Find companies:
Assurant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
274 reviews

Assurant Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, but constantly changing schedules is hard on full time employees.
Risk Manager (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 20, 2014
Good atmosphere at work. Annual reviews. But no room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Support Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaJanuary 19, 2014
Great work place, with many ways to learn new things and grow as an individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun environment
Hazard Insurance Processor I (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks, heatlhcare, etc.
Working effectively with integrity to provide awesome customer service to internal customers and to meet the company guide lines I also learned that a happy client becomes a loyal client. I had awesome team players for co-workers the hardest part of my job was trying not to be too compassionate with customers or clients and the most enjoyable part of – more... my job was being compassionate with customers or clients with integrity – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotions should be more ethical
Insurance Specialist (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: pension plan
Cons: culture
Promotions should be more ethical.
The culture of the Duluth location needs improvement.
It has plenty of growth opportunities.
Merit increases once a year at the end of the year and based on performance but ultimately management decides percentage given.
Promotions and merit increases would be better if HR handled or computerized based on factual points – more... given. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no loyality to it's employees
IT Manager of Print and Data Service (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 15, 2014
Cons: everything
Senior managment has lost touch with it's employees.
Was once a great company when it was American Bankers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Atmosphere
Sr. Business System Analyst (Former Employee), NYCJanuary 14, 2014
It was really a Challenging environment on daily work basis, I have learnt how tackle the things effectively and efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every high pace and fun department
Administrative Support Tech (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJanuary 9, 2014
This was a very face pace job with a lot of challenges. Quit dead lines, which taught me the importance of be very accurate and timely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor abuse
Wireless Technician (Former Employee), yorkJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers
Cons: no advancement, but you do get higher level work, they dont want to pay for you to get a raise. cant call out sick unless you give a weeks notice, outdated systems for hr and attendance/merit system, the merit system is their guarantee that you will never see a raise.
Do not care about employees at all. emotional abuse and strong arm, do not ask questions they will fire you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with good benefits.
Senior Production Support Analyst (Current Employee), Woodbury, MNJanuary 1, 2014
I work three 12 hour days with great people who are caring and knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Assurant is a joy, but now my depatment is being laid off, I think it is time for a change.
Associate Accountant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 17, 2013
Pros: free lunchs
Cons: would like more paid time off
Review emails and respond, perform daily balancing for the accounts we print check. Check funding to make sure the clients deposited money into the accounts. Peform electronic transfer bfore 10:30 am. Provide reissue check request. Respond to emails and perfom research.
Perfom monthly bank reconcilation. Audit check stock once a week.

We work at a – more... fast pace becuase the checks being printed have to go out everyday. This job requires one to pay attention to detail. I like what I do, the hardest part is when you can not get hold of a client when we did not balance which means the checks will not be able to be printed that day. I like the fast pace, because it makes my day go by fast. My co-workers are great, we all take pride in what we do. My namager is always teaching us new things to make our job easier. When I started in this company I did not have any cash management skills now I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an Ideal Place to be Employed
Customer Advocate (Former Employee), Duluth, GADecember 12, 2013
Pros: getting off of work
Cons: everything about this place
The only way anyone would enjoy working for this company is if they have never worked in corporate america before. Management skills were poor. Quality was an absolute joke and last minute break changes were ridiculous. You could never plan to do anything on your lunch break because 4 out of the 5 days you worked your break was changed from an hour – more... to 30 minutes due to call volume. Management did not believe in coaching and development. They would just put you down if you didn't do the job they expected without proper training.` – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and and forward-thinking company with a customer-centered culture and positive work environment.
Sales Consultant - National Accounts (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNDecember 11, 2013
Pros: positive environment with engaged management and customer-centered mindset.
Cons: interdepartmental communication was sometimes less than ideal.
A typical day at work included upbeat sales consulting and office marketing plan phone calls with national accounts agents and their staff, informal planning meetings with my group, and a lot of fun. In my role, I learned to use a consultative sales approach, how to effectively train agents to market and sell our health insurance products competitively, – more... and how to work individually and as a team to carry out targeted call campaigns with the goal of effectively increasing national accounts business and improving retention.

I enjoyed my co-workers a great deal and found management very approachable and open to new ideas and suggestions.

The most enjoyable part of the job was passing on the culture of customer-centered business to agencies and seeing an increase in their proprietary business coinciding with an increase in their health products business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice lounge area great training and great atmosphere
Customer Service (Hazard Insurance Specialist) (Former Employee), Florence, SCDecember 5, 2013
Pros: weekly pay, overtime, comfortable work enviroment
Cons: short breaks
Great place to learn varies type job all in one. Nice friendly employees. very good pay and nice clean environment good staff with lots of benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NON PRODUCTIVE NO GROWTH
Hazard Insurance Specialist (Former Employee), Florence, SCDecember 5, 2013
POOR MANAGEMENT, POOR STRUCTURE, POOR BENIFITS, AND NO ROOM TO GROW OR EXCEL. UNPLESANT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Loss Draft Specialist (Current Employee), Florence, SCDecember 5, 2013
Work good shifts. I have worked there for years and held 90-100% QA and yet still no advancement. Managers do not tend to keep up with their monthly reviews on work. Environment is hectic and chaotic. Will be seeking other employment in order to gain advancement and better benefits for self and family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you like constant change
Hazard Insurance Specialist- Subject Matter Expert (Former Employee), Springfield, OHDecember 2, 2013
Management and associates are always transferring to different places. Either by promotion or changing clients, so that was a plus. Work was great for years then things just got to be too much and too fast. Dumped with way more requirements to do in a day than was logically reasonable and most managers didn't even know who you were (which I thought – more... was funny cause of the 6 managers over me in a 5 year period, only 2 knew my name) so when reviews were due, most reviews were "incomplete" as the new manager didn't have enough information about the employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Underwriting Technician (Former Employee), Plymouth, MNDecember 2, 2013
To start my day I would work a tech email box to answer questions or receive information from agents of policies in review. I would send the information to be scanned and placed in the electronic files. If the agent would need a certain form I would attach and email it to them. I would than work any policies that were behind schedule and that have been – more... past out by the leads. After that work was completed I would than work the internal replacements and reissues that I had received through the system days prior.
I would have to call agents to notify them of information that was needed to continue the issuance of the policy or policies that they submitted.
Before the policy could be sent out with an offer, it was needed to have ratings or amendments added. We would need to review the file for accuracy of name, address, date of births, and accuracy of the underwriter's assessment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Tax Accountant 1 (Former Employee), Miami, FLNovember 24, 2013
Pros: good benefits and employee perks.
Cons: waiting for information from other departments at closing.
I prepared premium tax returns for 2 companies using dedicated software. Learned insurance laws for all 50 states and some income tax regulations. Co-workers helped each other as necessary to meet deadlines. The hardest part of the job was meeting deadlines at year-end. Enjoyed year-end celebration of a job well done. Management was very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding place to work
CSR (Former Employee), Albany, ORNovember 22, 2013
Pros: catered lunches monthly, friendly and helpful
Cons: very strict about attendance, a doctors note will not excuse you. only closed 2 days of the years
Through training, on going training, room for advancement. many perk, weekly prize drawing, good benefits, many schedules to choose from. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great call center
Technical Service Representative (Former Employee), Lawton, OKNovember 11, 2013
These guys provide top rate training and pay. They are friendly and as long as you keep your head down and mouth shut they will keep you on.

About Assurant

Assurant, Inc. (Assurant) is a holding company. Through its subsidiaries, it is engaged in providing specialized insurance products – Read more