Find companies:
Assurant Specialty Property
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
99 reviews

Assurant Specialty Property Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKAY Job
Processing Specialist (Current Employee), Florence, SCOctober 9, 2014
I feel the management is awful! Working evening shift, there is rarely an opportunity to move to day shift. They except you to want to work nights forever. Also, other departments are more welling to hire an outsider then hiring within the company. Pay is decent. The people working with you is probably the best part. I work in exceptions processing – more... and the job itself isn't that hard. Moving up in this company at this location is h*ell as far as I can see. Its one of those "for now jobs." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!
Hazard Insurance Specialist (Former Employee), Springfield, OHOctober 6, 2014
Was told by management that I needed to join a church so that I could "adopt" a grandparent for my children to enable me to work when they were sick.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variations in job opportunities
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 6, 2014
Fluctuations in growths and opportunities. Currently, stable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fair environment
Property Loss & Escrow Analysis Specialist (Current Employee), DULUTH, GeorgiaOctober 5, 2014
Pros: good cafe'
Cons: low pay, no promotions, politics, retalitory managers.
I came in as a temp employee and was making a low rate with the promise of a better rate if we were hired full time.

It did not happen, as a matter of fact the employees that we had to train that cam in 5 months later made more than us. (the people doing the training and they were doing the same job.)

Then we were told that we would be moving to a – more... new client and it would be considered a lateral move, which it was not. We were expected to do 3 more job functions and were required to make the switch still making considerably less than the new temps that came in on the same position.

Also we are still making less than the temps currently coming in on the same job as us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Hazard Processor I (Current Employee), Florence, SCOctober 2, 2014
Pros: office activites
Cons: pay periods
A typical day at work for me, will be uploading my computer starting my daily assignments. I begin making numerous of calls to insurance companies & agencies to obtain the necessary information. I've learned that you have to have patients to work in this environment. The hardest part of working in the work place is maintaining patients. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job, are the activities your allowed to participate in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: daycare, satellite school, credit union on site, gym
Introduced to the insurance industry
Invests in their employees
Encourages open dialogue between the business leaders and subjects
Gives the employees a solid foundation in training and set clear expectations as it relates to the job functions
I learned how to be an effective manager and how to give balanced feedback
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims Associate
Assist clients (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 20, 2014
Work environment cohesiveness with team member through demonstration of team building and leadership skills. Reached a daily goal on new claims filed. Worked in the claims department assisting customer on daily health insurance claims. monitored and evaluated the quality of inbound and/or outbound telephone calls and procedure application in addition – more... to call center monitoring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at assurant
Open items processing specialist (Current Employee), Springfield, OHSeptember 16, 2014
I have been their for almost a year and i do love my job and i like the people that i work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and laid back environment, Strict.
Customer Service Rep III (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 10, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of dealing with customers on a non stop basis other than breaks. I loved my co-workers, the management was a little disoriented honestly but we made the best of each and every day and encounter. The hardest part was making production of closing at least 65 items a day considering we had to deal with people and with that – more... comes a lot of patience, but overall i loved it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked through a Temporary Service as a Loss Drafts Specialist
Assisting customer (Former Employee), Springfield, OHAugust 13, 2014
I worked through a temp agency for Assurant Specialty Property. The company wa snot bad to work for, as I have had much experience in the call center environment (over 10 years). The client I worked for was very misleading and unprofessional in my opinion which jades some of my review here. My position demanded that I review the details of past & current – more... homeowner's insurance claims and to complete different tasks to help the push the claim along. Most of the time there were simple documents that the homeowner needed to sign or the contractor who rebuilt the home needed to sign. Sometimes checks needed to be endorsed or were loss. Sometimes, due to a disagreement or a contractor walking off a job there were disputes. Sometimes, lawsuits. There were different scenarios. All in all, the job wasn't difficult. It just took someone who needed to be detail oriented & didn't mind reading between the lines. However, there were mounting problems on the Assurant end as well. Lots of miscommunication between the higher ups I think was the biggest issues, because the rules of what was acceptable or not were in a constant state of flux. Imagine asking a senior employee a question, getting an answer and then being told that answer was wrong... which happened a lot. Due to the nature of the client actually being investigated for improper business actions, this definitely would contribute to the confusion. However, I think that even in times of confusion, middle & upper management should conclude on exact processes.Again, this could've been just the client I worked for , as there are different clients at Assurant who have their own rules & procedures. I will also repeat, that I was a temp for this company, so this may also have been the case as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Duluth, GAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: if you can't obtain 97 percent quality score you will be fired!!!!
Management sucks and give unrealistic goals!!!! Seven calls are monitored each month. Management expects you to be perfect and no one is perfect. I averaged 95 percent and it still was not good enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processing Center
Hazard Insurance Processor III (Former Employee), Florence, SCAugust 6, 2014
Worked for company over ten years. Management, as well as employees have a high turn over in certain areas. Did work with my school schedule. Work is repetitive and not very challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comforting to know we always have job security, I love my job and the company I work for.
Senior Research Specialist (Current Employee), Florence, SCAugust 4, 2014
Pros: job security, salary
Cons: terrible insurance coverage
A typical day at work is responding to my clients emails providing them answers for their questions and concerns.

I learned to process, track and maintain the escrow on home loans, how to research and provide root cause analysis for insurance issues, as well as back up my team lead.

The management at Assurant are above and beyond all I have had before. – more... The managers I have had have been very approachable and willing to assist in any way and are very understanding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Unit Manager III (Current Employee), Duluth, GaJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great asscoiates
Cons: n/a
As a Call Center Supervisor, I manage work at home associates as well as in-house associates. We operate a 500+ seat call center. My group is inbound calls for Suntrust Mortgage Insurance. I love coaching, training and developing associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Loss Draft Specialist II (Former Employee), Florence, SCJuly 20, 2014
Pros: security
Cons: insurance coverage, flexiblity to use pto
Job is very secure but not much advancement. Worked with a great team which made work much easier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have Great time coming up with ideas outside of the office, often inviting family and friends to socialize.
Account Supervisor (Current Employee), Duluth, GAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: i really love working for assurant. they always leave room for growth and oppurtunity.
Cons: the policy and procedures change consistantley, but i guess that's a good thing.
I have over 14 years experience working in call centers. I am currently working as an active supervisor and is responsible for 14 employee's. I have outstanding problem solving skills and defusing escalations. If you are seeking
someone that's familiar with working in a high pace environment and knows how to lead by example, please contact me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity is the name of the game at Assurant!
Loss Drafts Specialist (Current Employee), Florence, SCJune 18, 2014
Pros: star recognition program
Cons: quality control is always in conflict
I love my manager because she deals with every associate on a case-by-case basis. A typical day at work is all about processing. We are mainly making or receiving calls regarding a property loss claim. The name of the game is quality and quantity. These two elements will get your recognized or dismissed. But it's not all bad, because I have come in – more... contact with some truly amazing people and I value my team mates! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and time consuming
Customer Care (Current Employee), Springfield, OHJune 17, 2014
Your hours are changed on you with no concern for your family life, you are yelled and screamed at all day by homeowners and insurance agents, and management isn't always up to par. The aspect of my job is right up my alley, but what comes with it is not worth it. Misery in the workplace effects your whole life and I can see and feel the impact it is – more... havng. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Job
Loss Draft Specialist (Current Employee), Duluth, GAJune 9, 2014
Pros: stable
Started at this 6/24/13. Job is stable and not hard to learn. Difficult to advance. High turnover among management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not enjoy this position at all
Hazard Insurance Specialist (Former Employee), Springfield, OHJune 9, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: no benefits
it was strictly data entry, very tight working environment.

1 2 3 4 5