Find companies:
Aspirus Wausau Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Aspirus Wausau Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Award Winning Hospital
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Wausau, WIJune 28, 2014
Being a CNA- Your helping care for patients with their ADLs and following there plan of care and providing any necessary information to your nurses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Wausau, WIApril 1, 2014
I feel Wausau hospital is an excellent place to work. I have excellent benefits and opportunities there. I was encouraged to become certified in my specialty and a group of ten of us wrote for the exam together. I work with very caring and knowledgeable nurses.
Wausau Hospital is a Magnet certified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and really kind and carring employees
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Wausau, WIJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: people and patients
Cons: weekend only position
I learned a lot and made a lot of new friends. I enjoyed learning about infection control and working with the different coding and illnesses involved with the coding from physicians. It was an exciting atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare
Patient Registration Specialist (Former Employee), Wausau, WISeptember 18, 2013
no comments. I was very unhappy with how my employment ended
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital with a Great set of Values
CNA in Med/Surg ICU (Former Employee), Wausau, WIAugust 5, 2013
Pros: excellent intensive care providers
Cons: a lot of shifts with no breaks or lunches
One CNA for an Entire ICU. For the most part my RNs were excellent to me, but there were others that couldn't operate without me. The hardest part of my job was knowing more than your average CNA, as I was in Paramedic School at the time. Having a CNA with their ACLS when some of your RNs don't have it, isn't great. The most enjoyable part of my job – more... was being able to assist in ICU Procedures, and learn from my Nurses, RTs, and Intensive Doctors. The hardest part of the job was learning time management, and telling my Nurses 'No' when I was assisting other Nurses. The Management watched me like a hawk, and only ever pointed out the negatives in my work. A typical day would be to get in at 7am, and get report from the night aid. Before you even get to do a Par check on supplies, RNs are asking for your help, trying to get their requests in before other RNs because there's only one of you. And if you go to help the RNs before your Par Check, you'll get yelled at for the Supplies not being stocked. Most of the RNs are good about using equipment for boosting and lifting, but some RNs prefer the "old" way of doing things and will have you risking your back doing lifts that are no longer the Gold Standard. The RNs don't understand how hard of a job this is mentally and physically, and often you will run from one room to the next assisting with cares for hours on end. I had a heart of gold before I started this job, and finished having injured my knee and back, and being mad at the RNs that I worked with for using and abusing me to the point that I no longer wanted to be a CNA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy patients and laughs
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Wausau, WIJuly 17, 2013
Pros: flexible working schedule
Cons: no breaks other than lunch
A typical day in the lab was a very busy morning drawing patients, ordering labs and running compliance for Medicare. The hardest part of this was telling patients their insurance did not cover test being ordered or that there were no orders for them and the ordering physician would not be in until after eight am. Through this I learned while in this – more... position to be patient and/or if possible check the patient list the previous day for orders (this could only apply if patient had an appointment).
The most challenging part of the job was the "team work" atmosphere was not always enforced with management. While at busy times co-workers found other things to do than patient care. Frustrating as this situation can be I learned to ask for their help in a more responsive way and try to focus on the patient and his/her care.

Overall this was an enjoyable place to work. Upper management seemed to care about the employees and work with each of us with any questions and/or concerns we had. Schedules were also very flexible for any changes that might occur and the atmosphere itself was full of happy faces and laughs, co-workers and patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aspirus is a leading healthcare facility in Central Wisconsin and is always looking to advance care and quality to the populations they serve.
Emergency Room Nurse (Former Employee), Wausau, WisconsinJuly 3, 2013
Pros: my co workers.
Cons: when we did not have enough staff during a shift to provide the best care possible.
The most important lesson learned from my position in the emergency room is the importance of team work. My co workers went above and beyond to help one another accoomplish what was needed. There was no typical day in the emergency room and I learned to triage utilizing the ESI scale to improve quality care to patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pride of work
Environmental Services Aide (Current Employee), Wausau, WIJune 11, 2013
Pros: generous vacation
We have input in how jobs might be done differently for customer satisfaction and ease for employees. I am very proud to say I work for Aspirus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past environment.
SURGERY SUPPLY & IMPLANT COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Wausau, WIMay 30, 2013
My workday consists of trouble-shooting medical equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need new management
Anesthesia Monitor Technician (Former Employee), Wausau, WIApril 24, 2013
Pros: the people i worked with
Cons: management would say one thing and then turn on you.
Great job-management needs an overhaul

What was nice about the job you never knew what was going to come through the door.

Hardest part of the job-management

Best part of the job-the patients and co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in a fast paced primary care ICU.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Wausau, WIApril 23, 2013
Pros: exciting, fast paced, required fast and accurate decision making. i really enjoyed this type of work.
Cons: easy burn out. long hours, required overtime
This job was exciting, fast paced and educational. I learned true hemodynamic monitoring of cardiac procedures including open heart, and of open cranial surgeries and monitoring. I was ACLS certified and frequently managed a code situation. There are so many heart wrenching memories of this work. My husband past away while I worked in this unit. The – more... ongoing stress made it difficult for me to continue with this type of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely great mentors and number one Physicians
Registered Nurse - Surgical / Oncology (Former Employee), Wausau, WIApril 14, 2013
Pros: wonderful environment with great staff and wonderful physicians
Floated in Hospital in different environment daily that included:
Medical/surgical
Orthopedics/Neurology
ICU
Rehabilitation
Behavioral Health
Surgical oncology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN
Registered Nurse Surgical / Oncology (Former Employee), Wausau, WIApril 14, 2013
Pros: good experience
Cons: difficulty shift work
Was Community Health Care Wausau Hospital. Good place to work floated in variety areas of hospital. Staff good and wonderful. Patients and families good to learn and help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, good people, but some need to go.
Nutrition Assistant (Former Employee), Wausau, WIApril 2, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: favoritism
Overall, Great place to work, most of the people were awesome. Some need to be re-evaluated, workers and supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an incredible place to work. Standards are high so if you can make it here you can work anywhere.
Respiratory Therapy Assistant (Current Employee), Marshfield, WIJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: plenty of work
Fast paced, energetic work, variety patient load.
Staff member are willing and knowledgeable to instruct where needed
Management is extremely helpful and considerate.
Co-workers are enthusiastic and incredibly knowledgeable and hold themselves and others to high standards.
The hardest part of the job is time management verses patient care.
I enjoy patient – more... care and helping people to become healthier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Wausau, WIDecember 10, 2012
Pros: the satisfaction you recieve from a patient.
Cons: when life takes a patient
A patient would come in and I would help admit them. Take their vitals, weight and make sure they were comfortable. We would have patients come in and you would get to know the most amazing people and their stories. The management was great. My co-woorkers were awesome. In a setting like that you have to work as a team, there is no I. The hardest paart – more... is if a patient would pass away. The enjoyable part is when a patient comes in and appreciates
how well they were takin care of and appreciates our work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life saving procedures being performed each day is a very positive experience to be around
Echocardiographer (Former Employee), Wausau, WINovember 10, 2012
Pros: able to witness what it's like to save lives every day
Cons: patient care was not a top priority
Aspirus Wausau Hospital has a lot of good qualities, such as saving lives and being on the modern edge of advancements in the medical field. Patient care at Aspirus seemed to lack in a lot of different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Security Officer (Current Employee), Wausau, WIAugust 6, 2012
Pros: pto accural rate is nice
Cons: uniform expense
My job is unpredictable and I love that. My co-workers and I get along great and are always there for each other when needed. The most difficult part of my job is switching roles in potentially dangerous situations. Most enjoyable part of it is knowing I do great work and being appreciated and recognized for it.