Find companies:
Atkins
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

Atkins Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Program Assistant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 27, 2014
Las Vegas, NV

Grew professionally. Great staff, Excellent experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atkins
Instrument Technician (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CASeptember 30, 2014
While working at Atkins I was able to better my experience with Instrumentation, PLC's and the entire oil production process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to learn consulting
Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: good benefit. various type of works. good cultures
Cons: too much work and supervisor are sort of bossy
one of the best consulting company.
colleges are very friendly.
works are so sophisticated but fun.

However some times work load is too high to balance with life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
ITS Field Inspector (Former Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 27, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Great place to work for and average day includes driving to the
jobsite and following up with the contractor about there everyday
operation.
I learned to have excellent communication with the everyone.
I never on occasion worked with my co-workers cause we have
different task.
The hardest part of my job is not knowing the next move after completing a project.
I enjoyed getting to know all sorts of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office, nice people
Exec Asst/Office Admin Asst (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 21, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: always worried about getting billable work.
Quiet office with nice people. Started as an executive assistant to Sr. VP but ended up being the receptionist as the office continued to have lay-offs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 15, 2014
Pros: opportunities in large transportation and infrastructure projects.
Cons: serious instability.
Echo other comments about management in Central Texas, particularly in NEPA/planning area. Some excellent individuals, but attrition through layoffs and defections is gutting capabilities while leaving little or no institutional memory of former quality controls. Mid-level management seems to make decisions based on personal grudges more than long-term vision, leaving an extremely unsettled group. Applicants would do well to stay clear until company has decided on a long term vision, after multiple re-orgs in a very short period of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
SR. PROGRAM ASSSISTANT III (Current Employee), Henderson, NVFebruary 24, 2014
Enjoyed the option to choose my work hours; Management is easy to work with, co-workers are friendly, HR is knowledgeable and helpful, great location
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're just a number, getting too corporate
Environmental Project Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 14, 2014
Cons: no loyalty, layoffs
There is NO job security in this company unless you are highly billable. There is no heart or loyalty from the company, you are just a number. They have been laying people off that have been with company (or company they acquired) forever. It's just sad.

Work /life balance is ok as long as you made your numbers you can have some flexibility. They about average to below average and getting annual raises is tough. Even though I had a superior annual review I got the same pitiful raise as everyone else.

They are a huge international firm so you can get some international experience unless you work in the Atkins North America division, then you're stuck.

I also worked with a bunch of duds in my group that I could never get to go do anything fun outside of work so that didn't help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Building Maintenance (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 12, 2014
For the last several years I have worked part time (full time before that). I enjoyed working with my co-workers. I would move and rearrange offices (furniture), repair furniture, Make appointments for vehicle fleet to be repaired. Every afternoon I would spend the last few hours in the mail room dealing with incoming and outgoing mail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend
Project Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 9, 2014
Originally PBS&J, was bought out by Atkins. New management is much worse, do not see any future with this company. Upper management making many decisions in a vacuum without consulting middle-managers. Many long-standing (20+ years) employees are being laid off. Clients are pulling out of Atkins as a result. Things are going to get much worse before they get better.

I do not recommend anyone applying for a job here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Senior Design Engineer (Current Employee), Kirkland, WAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: people
Good company with a future projects. Planning to grow to the industry,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Machinist (Former Employee), HinkleyJanuary 28, 2014
Cons: everything
a typical day would be standing at a machine
i learnt how to load a machine with tights
the management was poor
I worked on my own and had no co-workers
the hardest part of the job was turning up
the most enjoyable part of the job was nothing; it was boring and mundane
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Liberty IslandNovember 4, 2013
Working with Atkins was a great experience, I learned a lot. Managment was very easy to communicate with, a typical day at work was scanning the grounds and determining the work scope, the most enjoyable part of the job was learning new areas and details of the construction field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 24, 2013
Pros: very flexible schedules
The overall management seems to care about it's employees, and the co-workers are great. I would love to be re-hired here, and am constantly trying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Consultant Firm - Aviation
Senior Program Assistant (Former Employee), Florence, KYJune 4, 2013
Atkins - Florence, KY office was a small office of six people consisting of three project managers, two CAD operators and one admin assistant. It was a very quiet office, but could get a little hectic when trying to meet deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 5, 2013
A typical day at work involved design, drafting, coordinating documents from engineers. Coordination meetings, site visits. I love what I do and find it all enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atkins
Project Engineer (Current Employee), austin, txMarch 3, 2013
PBSJ was bought out in 2011 and changed the dynamics of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with initiative to learn
Architectural Technician / BIM Designer (Current Employee), Colchester, ENGJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: relaxed environment
Cons: less benefits
BIM Coordination
good relation overall with colleagues.
hardest part of the job is manage CAD workload
Most enjoyable is clash detection in Revit and BIM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Production worker (Former Employee), Nobleville INOctober 11, 2012
Pros: hour lunch and 20min breaks
Cons: had no advancement.
I worked with a very good production Manager and co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A talented and innovative group
Business Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 12, 2012
Pros: good benefits
This design and engineering company is comprised of a diversified and talented group.

About Atkins

Atkins is one of the world's leading engineering, design and project management consultancies. We have the breadth and depth of – Read more