Arthur J. Gallagher & Co Employee Reviews

Found 280 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJune 23, 2017
the workload is completely unmanageable due to being forced to use their ridiculous off-shore callcenter flunkies.

there is so much favoritism, they turn a blind eye to unethical behavior if the producer has a big enough book of business.

I was actually written up, for doing the correct and ethical thing! not issuing an evidence of insurance where coverage was not bound...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment high stress and multiple claim file reorganizations
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILJune 15, 2017
Worked aat this company as a contractor. Let Mgr know I was interested in a full time job offer. They disregarded this and hired someone from outside the office despite my good record as a previous employee with this company.
Pros
other employees were nice
Cons
cliquish environment within supvr and team leads which serve them
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xx
Client Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILJune 7, 2017
If you have a supportive supervisor, it is an enjoyable place to work. They are constantly growing, so if you are not good with change, it will be hard to adjust.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism rules
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 7, 2017
No matter how good you are and how hard you work, if you're not family or friend of family you will be treated like dirt by supervisors who protect the family and family friend culture. No morals, no ethical mindset, no fairness no matter how hard you try.
Pros
Rdo, most co-workers are great.
Cons
Horrible elementary school atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Resolution Associate (Former Employee) –  MissouriJune 6, 2017
Give us your opinion about a typical day at work what you learned management workplace culture the hardest part of the job the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJune 2, 2017
We dealt with many different self-insured companies from all 50 states. We review, investigated, evaluated and negotiated the claims that were presented. There were a variety of claims from auto, products and general liability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Advancement Iffy
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Chico, CAJune 1, 2017
Over all good company to work for. But I don't agree with how much control direct leaders have in regards to employee career path. You won't get to move up if your manager needs you, and you mainly only move into roles your direct leader decides benefits them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims Mill
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILMay 28, 2017
I worked there 5 years ago had a caseload that was ridiculously high with minimal care from management. Most people leave the company to work somewhere else. There are families working there. There is a lot a favoritism.
Pros
None
Cons
Went for years without a raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIMay 22, 2017
My job was temporary. Therefore I do not know what benefits are available. Management was easy going. Job was fun. Employers were very nice. Technology was stilted
Pros
Management
Cons
technology
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, family-type atmosphere
Claims Supervisor, Liability Unit (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIMay 22, 2017
I loved the culture and enjoyed the work. Unfortunately, I had to resign due to a serious health issue with my husband.

The work was challenging and the people at the office were wonderful.
Pros
office culture
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquisition and Merger Specialists
Accountant (Former Employee) –  East Lansing, MIMay 21, 2017
Gallagher seems like it may be a good company to work with. Unfortunately, when they bought the company I worked for, they absorbed all that I did into their corporate offices, and I found myself out of a job and the end of the merger process. However, they offered a generous severance package due to the elimination of my position. I think well enough of the company, though, that I encouraged my daughter to apply at the office I'm leaving.
Pros
Progressive Multi-national; room to grow if you don't mind travel or relocating
Cons
"Acquired" management doesn't necessarily buy into corporate core values
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are great and really care about their clients and each other
Client Services Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 18, 2017
Everyone works very hard and puts their clients best interests first. There is a great culture at Arthur J. Gallagher and it feels like a second family. I had a great experience working there for the last few years and learned so much about the industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Claims Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, CAMay 11, 2017
Room to grow

Learning new things is encouraged

Stablility

Good benefits

Can move around in company

Good work environment

Fast paced

Fun company events
Pros
Able to learn new things
Cons
High turnover tate
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Without a doubt, the worst place I have ever worked.
WC Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 10, 2017
This review is of the workers compensation claims department. The level of micro management is beyond ridiculous. More time spent on micro managing on internal processes than on proactively doing the job. Management is completely out of touch with what is required to properly perform the jobs they oversee.
Pros
work from home
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Enjoyable Part of the Job
Technical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GAMay 9, 2017
I enjoy my co-workers and the vendors. The incentives are great as well. I just wish they would have better TEAM programs, make everyone feel included.
Pros
free food
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Without a doubt, the worst place I have ever worked
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 6, 2017
This review is of the workers compensation claims department. The level of micro management is beyond ridiculous. More time spent on micro managing on internal processes than on proactively doing the job. Management is completely out of touch with what is required to properly perform the jobs they oversee.
Pros
Ability to work from home
Cons
Management style suppresses productivity
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Client Services Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILMay 5, 2017
Small health insurance branch for a large corporation. Small office currently employees eight people. Nice office facility.
Very busy and educational place to work.
The most enjoyable part of my position was working one on one with my clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Horses, sweat shop
Senior Resolution Manager (Current Employee) –  Laguna Hills, CAMay 4, 2017
Working from home helps meet the needs of the clients. Captive Accounts are very demanding and require hand holding and constant communication with the clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The equivelant to Big Box mentality
Commercial Lines Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 4, 2017
Run.... employees are very unfriendly to new [people, almost impossible to get anyone to help you with a task or a question, You are pushed out into the industry with no help and its like trading water with anchors on your feet. I have been in Insurance for 20 years, WORST experience I have every had
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work, work, work...
Senior Workers Compensation Resolution Manager (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILApril 25, 2017
GB was not the right fit for the skill set I have. The account requirements and demands could be met with a lower case load. The co-workers were all very good to work with.
Pros
Free Gym. Free beverages
Cons
high case load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arthur J. Gallagher & Co. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 332 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1

CEO Approval

70%
111 ratings
Add your rating

Arthur J. Gallagher & Co Reviews by Location