Ashley Stewart Employee Reviews

Showing all 233 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service
Sales Associate (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Forestville, MDSeptember 29, 2016
• Responded quickly and resourcefully to customer requests or concerns.
• Used suggestive selling techniques to increase sales.
• Gave information to customers about products.
• Operated the till.
• Up sold and made recommendations to customers.
• Served multiple customers in a short period of time.
• Carried out re-merchandising, display, price markdowns duties.
• Accurately completed cash register transactions.
• Received store deliveries.
Pros
There are discounts, discounts, and more discounts
Cons
You are always broke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 4, 2016
Being a sales associate at Ashley Stewart is not all it's cracked up to be. Yes you meet new people and you help women feel good about wearing the current trends even though they are plus size. Unfortunately, that's not enough motivation when you are paid minimum wage, work little to no hours, and have no benefits. Sales associates are the ones that have to make the goals set fourth by management, but yet they get no recognition for it. Working for Ashley Stewart is only good if you are retired and don't really need the money. Not a place to stay long or make a career out of.
Pros
Meet new people, make people feel good about themselves, and great co-workers
Cons
Poor pay, lack of hours, lack of appreciation to sales associates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ashley Stewart
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 22, 2016
The time that I was with this store location I felt that there was not any support from the DM. This DM would not explain anything further that what was emailed or written. I truly loved my employees and customers but the upper management was not supportive. As well as some favoritism within the surrounding stores.
Pros
none
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is okay.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  warren streetAugust 11, 2016
The job is alright. Sales associate does a lot of work with a little pay. But sometimes the contests can be fun, and the bonuses are good sometimes, that is IF the team wins.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being an employee at ashley stewart
ashley stewart (Former Employee) –  Oak Park, MIAugust 2, 2016
I didn't have too many objections to ashley stewart. I was an cashier.. The job was very slow paced. i cashiered and stocked the store. i cleaned the store and pressed clothes. i learned a lot about keeping focus and perfecting my craft.
Pros
half off
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Miami Gardens, FLJuly 28, 2016
Great place to work with awesome managers. The environment is very fun yet professional. I would recommend anyone between the age of 18 to 22 years old to apply.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very exciting job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Temple Hills, MDJuly 26, 2016
A day working for this company was great and always learning experience, I had a team that was like family so we always had fun while working. The customer was awesome that we displayed with each and every person that came through the door
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and learning experience
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Gary, INJuly 24, 2016
The pros of working at Ashley, is learning the customer as well as yourself. Learning things such as different styles, and different layouts! Our management team was awesome we worked as one to support our store manager. All of my peers were awesome people to work with. The hardest part of working at Ashley was convincing women of their sizes, and coming up with a complete look for certain occasions. What I loved most about Ashley, is that I was able to be myself and express my creative style!
Pros
contest, bonuses, reconition
Cons
no benefits, no vacation time for part-time managers, no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great compay
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 16, 2016
great company quality clothes room for growth friendly staff. I went from associate to Assist mgr in one year, you meet nice people and get to help dress them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was an ok company to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 9, 2016
this was a great learning experience for me. but I worked for a location that was part time, so the pay should have been better to make up for the part time hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a ok place to work
Co-Manger (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 26, 2016
on a typical day greet customers, count down drawer, help customers shop, balance books, check out customers and etc. manger
Pros
pay was great
Cons
mangers was not kind
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but friendly environment
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 25, 2016
I love working at Ashley Stewart. There are a lot of opportunities to grow with the company and the home office is always there for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Managers
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Secaucus, NJMay 13, 2016
Busy days but great culture, great people to work with everyone is very helpful.
managers are all positive
easy inter-communication between departments
Pros
culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I appreciate my job.....
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Temple Hills, MDMay 4, 2016
Although I am able to stays busy when I am scheduled, the work is not consistent, and doesn't pay well, which makes it impossible to have a work/life balance.

It's good to see managers role up their sleeves and assist clerks when store is extremely busy, but the best part of the job is my co-workers, and the great music!
Pros
Music, and easy going co-workers
Cons
low pay, and unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 26, 2016
A good experience for me. Loved all my customers and they were my motivation a lot of the time. I had a great time with my customers. I love to shop and help my customers do the same. I learned a lot and wouldn't and I was grateful for the opportunity.
Pros
Learning new things
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best Job Ever
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlantic City, NJApril 23, 2016
I loved this Job, I expressed myself when helping accessorize. It was fun to work doing something I love to do, dress. The managers were great, understanding people. Everybody got along, and it just was a great place to work.
Pros
music was motivating
Cons
they relocated
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment with new merchandise weekly.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 15, 2016
A typical work day was exciting with rearranging the merchandise and helping customers look their best.

Every customer is different.

Being a part of the management team not only helping customers but being a part of the associates lives was priceless.

I loved them to death they were beautiful inside and out.

In retail not being able to enjoy the holidays with family like you want.

Helping customers shop and merchandising the store.
Pros
Discount on clothes.
Cons
Holiday schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking to better myself at Ashley Stewart and to grow in the company.
Asst. Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 3, 2016
I really enjoy working with Ashley Stewart it is fun and an exciting place to work. Love working with people. Love seeing the customers satisfied with our product.Love meeting new people everyday.
Pros
You can move up in the company.
Cons
Wish that they could give raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
postive
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Maple Heights, OHMarch 19, 2016
Great company and positive environment to be in. I am grateful for the opportunites they have allowed me to reach.
I would recommend anyone to apply for a job with this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 2, 2016
I enjoy the personal shopping experience that Ashley Stewart offers its customers. Retail therapy is a nickname that shoppers give out when they come in and buy to relieve tension. Communicating with these ladies made a change in most of their lives and I really do appreciate being a part of that change; its rewarding.
Pros
Fun work enviornment
Cons
Pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 233 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5