Find companies:
ATI Physical Therapy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

ATI Physical Therapy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A JOKE!
Commercial Patient Account Specialist (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILOctober 16, 2014
This has got to be the worst place to work for in Bolingbrook at the Corp office. The management there is horrible especially the commercial department supervisors. . The back biting and gossip is sickening. No raises in two years due to the economy "supposedly". Horrible medical and benefits paid time off. Micro managing times 100 to say the least.. – more... NOTICE THEY ARE ALWAYS HIRING IN THE COMMERICAL DEPT & WORK COMP DEPT FOR PATIENT ACCOUNT SPECIALISTS. STAY AWAY! HIGH TURN OVER RATE! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Patients
Employee (Current Employee), Dexter, MIOctober 2, 2014
I enjoy working with the public and helping them. For the most part my co workers are easy going and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly working environment
Front Office Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 21, 2014
A typical day at ATI as a front office coordinator is always busy and filled with things to do. From billing, answering phone calls (from patients, nurses, attorneys and insurance companies), scheduling, translating, to working close with the physical therapist and following any orders to be done for the day, and so much more. Working here my experience – more... in Excel,MS Outlook, and billing has grown greatly. My multi tasking skills have become better due to the volume of phone calls and emails I have to respond and answer daily. As well as creating excel spread sheets and completing all my daily, weekly, and monthly task. Definitely a lot of responsibility is given to this position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The "Sinking Ship" comment nailed it.
Licensed Clinician (Current Employee), MidwestSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: the clinical staff
Cons: micro-management, very top-heavy management, mis-management, pay cuts, staff cuts, with extravagant spending on unnecessary, "showy" things.
Let's get one thing straight right off the bat. YES, I have become a disgruntled employee--but I wasn't always. I've been doing this over twenty years and have always been in love with my job. That was until ATI bought my old company out. I have to believe all these glowing comments and reviews are from people who are in or near the Chicago area, where – more... the company started, and have been there since it was small, grounded, and had a handle on what it was doing.

Unfortunately, the company is buying up everything it can get it's hands on, and becoming too big, too fast. They're trying to manage every region like it's Chicago, and it's NOT. They don't understand, and refuse to try to understand, that in more rural areas, there are constant, seasonal, and very predictable fluctuations in patient numbers. Always. Every single year. So when summer comes and the patient load takes a dive, they start screaming about numbers and laying off staff. The earlier comment from "Sinking Ship" wasn't an exaggeration...there truly are daily phone calls and emails demanding to know why numbers drop, and where are our referrals--as if we clinicians (who, by the way, are earning their money for them) have any control over who gets injured and when.

Administratively the company is extremely top-heavy, and there's a huge layer of middle-management who, while being completely unnecessary and who are getting paid a lot of money to essentially do nothing, have to do something to keep their jobs, so they're the ones constantly hounding about the numbers, making all of their clinical directors and staff absolutely miserable in their jobs. They're paying all these people loads of money, remodeling all the new clinics to meet the ATI 'look' (which nobody but them cares about), replacing perfectly good equipment with brand-new equipment with the ATI logo on it....and all the while, cutting hours, cutting staff, cutting pay, and making people miserable.

The worst part? Patient care. The company will drone on and on and on about it's Mission Statement, but by being so greedy and micro-managing so horribly, they make it very, very difficult for the clinician to provide truly good patient care. And the patients KNOW it. I can't tell you how many negative comments we've heard in the last few months, and patients are leaving. Even with the predictable cycles, my own clinic has not picked up since school started back up again, like is has every year until this one. Why should it? There's a wonderful clinic two miles up the road that has all the bells and whistles (like us), a great staff (like us), and is a privately-owned 10-location outfit where the owners are totally in touch with what's going on in their clinics. Their clinics are adequately staffed by happy people content in their jobs and happy with their company. Oh, I could go on and on...

This company needs to take a lesson from Novacare. 15 years ago, Novacare was also buying up everything they could across the country, including the company I worked for at that time. They made all the same mistakes that ATI is making...micro-managing, cutting staff, cutting salaries, creating miserable employees and unhappy patients.. And guess what? They tanked. Patient care was a joke. Company stock took a huuuuuge nosedive. And they had to start closing clinics because as PTs and PTAs left, so did the patients. Neither company seems to understand that patients aren't coming to "Novacare" or "ATI"... they're coming to Mike, or Sue, or whoever's treating them. They don't care what the brand name is. It all starts with creating and maintaining the relationship between patient and clinician, but they make it sooo hard to that.

Bottom line is....well, the bottom line. Basically, they put on a good show of it all being about the patient, when the truth is, it's all about the numbers and the cash flow. It's sad, because they really do have the makings of a great company, but they've completely lost touch with how to make that happen and instead, things are on a rapid . decline in the other direction. I know dozens of people in many other newer ATI clinics. Know how many are actually happy? ONE. The rest of us are all looking for other opportunities. Frankly, I'm ready to get out of physical therapy altogether. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers
Front Office Coordinator (Current Employee), Langhorne, PAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: healthcare too expensive
ATI is a good place to work, its located close to home, coworkers are awesome, pay would be better if healthcare didn't cost so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional with laid-back atmosphere
Rehabilitation Technician (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 11, 2014
ATI's employees are caring and professional.

The typical work day consists of taking patients through their exercises and making sure they get a one-on-one experience.

I have learned a large amount of useful information when it comes to physical therapy and pain relief.

Dealing with the patients on a daily basis is the most enjoyable part of the – more... job. But when there is a large amount of patients in at once it is hard to give that one-on-one experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive workplace
Rehabilitation Technician (Current Employee), Thorndale, PAAugust 10, 2014
Cons: underpaid
my co-workers are great, but for the work that is required of me, I am underpaid. My counterparts in other companies are making significantly more per hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the best workplace
Rehab Technician (Former Employee), Lafayette, INAugust 4, 2014
Pros: amazing staff
Cons: not enough hours
Fun and friendly atmosphere. Learned a lot from my coworkers and patients. Excelled in problem solving and time management. General day would consist of me helping out the Physical Therapists, and the Therapist Assistants with general duties. My favorite part was having the opportunity to work with patients daily with their exercises, and watch them – more... progress through their therapy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Clinical Rehabilitation Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago,ILAugust 4, 2014
I was apart of an ATI take over, the year plus I spent working for ATI was very enjoyable. It was a very fast paced environment that always kept me thinking and on my toes. I definitely learned a lot while working for ATI, I am very thankful to them for all that I learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient organization
Front office coordinator (Current Employee), Newark, DEJuly 30, 2014
Fast paced environment requiring multi-tasking. Co-workers are always friendly and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very produvtive company
Front Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Lockport, ILJuly 16, 2014
My job as a front office coordinator was very pleasant at this company. I enjoyed being able to share my skills with others and watch them grow with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge company money is the bottom line unfortunately!
Certified Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: clinic staff and outreach schools are very appreciative of atc's presence.
Cons: constant pressure to push outreach athletes to the clinic to buffer numbers.
Worked there for over 7 years was a great place to wok before PRO PT merged with ATI. Everything changed, not this was all bad. Moving to digital filing was good but in the manner they did it was horrible. And the company as a whole went from a very patient focused to whatever they needed to make an extra buck. Weather it be cut all over time,with hold – more... raises for 2 years, cut staff,increase benefits premium cost to the employee while saving the company money. Constant pressure from managers(bestowed upon from the dictators in the midwest) to exceed goals from year to year,which isn't all bad but the goals that are set are usually unattainable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surrounded by great people and intelligent minds.
Student Physical Therapist (Former Employee), Bear, DEJune 2, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: decreased quality of patient care during high-volume times.
As a student physical therapist, I would take on approximately 1 patient every half-hour at the end of my clinical representing a full case load. My CI would take on Medicare patients if a Mediare patient appeared on our schedule. I was able to learn many manual techniques for the spine and extremities and applied basic science to treat individuals – more... with orthopedic conditions. The hardest part of my job was when the schedule picked up and there were more than 2 people seen within a half hour time slot. I was able to maintain professional relationships with my coworkers and enjoyed communicating with them as well as patients every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Front Desk Coordinator (Current Employee), Pasadena, MDMay 23, 2014
Pros: great co- workers
Cons: traveling
I love working with the physical therapists and athletic trainers. I don't partically feel appreciated in my workplace - management is always telling me what I have done incorrect instead of praising me for what I have done right - especially when I do the job of 2 people since I support 2 clinics daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company
Corporate Office (Current Employee), MidwestMay 9, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: can be high stress
ATI Physical Therapy is a great place to work! I love the atmosphere here. They often organize events for their employees to recognize their hard work, give ample opportunity for you grow professionally if you are willing to put in the work, and strive to be the best PT company in the world. I have a sense of pride knowing I am associated with such – more... a large company that sets itself to such a high standard. The company has rapidly grown in the time I have been with them, and due to that, at times workloads can be heavy. It fluctuates, but overall I wouldn't want to work anywhere else! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to work
Rehab Technician (Former Employee), Lafayette, INApril 21, 2014
Learned many things about Therapy, and general operations that go into a Physical Therapy clinic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
TRANSPORTATION COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILApril 14, 2014
• Administered the highest quality of customer service
• Organized team leader
• Responsible for coordinating the rides for all patient visits to clinics
• Supervised and motivated associates to excel in their performance
• Implemented the highest quality of door to door transportation
• Excellent care and compassion for patients
• Provided safe and – more... dependable transportation throughout Wisconsin – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBO Cantankerous work place
Patient Accounts Representative (Current Employee), Bolingbrook, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: team members get along w each other.
Cons: 30 minutes lunch break, no raises in 2 years, gossiping management. no flexibility for moms with kids.
Although i do believe that this very well could be one of the greatest place to work , it is NOT. The supervisors inspire fear and will eat away at your
self esteem. Instead of requesting they demand , manipulate and scheme in meetings with upper management. They don't develope individuals they eat away at their self esteem. I want to also go on the – more... record saying that I'm not a disgruntled employee. I've witness on more than one occasion where employee's has had a nervous breakdown or panic attacks.
DON'T DO IT!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, atmosphere, work environment
Lead Clinician (Current Employee), Waukesha, WIApril 8, 2014
I have worked for this company for almost nine years and have enjoyed meeting new patients and coworkers. Great opportunity for advancement through the company and advancement of skills through CEUs and residencies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once was a good company gone terrible..reason for all these bad reviews
Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), DE PAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: communication with pt staff, ability to transfer to another location
Cons: way too many performance reviews, contracts, salary, benefits, work/life balance
ATI started as an ok company during my time, i did notice from the start that the sports medicine dept was the least concern of the company...and the first to have salaries/contracts cut and lead to the resignation of some employees that were good athletic trainers. Management could care less about the quality of care as long as it doesnt negatively – more... reflect the company. As long as we were meeting our referral goals, we werent bothered, but if we didnt, we were questioned why...you know, because we control if kids suffer injuries. Our job description went from your normal ATC duties to "if they complain of any pain, refer them or deal with the consequences." Doctors feel like they are being harassed by the company and as a result some tend to refer less because of it. If you are a PA ATC, then your summers consist of pointless clinic hours if you are a 12 month contract... if youre a 10 month contract, then youre hoping that you find enough work to support yourself or family...many of us took part time gigs at normal everyday places which is completely degrading considering were healthcare professionals. My advice to sports medicine professionals, look else where before signing your soul to a physical therapy company.. I havent spoke to an ATC yet that has been satisfied with their position at one, especially with ATI, and it hurts me to say that about a company that is so involved with their communities and who employ top notch PTs, many of whom have become great friends of mine... – less

1 2 3