Asplundh Employee Reviews in United States

Found 59 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked working outside
B Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Greenville, OH 45331June 16, 2016
Ten hour work days learned how to run a chipper and hand saws co- workers were great no problem with management. Living out of a hotel was kind of difficult but nice at the same time. being outside was the best part of the job.
Pros
good money
Cons
always gone
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work would be working outside
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALJune 14, 2016
If you enjoy working outside in any weather this is the job for you. I personally preferred working indoors. In all it was an okay job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clearing right aways
Groundsman/ Tree Climber (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaJune 7, 2016
I have learned how to climb trees and flag
the hardest part about the job is climbing trees
the most enjoyable part of the job is getting production done
a typical day at the job is showing up early and making sure chainsaws are ready to go and flagging crews are ready
Pros
Hour Lunch 8 hour days
Cons
Pay is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Hard of work for such little pay
Tree Trimmer (Current Employee) –  Williamson, WVJune 2, 2016
They want you to risk your life everyday for 10.00$ a hour. Climbing trees, operating chain saws and working with electric lines deserve more.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
drive truck/tree cutting (Current Employee) –  Morehead, KYMay 2, 2016
good company paid on time weekly, had to work out of town but they paid for motel and food, good equipment and safety equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Montrose, PAJanuary 17, 2016
over all good company to work for decent benefits and pay. hours are four ten hour days in summer and five eight hour days in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work enviroment
Bucket Operator (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, SCDecember 15, 2015
Great place to work for, good hours,
only bad part is not getting to work if it rains, but if bad weather you get to work overtime
Pros
Good pay, good hours
Cons
Lay offs, weather
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work co-workers and management
electrical groundman (Former Employee) –  Gahanna, OHNovember 9, 2015
learned lots experience on this job from operating equipment to using different hand tools like hand press and fault finding indicators
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Consulting Utility Forester (Current Employee) –  OregonNovember 2, 2015
You have to be a self starter. If you enjoy freedom and can stay productive the job is enjoyable. If you like to come to work and have work delegated to you, this is not the job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a very divers place with grate benefits.
JY lineman (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 24, 2015
I think that this company is a great place to work you just need to be ready to work and do your part. The time goes by quickly when you are busy doing your part. You do run into some people who do not want to be team players but as a person who strives to better at there profession this is just a tool you should use to get better at what you do. You will only get out want you put into it.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6

Want to know more about Asplundh?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the summer
Foreman (Former Employee) –  LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANAAugust 6, 2015
The worst part about this job is working through the summer. You climb trees to cut around power line. It's a lot of work and the pay is ok.
Pros
Fun working with crew
Cons
hard work, heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hey
Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Wheeling, WVJuly 27, 2015
a normal work day started with startin up the truck and drivin to location of job. I learned a lot at this job. management was awesome and was patient.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I've worked for
Groundman (Current Employee) –  ConnecticutJuly 3, 2015
Started like two months ago, and I have to say that I like my job here at Asplundh. The foreman, groundsman, and gf's are all easy going. A typical day for a groundsman consists of flagging, chipping brush, setting up the job sight, and other duties that are assigned by your foreman.
Pros
Traveling, paid holidays, starting pay, overtime, advancement, coworkers
Cons
Long hours, poison ivy, ticks, no travel pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top tree company in the world
Foreman (Former Employee) –  MaineJune 25, 2015
Good company to work for. This is where I learned the job of utility line clearance. They keep some of the best equipment in the field and make sure you have the tools to work with. I had a hard butt back in the day train me and am thankful for it because he was very safety oriented and got me where I am today in this profession.
Pros
Biggest tree company in the world
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracting Tree Work For Power Companys
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSApril 15, 2015
Poor place and company to work for in the south. The northern states have union and pay and benefits are better. Very demanding on your body for low pay. Management is very hard to get along with also.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In charge of daily line clearance operations for utility company
General Foreman (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, OHMarch 25, 2015
Good company to work for but pay and benefits should be better given experience and skill level. 14-16 hours days to make 10. I have my own pickup, profit sharing & benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my time at Asplundh
Driver/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Elkins, WVFebruary 26, 2015
I loved working with this company. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. I loved the work I did there and the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asplundh
Groundsman Tree-Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Maggie Valley, NCJanuary 19, 2015
While working at Asplundh I had a unique experience opportunity to use my skills include clearing brush and grinding. I have worked in the woods for many years before this. I showcase my skills that also include thinking skills to do the job quickly, safely, and without making a mess. We accomplished everything that was needed for what our area needed which had massive damage to the roads and driveways. If I had the chance to work with them again, I would take it.
Pros
close to home
Cons
almost 50 to 60 hour weeks sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJanuary 16, 2015
Never a slow moment, always had something to do, great people and great atmosphere, great management and good day to day planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work!!
Chipper Operator (Former Employee) –  North Wilkesboro, NCDecember 26, 2014
I would start my day at 4am and travel to my work site sometimes I would get to my detestation at 6:30am sometimes 7am. I would drive around until I met my marker on the tree get the brush from the tree and chip it. I learned how to run and work the chipper and also all the safety precautions needed for the job. My co-workers were such enjoyment we did our work but yet got to pick and play. The hardest part of this job for me would be transporting the brush my hand to the chipper. The most enjoyable part would be the traveling.
Pros
getting $1000 bonus after 90 days
Cons
not getting paid for travel
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Asplundh. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 62 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.2