Find companies:
Assoc. for the Help of Retarded Children (AHRC)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

Assoc. for the Help of Retarded Children (AHRC) Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours and great benefits
Resident Case Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: medical and dental benfits
Cons: low salary
. Hard work and dedication
. Learning about diverse people and their abilities
. Rewarding when helping someone in need
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was friendly family oriented work site
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee), Newburgh, NYAugust 6, 2014
Pros: free dinner on the evening shift, driving agency vehicles
Cons: the only break we had was sitting down for dinner with the individuals
Come to work and sign in on a automated phone service. Depending on the day, staff was assign to prepare dinner or administer afternoon medications and insulin. Have the individuals take showers eat dinner, have their evening medications, clean the kitchen and then go into the community for their evening outing. Make sure everyone is wearing their seatbelt – more... before pulling out of the driveway. Upon returning, have the individual change into their pajamas and go to the med room for bedtime medications and provide a snack. When the individual go to bed, staff fills out all of the documentation for the day and take the trash out at the end of the shift. I learned to administered medications, insulin, CPR and AED, basic first aid and SCIP-R. The hardest part was to make sure that we stayed updated with every new policy. The most enjoyable part was going to fun places and experience new things with the individuals. I had good, hard working co-workers. I had a good management team that was helpful – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work
Community Support Professional (Current Employee), Community Support ProfessionalJuly 28, 2014
Pros: busy work day, constant exploring of nyc.
Cons: poor communication between departments, low pay, poor benefits
o Work with individuals who have suffered a Traumatic Brain Injury and help them achieve a personal level of independence, redevelop life and social skills, and maintain the dignity of the human person.
o Developed meaningful life-skill oriented curriculum for individuals which will be used throughout the AHRC organization in the departments for individuals – more... with developmental disorders.
o Supervise community outings to assist individuals with their social skills, money managements, and healthy habits and to provide a safe environment.
o Keep detailed case notes on a number of individuals to record their progress in reaching their self-set goals and provide documentation of individuals’ improvement and/or deterioration in a variety of areas in regards to their health, mobility, life and social skills so as to provide the best individualized program for that individual.
o Participate in bi-annual meetings of an individual’s social worker, home care representative, state services representative, and family which address their overall progress and future needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can handle being an aide this is a good job with good benefits
Liaison between family members and the facility (Current Employee), Shoreham, nyJuly 28, 2014
A typical day is getting clients up showered and dressed for the day. YOu make the meals for the guys and help feed them. You are responsible for changes, and reposition of each client. The hardest part of the job is when a client gets sick and passes away. They pay well for the type of job you are doing,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUDE!
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 9, 2014
The managers are always sneaking around to find a worker that can take blame for their poor management. I did a total of three years with them and it was a roller coaster ride
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization with a lot of dedicated employees. Great and suppportive environment.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Nassau County, Long Island, NYJuly 5, 2014
Pros: great benefits package, great environment, flexible schedule.
Flexible schedule 37.5 hours a week. The agency provides multiple training modalities, which are very helpful for both new and established employees. The agency has multiple geographical locations that can be tailored to employee's preferences. There is a great culture within the agency, very supportive and very person-oriented. The agency takes pride – more... in its accomplishments and strives to be the best, which is a part of why it is so great for the employees and the people it serves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at AHRC
RESIDENTIAL HABILITATION COUNSELOR (Current Employee), 83 Maiden Lane NY, NYJuly 2, 2014
A typical day is a day spent with an individual in the community. Working one to one with the individual addressing school academics if there are any. Working on their goals helping them to become more cognitive, independent and productive in today's society, at home and in their work place. Just helping them to cope and understand what it takes for – more... them to do and reach their desired goals. Taking time to teach and instruct....the hardest part of this job is working with an individual that's non-verbal and who's goals seems difficult to achieve....the most enjoyable part is seeing results from your hard work and efforts, seeing smiles on their faces, seeing the parents/families smile telling you job well done, or just plain thank you...I've worked with this population for several years, nothing really changes except for the faces, our objective is to help these individuals become as independent as possible and use their skills to the best of their ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment
Intake scheduler (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no overtime is offered
A typical day at work would be answering phone calls,responding to emails. Check patients insurances making sure they are active and collect co-payments.
I have learned how to have patience with other people especially when they have special needs. My co-workers help me when needed and vice versa,
The hardest part of the job is having to turn someone – more... away.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help someone else when they are in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and
Home Care Supervisor (Former Employee), NewYork, NYJune 10, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: no advancement opportunity
A typical workday is something i look forward to. I review emails for from the previous day, i check on the individuals to make sure everything is well, i go through their books to see if documentation was done correctly by every staff, i create schedules and oversee that the residence is running smoothly to its full potential. i have learnt to be more – more... attentive and patience. i don't see nothing about my job as hard, i see every challenge as a learning experience. The most enjoyable part of my job is been able to make the individuals happy and the teamwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I enjoyed
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee), Brookville, NYMay 28, 2014
Pros: shift flexibility
When I arrived at the group home, I greeted the individuals and my co-workers. Even though I had other work experiences, I had the opportunity to share my knowledge with younger co-workers. Most enjoyable part of the job the satisfaction sometimes expressed by the individuals the companies I worked for. Those of the individuals who were verbal say "thank – more... you" while others' faces would light up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job of all time. It is so gratifying to help others in need.
Music therapist / consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 29, 2014
Pros: co workers, parties after work on occasion. the holidays
Cons: the pay rate for most of the employees is terrible. this was not the case for me, however.
I have nothing but praise for the workers and the management of AHRC. My job, which eventually took me to 5 different centers, was created by by supervisor, Verna. She is the most compassionate and intuitive person I've ever worked with. The supervisors at each other center were great, as well. The individuals with whom we worked are the best audience – more... I've ever had. I loved it and would be back there now, if only my situation in MD permitted me to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the environment
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 8, 2014
Pros: seeing the residences happy
Cons: seeing that the individual is hurting but can not communicate were the pain is located.
A typical work day was easy. I learned that this field of work can be challenging but also very rewarding. Management was helpful. Co-workers was always ready to help out. The hardest part of the job was to witness clients in pain. Most enjoyable part of my job was to bring happiness and comfort to the individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My individuals are important
Services Coordinator, Supervisor's Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 12, 2014
Pros: my individuals.
Cons: can be emotionally draining.
I am looking for another opportunity to work with people. I am interested in participating in a work atmosphere that requires patience and understanding but does not involve personal circumstances that may influence my evenings when I go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast placed environment.
Medicaid Service Coordinator/Caseworker (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 7, 2014
Pros: paid bilingual bonus
Cons: health insurance
A typical day at work was fast paced, there was a lot of work, I did not have anytime to be bored which was good. At the time of my employment the employees was pleasant and helpful, the company was organized. I learned a lot the extensive training that was offered by the agency prepared me to be a confident Case Worker, because of the training I received – more... I am good at case management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working employees dedicated towards the Individuals whom the company serves.
Accounting (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 4, 2014
Cons: reduction in benefits and no room for advancement.
Heavy workload. But will learn the art of multitasking and delivering time efficient projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A non profit organization, fully engaged in it's mission
Assistant Director, Human Resources Administration (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: excellent and extremely reasonably priced health care benefits
AHRC is a family governed organization dedicated to enhancing the lives of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families. They serve over 15,000 individuals with intellectual & developmental disabilities throughout the five boroughs and the variety of organization is unsurpassed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Needs more improvement in management style.
More professionalism needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AHRC
Instructor (Former Employee), Westhampton, NYFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: working with the mentally disabled
Cons: working on an air force base
This job was wonderful. It opened me up to how precious life is and how important it is to help those in need. This was my first occupation in the health care field. We had a great team of instructors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Art & Recreation Leader
Recreation (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2014
• Conducted a variety of art classes, photography clubs, weekend and summer trips, and Friday evening socials for consumers with ID/DD.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly work environment
Mentor (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: interaction with clients and coworkers thereby networking
Cons: competition
Interaction with clients and coworkers is friendly and enjoyable.
I learned that it is important to speak my mind if something is wrong.
Management is fair and lenient.
Coworkers are friendly and teamwork oriented

1 2 3 4