Art Van Furniture Employee Reviews

Found 225 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company and opportunity
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Portage, MIAugust 18, 2017
No bad thing s to say about the company. It is retail but if you can handle that the sky is the limit. If you can sell then management is a step back and hard to move up fast.
Pros
pay
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management lacks in accountability and direction
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILAugust 15, 2017
There is little accountability or supervision. The good people loose interest in caring or trying. Female manager spends all her time on social media or chatting.
Pros
None
Cons
Employees do what they want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but alright
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MI 49201August 6, 2017
Dealing with guest all day can be stressful especially when the guest just scream at you for no reason; however, management will try and help out to the best of their ability. Needed a job and apply to Art Van; however, now going back to school and it would be better if I quit.
Pros
Co-Worker, Management
Cons
Paid, Stressful, Slow-paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIAugust 3, 2017
Great great great great great great great great what more can I say the company is relly really really really really really Awesome, I enjoyed alll of the days I works there
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hiring process
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Traverse City, MIJuly 31, 2017
Took three months before I started training. I left because of the cut-throat environment. Common to see stolen sales and management would do nothing to prevent it. Top sales people are criticized while the ones on the bottom can do no wrong. Management was fairly weak as they never promote the best sales people because they make more on the floor than being in the office. There is lots of gossip where I worked and it's nearly impossible to not get involved at some point, even if it's unintentional. 4/10
Pros
Holiday meals
Cons
100% commission, Gossip, Sales stolen regularly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, but overwhelming
Helper II (Former Employee) –  Grand Ledge, MIJuly 26, 2017
Come in the morning, load your truck and hit the road. Sometimes the driving distance would be a little overwhelming and we would deal with angry customers. Overall not a bad job, but work load was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse fitted with Break area.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILJuly 24, 2017
Although things there were always at a good pace, I never really felt rushed or too stressed out about anything. Good environment. we got a 15 minute break and a 30 minute break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Furniture Assembly (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIJuly 22, 2017
Assembling furniture chairs, tables, fire places and barbeques. Loading and unloading trucks. General warehouse clean up and maintenance. Assisting in deliveries and customer pickup.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys Club
Home Furnishings Consultant (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIJuly 21, 2017
Poor work life balance. "Boys club". When an employee does something that would otherwise be cause for termination, they just shuffle them to another store to commit their offense at another location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Art Van Furniture
July 24, 2017

Art Van Furniture has a rich history and values each and every team member. I would encourage you to report any inappropriate behavior by calling 844-773-7239. We appreciate your response.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIJuly 14, 2017
Loved it worked there for 35 years had great experience
Would recommend to everyone
Fair wages and benefits great environment
Great people
Only left because I moved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail-Commision
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIJuly 11, 2017
I learned a lot working for this company. They had a great training program at the time. I still recommend this type of work to folks, although the hours are not family friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porductive and motivating work place
Puresleep specialist (Current Employee) –  Holland, OHJuly 10, 2017
working for art van i get to meet new people and help people each and every day our management team is very motivating and goal driven my coworkers are all very easy to get along with and work with as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 30, 2017
Art Van has wonderful furniture to sell. They always run sales and are up to date with the real world. They give you all the tools you needs to be successful in selling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pure Sleep
Store Manager/Sales Manager/Pure Sleep Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIJune 27, 2017
Customer service
educating customer on the health and wellness of our sleep process and environment
stock and maintain floor
maintain profit and loss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Flooring Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Royal Oak, MIJune 19, 2017
Its a great place to work, comossion just sucks. The hours are the normal retail hours. which can suck very badly, you literally work every holiday no black out days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers
Freelance Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIJune 15, 2017
The work itself is pretty cheesy. Way too many sales. But the team is nice and supportive. I wouldn't want to be full time, but having a freelance gig there wasn't bad.
Pros
free food, furniture discount if full time
Cons
too micromanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neat, hightech headquarters
Intern/Training (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIJune 14, 2017
Nice place for an internship. People are pleasant. They are flexible with schedule. Plan to lift boxes and sit at desk. There may be a lot of walking too.
Pros
Local
Cons
I don't have any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so face paced
Furniture Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 13, 2017
its ok to work there benefits are great but if no one is coming in your not making any money. Commission based so if you come in and no one comes to buy you just wasted your day
Pros
amazing benefits, good pay
Cons
commission based, too many managers, can get unproffecional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Art Van Furniture (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIJune 11, 2017
I learned what qualities I do and do not like in a job as well as in an employer. It is a good job for someone just passing through, but not my career choice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Assistant Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MIJune 7, 2017
Its an OK place to work. More of a stepping stone than anything. great place to network and meet new people, you definitely get a new experience every time some walk through the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Art Van Furniture. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 226 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2