Find companies:
Ashford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
251 reviews

Ashford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 16, 2014
This job can be the hardest job of your life but also one of the most rewarding. You are the key to your success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to study
Student (Former Employee), Clinton, IAApril 14, 2014
Challenging Technology program for teachers and for those looking to enter the regular worlforce
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University for busy adults
Homemaker (Current Employee), Granite City,ILApril 7, 2014
Excellent staff to help support working/busy adults return to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More corporate than educational vibe
Financial Services Advisor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 4, 2014
Not much opportunity for growth. Great people work here, but there is a major disconnect with upper management that negatively affects the work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Student Advisor (Former Employee), Clinton, IAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: meaningful position, tuition reimbursement.
Cons: job stability was low for my department
The culture was great with Ashford. The management team and counselors were a close comradary. The schedule was great and their was activities there for families regularly. Benefits were very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and number driven
Admission Counselor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: one hour lunch
Cons: eight hours in a cubicle
Every work day was eight hours and it was all based on selling to customers over the phone. I was an admission counselor and was trying to enroll adults for their online programs. It was difficult and challenging which is fine but the work area and the stress to get numbers was not enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ashford University
Financial Service Advisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 18, 2014
Typical day at work as an admissions counselor would be calling prospective students and enrolling them in various Bachelor's or Associate's degree programs. In my role as a financial services advisor, my typical day would be calling students to go over the financial process for the University and making sure all required financial aid documents are – more... completed before the start of their first course. I have learned many customer service and sales skills in my years at Ashford University. I have learned how to be a team player and helping out my colleagues. The most enjoyable part of my job was knowing that I was changing lives for the better when helping my students go through school and knowing their future is much brighter with a degree. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 8, 2014
Pros: benefits: health care, 401k, vacation days, sick days
Cons: company policies, culture, managment, no room to grow, high turn over
The main reason why I would not encourage anyone to work there is because of the company culture. It is a horrible place to go daily. The sales goals are unrealistic. The company uses the tag line "changing lives" to justify the outrageous recruiting tactics. Discipline measures are handed out frequently when someone doesn't meet their sales goals, – more... which are unrealistic to begin with. The management is not interested in helping because the people who are executive management push the $$$$. THIS IS A PERFORMANCE BASED COMPANY, NOT A SCHOOL. Please don't be fooled. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much employee turnover
Asmissions Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COMarch 4, 2014
Doesn't really care about employees and believe in the work/home balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with Military getting them into school.
Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 2, 2014
Good experience and helped with Military aiding them to get into school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ashford University
Student Services Manager (Former Employee), San DiegoFebruary 24, 2014
Continuously improving company. Hours are flexible and easy to balance a personal life. The company does not provide competitive salaries and there is no job security. I received three promotions in 4 years, only to get laid-off to meet the yearly budget. Was in complete shock because my performance exceeded all expectations. They do not take care of – more... their "up and coming" employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ashford University
Military Admission Counselor (Former Employee), Evening Creek/Clairemont MesaFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great pay, great co-workers
Cons: managers and directors are not willing to take accountablity of their own actions
I worked there for four years and I was truly heartbroken when I was let go last year. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and the mission of Ashford by providing the up most service to its Military Students. Of course every company has its compaints either bad or good based off of the reviews. I can say Ashford gave me the experience in all round – more... aspects of helping military students go back to school and unfortuntely it tore me up when I was wrongfully terminated from my job and not able to congratulate all of my students in my database. Ashford I believed would never had this problem if they would have received the WASC Accrediation the first time. The director and you know who you are should have taken accountablity of my wrongful termination as it was yourself and the manager decided to pull myself out of an important meeting to call a student up and on the same day and the exact time which I was recorded on a phone call for some reason as if it was truly planned. Regardless the fact, I believe the ethics behind Ashford is in good attentions to help better the student but the management there should take responsiblity of their actions by preventing good employees from being let go. I miss you all of my fellow co-workers and currently still looking for a job 1 year later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, horrible company
University Advisor (Former Employee), San DiegoFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: everything else
Don't plan to be here long. My boss was absolutely awful, and did not care about anyone. They will tell you that the job is one thing, then it is completely different. The business as a whole is a joke. They are putting America into more debt while the company makes billions. I loved my coworkers and enjoyed my job for a while. They laid off 1000 people – more... at one time and will do it every year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: on-site fitness room
Ashford University is a private college that values employees through a work life balance atmosphere. Employees are able to earn incentives and enjoy working with like minded professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR Generalist
Human Resource Generalist II (Former Employee), Clinton, IAFebruary 13, 2014
My job responsibilities included all aspects of HR. I worked on a team of four amazing individuals. I was recently laid off due to a reorganization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want a job that enforces mental abuse and cruelty, apply. Applications are always being accepted.
Financial Services Advisor (Former Employee), San DiegoFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: there are no pros, they took all the perks away.
Cons: too many to count.
You are constantly micromanaged. Expectations are unobtainable. And of course your suppose to read minds and do the job with a smile. You are a recorded message. You will repeat the same things over and over again to someone who is not really listening to you. Each call can take 35 minutes to an hour and a half. YES, now imagine 10-12 new students a – more... day, all needing that much time and all there docs. When you hang up the phone, there is another depressing call to take its place. Management lacks leadership. Its all about numbers. This a really low paying job and you will work harder then other department. You will be yelled at and spoken down to and this is from the people you work with who you are suppose to support. AU is a sales driven company and they endorse dreams! Trust me, working here is a nightmare. So many people have left, So many people have volunteered to be laid off. So many people have risked not having a job at all and just quit in the name of sanity. If you aren't laid off its not because your special is because you produce high and can do the work of two or three people. Your skills are valued, then stripped and depleted.

There are no rewards, no bonuses or a happy meal for doing a great job. Just budget cuts in key departments and new hires in other departments. Horrible medical benefits!!! Worst deductibles you were ever pay, makes Obamacare look like a dream come true. You can come work here if you want, but I promise you, you won't like what you become working here. I suggest you run the opposite direction anytime you see that big purple and yellow logo. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job not a Career
Partner Education Services Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: regular layoffs
Hey its a job. They wouldn't pay you if you got to come in a have a great time and do what ever you want.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure sales position
Admissions Counselor (Current Employee), Kearny MesaFebruary 4, 2014
Company often lays off employees that work in various student services position. Admissions counselors work in a high pressure sales environment. Expect to be making 200-250 calls per day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growth and leadership experience
Director of Student Services (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Having a passion for education it was a great place to work and develop as a leader and gain experiences in the higher education industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees
Admissions Manager and University Advisor (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 28, 2014
A great company to connect to others.

Great benefits and pay.

Challenging on the day to day grind.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ashford University

You can help people change their lives when they choose to pursue higher education and earn a degree from Ashford University. – Read more