Art Center College of Design Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as a student
ORIENTATION LEADER (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 24, 2017
Assisting incoming freshmen, transfer students, and their families in their transition to ArtCenter. Leading workshops, presentations, and discussions to provide students and their families with information and perspectives on campus life. Serving as a role model for incoming students and peers.
It was a nice part-time job to help upcoming students with their transition to ArtCenter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality education
Teachers Assistant/ Student (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 23, 2017
I go to school here and have worked as a TA. Art Center provides and excellent education with a diversity of faculty, classes, and programs, providing a rich education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great creative energy, fantastic locations,
Repair Coordinator for College (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 18, 2017
Worked daily with students faculty and staff which i enjoyed greatly. Management is not very hands on. Culture is laid back and can be very intense depending on the schedule of the semester. The hardest part of work is the time delay due to budgets and being a non profit school.I loved working with students staff and faculty.
Pros
Free work lunches from time to time
Cons
not enough promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and study
Projectionist (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CANovember 21, 2016
I grew as an artist and became more aware of the noise that surrounds me. Deep critical thinking has open my mind to understand how a designer or artist can impact lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 15, 2016
A typical day at the first jobs or it can be many jobs a person had or have is all about working hard and staying focus , & being true to your self. God is good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment for a student
Prop Room Staff (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 5, 2016
A typical day of work was mainly heavy lifting and dealing with teachers and student to help them properly set up displays they could use for demosntrations and exercises.

I learned to be efficient on my feet as well as careful with others and their physical limits.

Management was always fair as they were generally part of the student body as well.

My coworkers were also my classmates, so they were easy to get along with from the start.

The hardest part of the job was during finals where displays would be at their most complex, as well as classwork outside the job as we were all students.

The most enjoyable part was working with people who were my peers.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Last Minute requests were common when stock from the prop room was already taken.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment!
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 29, 2016
Not stressful, was able to balance work with my classes. They we're understanding if my situation changed. The best part was working with the awesome coworkers, they made long days fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Director of Environmental Health & Safety (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 25, 2015
Very stressful.
There is no teamwork and people will say anything to save themselves.

I have never worked in a place where a suggestion can cost you your job or blacklist you.

It is a school but the students are left in the dark.
Pros
helping students
Cons
evrything
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding experience with students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMarch 23, 2015
This opportunity taught me how to be a better creative thinker, as well as strengthen my critical eye. I learned how to give good teaching advice and help many students, as well as learn from a teacher I consider to be my mentor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Gallery Preparator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 18, 2015
Great job and great people. Work is usually by six week deadline to install an exhibit. My co-workers are great and I have known them for years. Every job is different which is exciting, yet we all have been there long enough to know how to attack challenges when they inevitably arise. The most exciting times for me are when there are technically challenging problems to solve. I would work here indefinitely if there were more upward mobility.
Pros
Great co-workers and management. Pleasant and exciting work atmosphere.
Cons
Limited upward mobility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful job
Character animation model (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 26, 2015
I am still there as a part time and I enjoy every moment.

I work as a character animation model and it;s a great school to work for. The teachers and staff are very kind and hard workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A School with a Great Reputation but Terrible Job Culture
Anonymous Employee (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: Good reputation and great students.

Cons: Poor job culture, political work environment, power effectively rests with department chairs, an assumption of incompetence of all new hires, limited opportunities for advancement and poor human resources. Experiencing some growing pains. Might be a better work environment in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A culture of distrust and low morale; dysfunctional work environment
Director (Former Employee) –  PasadenaMarch 27, 2013
Not a rewarding place to work unfortunately, mostly due to the lack of solid management at the top levels. The college hires a lot of alumni either to teach or work in administration, which doesn't allow for the diversity of fresh perspectives needed to make a place functional and thriving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back stabbing, you have come to best place.
Former faculty (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CADecember 20, 2012
Helps to be an alumni, great students ( past) and teachers.
But total lack of job security, very small minded, total power given to the chairs.
Quality of everything has gone down hill due to letting almost anyone in.
Use to be a great school now very over rated.
Pros
location, history, name recognition, past reputation.
Cons
no loyalty, job security, or long term vision, over priced to students, easy to get into.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
director (Former Employee) –  pasadenaSeptember 21, 2012
stifling bureaucracy, significant turnover, poor communication paths, clueless management, predatory environment.

The students and teachers are very talented.

Admissions VP and dept to be avoided at all costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work with students
Pasadena, Ca. Instructor (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 19, 2012
A great experience for 20+ years as a part time instructor for senior level design students.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
part time only
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality staff/faculty great place to work!
Gallery Preparator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 28, 2012
Great staff/faculty. Room for growth, decent compensation. Great working environment.
Pros
great all around!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Art Center College of Design. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Art Center College of Design Reviews by Location