Find companies:
ATK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

ATK Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety come first
production support (Former Employee), Independence, MODecember 11, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: breaks
I learn a lot at ATK. First it was rewarding experience and knowing that we sending the best ammunition to our Military Troops. Co-workers was like family. We laugh and cry but most of all we help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of good workers
Maintenance Electrician Electronics Tech (Current Employee), Independence, MONovember 12, 2014
Pros: the people i work with
Cons: managment uncertainty
The pay was good and I was provided paid schooling in my career field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice quite workplace
WAREHOUSE/SHIPPER/HANDLING MATERIALS (Former Employee), Meridian, IDOctober 22, 2014
I like this company, I'd learned alot working to this company,its a great experience. My supervisors are amazing and we have very kind manager. What I enjoyed the most at this company is during December, they give you lot's of goodies i meant they give you gifts and every year they give you nice flowers for appreciation for doing such a great job. It's – more... just such a good workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging-got the opportunity to develop in many areas
Program Manager III (Current Employee), Magna UtahOctober 6, 2014
Pros: challenging
Cons: leadership of management
Allowed me to grow in many areas of my career.
Challenging and fast pasted.
Working multiple programs and proposals with various unique customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work envirinment
INTERNATIONAL SENIOR SOURCING MANAGER (Former Employee), Anoka, MNSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: great benefits
ATK is a great place to work. They are a very large company with many divisions-brands.
They have great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NDT, Quality, Radiation Safety
Non Destructive Testing Engineer (Current Employee), WVSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: little chance for advancement
NDT/Quality/Process Engineer/Deputy Radiation Safety Officer for defense production. Eddy Current Level 2 Certified. Radiography Level 1 Certified. Responsible for all eddy current systems for ABL Plant. Overseeing Radiation Safety Program for X-ray generators and radioactive material. Responsible for all Radiation Safety Training. Assistant Engineer – more... for Chemical Production. Chairman of Radiation Safety Committee. Currently training in Radiography, Magnetic Particle, Dye Penetrant Non-Destructive testing methods. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Composite Technician (Current Employee), Clearfield, UTSeptember 13, 2014
Great work schedule hardest part for me is standing for 12 hours. If you like doing the same work every day then it is for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
packer (Former Employee), Independence, MOSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: healthcare, union
Cons: ternniated people to save cost
good pay ,good health, close to home , hard working people how to make ammo .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, tons of new experiences
Manufacture technician (Former Employee), lewiston, idAugust 10, 2014
on drop line, assemblies of primers, packing and shipping. reloading all caliber bullets, lead cast, copper coating
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independence
Electrician A (Current Employee), IndependenceAugust 10, 2014
Cons: inexperienced engineering and poor management (management by intimidation)
Hired in as a PLC tech Have not even seen a program for PLC,s yet that was a year ago. Management so far disconnected they have no clue nor appear to care . If you hire on with this company forget about seeing your family. 12 hour days with mandatory overtime. old out dated technology. Machines from 1940 that they have tried to retro fit with very little – more... success. Engineering team with no skills and over worked. I would suggest to keep looking as there is no future here. I would like to see people get hired. They do need people as they are understaffed. and thats the way they like to run. But I hate to see people taken advantage of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iwas encouraged to develop many skill levels
Engineering Technician 8 (Former Employee), Brigham City, UTJuly 28, 2014
Pros: excellant benits and good advancement opportunities.
Cons: the driving distance was very far.
T his was a very unique place to work. It was exciting to work for a company that made solid rocket motors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment
Lead Warehouse Operator (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 30, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: healthcare
Good place to work ...I learned about organizing. Managment is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ATK
Inspector/ Packer (Current Employee), Independence, MOJune 29, 2014
Poor Management, they put so many jobs on you that youcan hardly keep up. Get lay off notice only to find out there keeping us. Do not recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High security work place
Production Technician (Current Employee), Clearfield, UTJune 24, 2014
Cons: temperary position.
I was hired on as a temporary employee, they said they would hire me full time after a month. It has been three months since I started and I am still a temp. The management has a hard time communicating with production so I have had hardly any work to do for the past few weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at ATK
Electrical Engineer I (Former Employee), WVJune 16, 2014
A typical day at work was using Microsoft Word for generating documents, spreadsheets, using p-spice for drawing circuits, going into the lab and machine shop to build prototypes. The hardest part of the job was having to travel and do overtime. Most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible place to spend your life, just like shawshank prison
non-exempt hourly labor support (Former Employee), Independence, moJune 13, 2014
Pros: fair wages and benefits
Cons: horrible management and working conditions
Hot in the summer, drafty sometimes in the winter. alot of co-workers are fun to work with and do a great job. management is non-existant, except maybe if they are out to get someone, they really are not sincere about safety or the welfare of their employees. typical corporate mentality, hire and forget about you and then fire you.the most enjoyable – more... part of the job is going home from this place. there is still the good old boy system, I hope the union straightens management out for the sake of their employees. the policies there are whatever they feel like doing at the moment and changes without notifying employees. the hand book they give you is about worthless.the pay and benefits still are not bad. I know its a factory but the locker rooms and cafeterias are nasty. birds fly around in some of the cafeterias.A handful of the managers constantly want their buttocks kissed, well lets not go there, you know where I am going with that, you always run into a few. Not as many opportunities as there used to be. The place has really went downhill since about 2010. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and advancement opportunities.
Technician C (Former Employee), Independence, MOApril 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: constant negativity
This is a very good paying job with great benefits but the negativity and low morale made for really long days and an overall terrible work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Credit Supervisor (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSApril 18, 2014
Arrive at 7am. Leave at 6pm. Great place to work. Enjoy co-workers and management. Great team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working at ATK
CNC Machinist (Former Employee), Clearfield, UTApril 3, 2014
Pros: pretty good pay and benefits
Cons: politics
I enjoyed working at ATK. The project i was able to be involved in was nice and changeling. I would like to work where there is more challenge and more opportunity for advancement. Basically on a day to day duties i would load 500 pound tooling and precisely position them to run the preset program set to cut the desired part. Also there was alot of – more... cleaning and upkeep of the machines. I was also in charge of all manual moves that any other machinist wanted to do. Basically i was there for insurance of the machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work on cutting edge technology.
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee), Brigham City, UTMarch 13, 2014
Pros: technical challenge of projects.
Cons: workforce instability
A typical day at work entailed multi-tasking many projects, many of which were quite interesting from a technical standpoint.

The management became quite large due to the massive reduction in force. Many in the engineering field were very talented and capable. Other fields seemed to be quite reasonable folks.

Overall, my coworkers were great and they – more... were the most difficult in leaving.

The hardest part of my job was the program schedule, which was optimistic at best.

The most enjoyable was the sense of accomplishment with each rocket motor test! – less

1 2 3 4

About ATK

Space is not the final frontier for Alliant Techsystems (ATK), as long as its aerospace/defense offerings are paving new paths. – Read more