Art Center College of Design Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and study
Projectionist (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CANovember 21, 2016
I grew as an artist and became more aware of the noise that surrounds me. Deep critical thinking has open my mind to understand how a designer or artist can impact lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 15, 2016
A typical day at the first jobs or it can be many jobs a person had or have is all about working hard and staying focus , & being true to your self. God is good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment!
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 29, 2016
Not stressful, was able to balance work with my classes. They we're understanding if my situation changed. The best part was working with the awesome coworkers, they made long days fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Director of Environmental Health & Safety (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 25, 2015
Very stressful.
There is no teamwork and people will say anything to save themselves.

I have never worked in a place where a suggestion can cost you your job or blacklist you.

It is a school but the students are left in the dark.
Pros
helping students
Cons
evrything
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Gallery Preparator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 18, 2015
Great job and great people. Work is usually by six week deadline to install an exhibit. My co-workers are great and I have known them for years. Every job is different which is exciting, yet we all have been there long enough to know how to attack challenges when they inevitably arise. The most exciting times for me are when there are technically challenging problems to solve. I would work here indefinitely if there were more upward mobility.
Pros
Great co-workers and management. Pleasant and exciting work atmosphere.
Cons
Limited upward mobility.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A School with a Great Reputation but Terrible Job Culture
Anonymous Employee (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: Good reputation and great students.

Cons: Poor job culture, political work environment, power effectively rests with department chairs, an assumption of incompetence of all new hires, limited opportunities for advancement and poor human resources. Experiencing some growing pains. Might be a better work environment in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back stabbing, you have come to best place.
Former faculty (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CADecember 20, 2012
Helps to be an alumni, great students ( past) and teachers.
But total lack of job security, very small minded, total power given to the chairs.
Quality of everything has gone down hill due to letting almost anyone in.
Use to be a great school now very over rated.
Pros
location, history, name recognition, past reputation.
Cons
no loyalty, job security, or long term vision, over priced to students, easy to get into.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A culture of distrust and low morale; dysfunctional work environment
Director (Former Employee) –  PasadenaMarch 27, 2013
Not a rewarding place to work unfortunately, mostly due to the lack of solid management at the top levels. The college hires a lot of alumni either to teach or work in administration, which doesn't allow for the diversity of fresh perspectives needed to make a place functional and thriving.
Was this review helpful?Yes22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding experience with students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMarch 23, 2015
This opportunity taught me how to be a better creative thinker, as well as strengthen my critical eye. I learned how to give good teaching advice and help many students, as well as learn from a teacher I consider to be my mentor.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful job
Character animation model (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 26, 2015
I am still there as a part time and I enjoy every moment.

I work as a character animation model and it;s a great school to work for. The teachers and staff are very kind and hard workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
director (Former Employee) –  pasadenaSeptember 21, 2012
stifling bureaucracy, significant turnover, poor communication paths, clueless management, predatory environment.

The students and teachers are very talented.

Admissions VP and dept to be avoided at all costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work with students
Pasadena, Ca. Instructor (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 19, 2012
A great experience for 20+ years as a part time instructor for senior level design students.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
part time only
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality staff/faculty great place to work!
Gallery Preparator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 28, 2012
Great staff/faculty. Room for growth, decent compensation. Great working environment.
Pros
great all around!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

Art Center College of Design Reviews by Location