Find companies:
Assoc. for the Help of Retarded Children (AHRC)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Assoc. for the Help of Retarded Children (AHRC) Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive workplace
Residential counselor (Former Employee), Newburgh, NYNovember 14, 2013
provided clients help with daily task management was great best thing I like about this job was helping people overcome their fear of daily task. the hardest part of the job was explain to client why their family is not coming to see them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Organized, and Structured Enviroment
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 14, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: health care, per diem position
Its a 24/7 facility that cares for mentally challenged and disabled individuals. These 24 individuals range from ages 19 to 84 and are all medically frail. They require direct care staff and a medical team to assist them with their daily activities. I enjoy working with this population because no matter the ailment placed upon them, they remain full – more... of life and possess so much personality.

On a day to day basis I am responsible for all office work such as answering phones, making copies, faxing, signing for packages, ordering and restocking supplies, typing memos, creating protocols, filing, debreeding medical charts, scheduling appointments, etc. As well as when our PMD, PA, or PT/OT come for in house appointments I assist with medical exams, phlebotomies, urinalysis, administering medication, taking vitals, etc.

The hardest part of my job would have to be when any of the clients expire, Emotionally you are hurt, but you have to remain mentally focused and dead file their paperwork, then prepare for a new admit. I have one supervisor but on a weekly basis I am responsible for assisting about 20 different nurses. Sometimes the different personalities and work ethics can be stressful but overall it remains a positive enviroment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivational environment but no room for advancement
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee), 5720 Route 25A, Wading River NY 11792November 5, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: adjusting to last minute, dramatic changes in the work environment.
The day begins in a role call setting where all employees are updated on any new information that has been provided. Employees along with management are usually happy and pleasant while preparing for the work day to begin. Once all staff members have updated there reports and finished any pending work assignments, the day is set to begin. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is that all workers are team players and the most hardest part of the job is the loss of a employees that you have gotten used to over years. Then you have to adjust the new staff member. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Rehabilitation health counselor (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 4, 2013
Pros: having a job
Cons: the travel was too far
I would meet my patient at her house or at the job when she had to work. We would start off by me signing into the cell phone that the agency gives you. I would ask the patient what goals/ things she would like to do today. We would go shopping, doctors appointments, church, etc. Also I would help with anything she would want done in the house. Such – more... as organizing her things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
cool place (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 31, 2013
loved the dayhab I was in. Once again the individuals were a treat to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is all about the individuals I care for!
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Jamaica, NYOctober 17, 2013
Working at AHRC helps me perfect my assessment skills. I learn to be a better patient advocate by caring for individuals who cannot speak for themselves. The most enjoyable part of the job is the smiles and big hugs I get from my happy patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Residential Habilitation Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 3, 2013
Loved working with the company. I learned a lot while employed there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the company is great.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Plainview, NYSeptember 23, 2013
I would recommend this company to anyone! They are for the most part organized and are a compass agency
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall work enviorment
LPN/Charge Nurse (Current Employee), Shoreham, NYSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: working independently
Cons: the shortage of nursing
Medicate and treat 24 mentally disabled adults to prepare them for their day. I then make their appointments,schedule bloodwork,pick up doctors orders. I love the interaction with my participants daily and dont find any part of my job difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), 189 Wheatley Rd., Brookville NYSeptember 9, 2013
I reconcile most of the bank statements for the company so I would start my day by trying to finish the reconciliations. Entered the daily cash receipts, and would work on any of the other activities that I am involved in. Management was great about letting you come in and do your work independently. I work with a lot of good people and I learned that – more... every individual that works at AHRC is helping people who are not as fortunate as we are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 27, 2013
Pros: always had hours
Cons: .
Love the company good and bad days. Management really cared and looked out for staff as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place and amazing children
Behavioral Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 26, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: not enough pay
it was an amazing experience to work with disabled children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job and I loved my residents. Relocated to Florida
Recreation Coordinator (Former Employee), Plainview, NYAugust 7, 2013
• Coordinated daily recreational activities for developmentally disabled individuals and sensory stimulation activities for terminally ill patient.
• Learned the basics of assessing patient vital signs and administrating medication under the tutelage of a registered nurse.
• Helped to ensure patient’s last year was as comfortable, dignified and enriching – more... as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 4, 2013
Terrible place to work. I was hire part time and worked a full time scheduled. They insinuated that they would consider me for a full time position, closed to six months they wanted me to continue to work full time with part time benefits.

I would not recommend this place to any professional with a degree!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work, good communcation between co-workers
Assistant Leader (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 23, 2013
Diversity of co-workers that brings in different ideas to the table.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jealous Manager
Substitute Job Coach (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 10, 2013
Pros: good staff workers
Cons: jealous supervisor
I decided to apply for a position that was available. apparently the manager who wanted to hire me, decided to put me in training with permission from the head Director. Well, my present manager was not happy about the promotion because the salary offered to me was more than what she was making. The next week she decided to do an evaluation on me with – more... a heavy amount of complaints to sabotage my promotion. She later requested me to be fired after I refused to sign the evaluation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse work place with unique and amazing individuals
Habilitation Counselor (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 19, 2013
Pros: being a role model and companion to others who feel they do not have a voice.
Cons: trying to prevent yourself the individual from getting attached.
A typical day at work could vary from working on goals such as cleaning, cooking with the individual to taking them out in the community to enhance their social skills. I've had the opportunity to work with different backgrounds which gives me a better understanding of their disability. The hardest part of the job is not getting attached because you – more... work with kids and adults on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part is knowing that your not only a support system to the family but to also the individual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Birthdays and Cake
Administrative Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 11, 2013
Pros: wage works card, which allows us purchases like non prescription reading glasses
Cons: lunch is not paid, not that we get many chances to have one.extremely busy environment.
Extremely hectic, but highly productive, which is a positive. I have learned to think fast on my feet on, to manage the crises that emerge daily and to engender the required patience to resolve any residual problems.

Management is not hostile but not overly supportive either.

The majority of my co-workers are hard working people who come in the school – more... with the best of intentions and do try to make a difference.

The commute is rather daunting and the fact that there are not enough hours in the day to quote a very overused cliche.

Knowing that I have had a very productive day and one which is an integral part of the culmination of a very productive month,a year and that the effectiveness of our office and its operations contribute to the overall success of our school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee), Brookville, NYJune 5, 2013
Gain alot of experience, with working developmental disability. The consumer are wonderful. I enjoy working with them and gain so much from working here. My co-workers are diverse and fun to be around. At time it may be difficult but I overcome these challenges with knowing once I'm around my consumer, it makes my day go by and I enjoy being around – more... them. They have my heart. Very sweet and kind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee), Shoreham, NYJune 5, 2013
Pros: good insurance, pay and incenive programs
Worked overnights. Basically quiet. hour bed checks, bed changes, deal with any behaviors. Comfort our individuals who needs our help. Management good. Co-workers great. Hardest part of job was staying awake.