ASCO Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keeps you busy and always work to be done
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Paris, TXNovember 3, 2017
I enjoyed all the people and places I've met and seen. I also loved the people I worked with and how fast paced it was. The work environment was great.
Pros
40 hrs a week minimum
Cons
no work on rainy days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like banging your head against a wall that has spikes on it
CNC Operator (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCNovember 1, 2017
Poor management on higher levels.
Everyone does their own thing. Not many people on the same page.
Very disorganized.

The cafeteria was nice.
They have a star bucks coffee machine
Pros
Cafeteria
Cons
Management, organization, and not everyone on the same page...or book
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice palce to work
Senior Office Services\Helpdesk1 (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAAugust 25, 2017
Worked there for a short time but the experience was nice. Had a fantastic manger who was a team player. would work there again. Commute was good also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Project Manager / Facilities Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Manassas Park, VAApril 28, 2017
It changes every day.Some days I will work on a sculpture restoration and then I will be fixing a forklift then on the roof fixing a leak. It fits me very well. I am a jack of all trades type that can multitask and problem solve very well.
Pros
Keeps me thinking
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be better
Assembler/Production (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCApril 18, 2017
drone work place
not much room for learning
no room for advancement
no cross training
higher ups pick favorites
no personal time for family
poor problem solving in management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Aiken s.cFebruary 27, 2017
Pretty good place to work at I'm just looking for a day shift job and also tired of being on the inside no problems with anything about the job I just no longer want 2nd shift and its very hard to get to first shift
Pros
Profit sharing and employee fun day
Cons
Lack of work space in machine area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abrupt employment decisions
Parts Counter Person (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TXOctober 14, 2016
Overall, Asco was a good place to work until the last week of my time. Store manager has his clientele that are able to sit and chat. This turns into favorites while the balance of employees continue to perform duties.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Store Manager was young and persuaded by favorite employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive within various types cabinet assembly
Cabinet Assembler (Former Employee) –  Welcome, NCOctober 10, 2016
Work days varied from calm to fast paced. Able to receive certifications to improve manufacturing skills. Management, along with co-workers polite and social working as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place and it also has a fitness center
Driver (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 8, 2016
I fabricated steel and took it to the customers. Sometimes I would drive across the country to bring a special fabricated products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worker
Product Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCNovember 25, 2015
Nice place to work if you are from the Northern State mother plant. The wage disparity is to much. 60% of plan works for minimum wage, 40 % work for 4X to 10X the minimum wage. The Management is a closed Bourgeois system.
Pros
good educational benefits
Cons
Very biased and extreme stereo typing of sothern people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Play
Fabrication Operator (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJune 29, 2015
My 8 years of working in ASCO I have known almost everybody. We all get along very well. I worked there as a Laser Operator where production starts at. If we were short on a part, everyone looked around to see if it was laying around else where, if no where to be found i would re-cut that part. The best part working there was Team work from every department. It felt as though it was family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machine builder and tester of eqipment
master machine builder (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NJMay 30, 2015
lots of overtime. wireing machines .read schmatics. some pluubing.testing for electricall problems on test equipment. managers were heplfull when you had a problem. very good and friendly co workers. making something new and seeing it work.
Pros
very good benifits
Cons
way to much over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Company
Calibration Specialist (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCFebruary 9, 2015
Asco is a very stable company, in the last 40+ years they have not laid off any full time regular employees. There are also tuition programs available.
Pros
Stable
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, with bingo games
CNC Machinist (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCJuly 29, 2014
I have learned a lot about troubleshooting machines CNC programs,
Pros
incenative hours
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoyed my job at asco the people were very friendly and the work was very easy
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCApril 15, 2014
I cleaned my work area and made sure that I made over my production for that day or nights I also made sure I was extremely nice to my employers and my manager and supervisor
Pros
no frree lunches but we could order out every other day
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automotive Parts
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 5, 2014
Trying to get product and company name into the competitive marketplace
Pros
Praised for acheievment
Cons
Better support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging place to work
Dispatcher / expediter (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LADecember 2, 2013
Twenty four hr. duty
Learned to juggle several duties at a time .Incoming and out going activities inshore and offshore all at the same time.
Enjoyed the challenge and the people I worked with.
Pros
Lots of perks from vendors.
Cons
twenty hrs a day, but thankfully some were slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This work place would have been great but I had too many bosses
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXMay 22, 2013
I enjoyed the work; but, I had two women who were in charge of me and they would fight over what I was suppose to be doing. My kids were also really small and sick alot. The stress at work got me to where I was sick all the time so missed alot of work because of that and my kids being sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ASCO, Inc
Customer Service Operator (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 14, 2013
This job is all about bringing high quality customer service. My co workers and the management are so friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Job but Lack of leadership is hurting the business
Sales and Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Parkersburg, WVJanuary 7, 2013
I love the work and getting the interact with the costumers however due to some peoples inability to except change and to let go of the "that’s the way things have always been done" the company as a hole is suffering and the evidence is clear when you look at the amount of work there is. If the company as a hole would embrace change and look to the future there would be no problems with the company growing beyond its current bounds
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASCO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3