supplies/equipment, screen patients for morning sick call, and keep our certifications current. We were required to keep – more... the non-medical soldiers' skill levels current as well. Be it stateside boredom or overseas combat operations, we were responsible for the well-being of an entire platoon. I personally enjoyed working with the infantry soldiers and teaching them first aid skills. Through teaching, training, and going out on missions with those guys, I gained irreplaceable knowledge, hands-on experience, and personal pride. Those combined made it a very enjoyable, though difficult job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent command to work with and for, leader in medical care and treatment innovation
Contact Representative/Transfer Coordinator (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 31, 2013
Being a part of this command has been an awesome journey. Seeing first hand the exceptional work, compassion and dedication the military and civilian workforce has towards warriors and their families is unmatched. 100% team effort is given from the simplest to the greatest of tasks. Managers are encouraging. They push for self-improvement and development. – more... The most challenging part of my job is seeing wounded service members arrive here at the brink of death and the most rewarding part of my job is seeing some of those same service men and women recover and walk or roll out of the hospital moving on to their next course in life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and rewarding patient population
Staff Neuropsychologist (Former Employee), Fort Wainwright, AKJuly 4, 2013
Pros: enjoyable work environment overall.
Cons: poor management which allows for bullying and hostility.
I loved working as a staff Neuropsychologist at the TBI Clinic. The patient population was challenging but rewarding, AD clinic members were friendly, helpful, and a pleasure to work with, and the majority of the civilian staff was kind and routinely went above and beyond to serve patients. The civilian management in the TBI clinic and the administrative – more... department were hostile and often treated certain staff members unfairly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career
Preventive Medicine Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJune 25, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: deployments
Worked with great people and enjoyed my job. Long hours and long deployments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Admin
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Matteson, ILApril 20, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
In charge of keeping soldiers ready for deployment. Maintain their medical (MEDPROS) and financial records. Maintain and inspect GOV Vehicals, submit travel in DTS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed development of leadership and management skills
Corporate Training and Development Specialist (Current Employee), KYApril 12, 2013
Managed and conducted training for recruiters covering over 100 Areas of concentration in the medical field. Daily interaction with higher management to establish new and up to date policies and standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PROCEED WITH CAUTION
Washington (Former Employee), JBLMDecember 16, 2012
Pros: non
Cons: army lacks efficiency, poor assignments, lack of growth
Before you go into the reserves as a PA check the unit in which you will be assigned. The administration, who are often active duty and civilian personnel lack efficiency and you will spend alot of your civilian time trying to REPEATLY correct their mistakes. Everyone has a different interpretion of the Army Regulations and procedures. There is a reason – more... they are constantly posting ads. Most active duty PA leave the service because of better job opportunities, compensation and are able to spend more time with their families. Although you are offer a 60,000 incentive, when broken down in man hours you fall way too short. Most PA civilian careers will enhance and increase knowledge whereas being in the reserves you take a huge risk again of falling short. PA are valued less than MD and can be activated to do NON-CRITICAL/WAR assignments for a year, away from you civilian job and family and MD only have to complete 3 months. Proceed with caution the commercials can be deceiving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for soldiers learn about how Medical command works
Medical Operations, International Health (Former Employee), Fort Sam Houston, TXDecember 12, 2012
Fast paced work environment with a littany of competent leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding!
Dental Lab Tech (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GaNovember 18, 2011
Pros: benefits are great!
Cons: some assignments are not so pleasant.
This is the most diverse and loyal organization you could work for! Not only are you working civilians and military side by side, but the depth of knowledge and experience in it's employees is awesome. You meet people from different backgrounds and places, and we are all working together for a common goal. Being part of a team that takes care of the – more... worlds finest soldiers is the most rewarding job I have had. – less