Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCMay 6, 2017
Far more responsive to community than to staff. Will.offer you up as a sacrifice for any baseless complaint. Pay is terrible. Some teaching positions work out to $10/hour and require a master's degree.
Pros
Holidays off
Cons
Everyone is afraid of laoing their job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCApril 27, 2017
I worked for Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College as a student using work study. The job was temporary as it only lasted during the semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing School
Phlebotomy Student (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCApril 13, 2017
Amazing school that works with you. Teachers are very knowledgable and willing to go above and beyond to help. There are a lot of tutoring opportunities in just about every subject.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Accounts Payable Representative (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJanuary 30, 2017
Really enjoyed my time at this company, even though it was for a short period of time. Appreciate my time there and the co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opinion
ESL Instructor / Adult Education Instructor (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJanuary 16, 2017
Difficult to secure a FT position that would have a decent pay and/or benefits. The management is great but no opportunities for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like Family
Writing Center Tutor (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCOctober 18, 2016
A-B Tech has not only helped me grow as a student, but as an employee and teacher. My direct boss and my co-workers are now family to me (along with my many repeat students).
Pros
Close-knit working culture, meaningful work
Cons
no healthcare, no full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCMarch 7, 2016
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College is a very good school. I was able to greatly enhance my knowledge of calibration and process controls instrumentation.
Pros
I was paid by the Veterans Administration to attend school full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students; not so much for employees
Director, Accounting and Internal Audit (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCFebruary 28, 2016
What do you call a king who becomes A-B Tech's President? ...a megalomaniac CEO is irresponsible when it comes to fiscal management. He knows so little about the overall operations that he blindly accepts information/data provided by his leadership team; otherwise, he is blowing them off altogether.
Pros
Nice Co-workers
Cons
CEO who is forgetul and running the college into the ground, Board of Trustees stick their heads in the sand
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Computer Lab Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCAugust 3, 2015
It is a great place to learn and work. It experience provided me great self confidence The school provided the knowledge I needed to be successful at my next job
Pros
This was a supportive learning environment, I loved my teachers and my boss. they were very supportive
Cons
There was did not have enough resources set in place to help you find a job placement, None was provided for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to teach
Instructor Business Administration (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCJune 2, 2015
However, hard to be promoted due to state budget constraints. The students are top notch in the business school and it's a pleasure to educate them.
Pros
Students are open and receptive
Cons
No pay raise since 1996 due to state politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current employee department chair
department chair (Former Employee) –  instructionMarch 10, 2015
The new management cares little for its employees. A typical work week will include working 50 plus hours while getting paid for 40. Be prepared to document everything you do to prevent someone else from getting you in trouble.
Pros
you meet lots of people
Cons
be prepaired to look for work else where.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open environment to persue career development.
Instructor, Hybrid (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCNovember 9, 2014
Free environment to develop, implement, and measure new ways of teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Asheville ncJanuary 30, 2014
Was a great place to work. No pressure on the job.Clean and safe environment.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resourceful Training
GIS Technician (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJune 11, 2013
This technical college allowed for me to gain a good foundation in ArcGIS applications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
janitor (Former Employee) –  asheville,ncMarch 12, 2013
Was a fun place to work with a relax inviroment. lost job due to cut back
Pros
good place to work with great benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Reviews by Job Title

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Reviews by Location