Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like Family
Writing Center Tutor (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCOctober 18, 2016
A-B Tech has not only helped me grow as a student, but as an employee and teacher. My direct boss and my co-workers are now family to me (along with my many repeat students).
Pros
Close-knit working culture, meaningful work
Cons
no healthcare, no full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students; not so much for employees
Director, Accounting and Internal Audit (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCFebruary 28, 2016
What do you call a king who becomes A-B Tech's President? ...a megalomaniac CEO is irresponsible when it comes to fiscal management. He knows so little about the overall operations that he blindly accepts information/data provided by his leadership team; otherwise, he is blowing them off altogether.
Pros
Nice Co-workers
Cons
CEO who is forgetul and running the college into the ground, Board of Trustees stick their heads in the sand
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCMarch 7, 2016
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College is a very good school. I was able to greatly enhance my knowledge of calibration and process controls instrumentation.
Pros
I was paid by the Veterans Administration to attend school full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Computer Lab Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCAugust 3, 2015
It is a great place to learn and work. It experience provided me great self confidence The school provided the knowledge I needed to be successful at my next job
Pros
This was a supportive learning environment, I loved my teachers and my boss. they were very supportive
Cons
There was did not have enough resources set in place to help you find a job placement, None was provided for me
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current employee department chair
department chair (Former Employee) –  instructionMarch 10, 2015
The new management cares little for its employees. A typical work week will include working 50 plus hours while getting paid for 40. Be prepared to document everything you do to prevent someone else from getting you in trouble.
Pros
you meet lots of people
Cons
be prepaired to look for work else where.
Was this review helpful?Yes19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to teach
Instructor Business Administration (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCJune 2, 2015
However, hard to be promoted due to state budget constraints. The students are top notch in the business school and it's a pleasure to educate them.
Pros
Students are open and receptive
Cons
No pay raise since 1996 due to state politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open environment to persue career development.
Instructor, Hybrid (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCNovember 9, 2014
Free environment to develop, implement, and measure new ways of teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
janitor (Former Employee) –  asheville,ncMarch 12, 2013
Was a fun place to work with a relax inviroment. lost job due to cut back
Pros
good place to work with great benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resourceful Training
GIS Technician (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJune 11, 2013
This technical college allowed for me to gain a good foundation in ArcGIS applications.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Asheville ncJanuary 30, 2014
Was a great place to work. No pressure on the job.Clean and safe environment.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes13No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Reviews by Job Title

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Reviews by Location