Find companies:
Atlanta Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
89 reviews

Atlanta Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Fifth Grade Teacher (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: opportunities
Cons: far from residence
Started as a Substitute Teacher and became certified at the request of the principal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atlanta Public Schools
Teacher (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 24, 2014
I have learned to continuously search for new educational experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Teacher (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: salary, vacation
Cons: bullying, and threats by administration
If you are applying for a teaching position please heed my warning; avoid the south region!!!! There is still a lot of bullying going on in this region. The principals lie and threaten teachers to make them feel as if they will lose their jobs. They lie and tell teachers that people are going to come from the department of education and observe them – more... when in actuality the people from the department of education who come in teacher's classrooms are observing the principal's ability to assess teacher performance. The south region is racist towards Caucasian employees. The administration is very unprofessional. If you disagree with anything they do and voice your opinion the principal will punish you by transferring you to another school in the south region that is worst than your current schools. The school where I am employed treats teachers horribly. A lot of times they cancel lunch and specials and teachers do not have any lunch or restroom breaks. The assistant principal will announce "pack your lunches tomorrow." One time they canceled specials and lunch for 3 days in the same week! This is not in compliance with the policies. My school also has no discipline. Field day was a circus. The hallway was crowded and kids did their field day activities in the hallway. It was no order at all. The salary is good but it is not worth losing your peace of mind. If you work in a good school system do not leave because the pay is better in APS. Be smart; research the school where you are going. Do not leave a good school system that pays less to come to APS; you will regret it. Apply for the north region or do not join this circus. The principal at my school is VERY lazy and delegates most of her duties and responsibilities to the "leadership team" while she collects the principal's salary. I really hope that this new superintendent brings positive change. The administrative assistant is THE WORST she disrespects teachers over the intercom all the time. You may be in the middle of teaching and she will chime in and tell you that you forgot to do something in your grade book. If she runs the report cards off wrong she will put you through a lot to correct her mistakes; the administrators let her do it. I could go on forever about the foolishness I've endured, but I'll stop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is recovering.
Information Systems Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 30, 2014
The negative press has hurt recruiting for the district. There is still work to do for the children of Atlanta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being in this place everyday made me happy because I was making a change in someone elses life, the kids.
Parent Liazon (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 13, 2014
Pros: free lunch and school supplies
Cons: no, breaks
Planning the trips and taking the role of a leader makes life that much more special.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees
Accounts Payable /Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 8, 2014
Pros: training on kronos
This was a very busy position for the being to the end. Twenty percent of the day processing payroll, and the other half of the day entering invoices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!!!
Bus Operator (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 5, 2014
Pros: summer off
Cons: unstability
Very unproessional and unstable working place. There is absolutely no support from managemnt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
APS
Accountant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 2, 2014
Too political. Look elsewhere. They treat their employees horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security with the schools are a plus . I want to see all children safe to include my own .
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 22, 2014
Pros: having a great staff
Cons: not enough activities for alternative students.
my typical work day can be stressful. But with the help of my teachers, staff and students corporation, it can be a rewarding day for us all. my Principal calls his school his ministry . I like that ! To hear that he takes these students Education so seriously makes me want to be apart of this work team of Leaders. The hardest part of my day at my job – more... is leaving the students to let them go back out into the world of so many uncaring people. I often pray to see each one make it back to school safely everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
social worker
social worker (Former Employee), atlanta, gaMay 20, 2014
Pros: work with several different schools
Cons: contract ended
Provided social work services for Atlanta Public School. Served a advocate for the Latino population.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with APS is an experience when there'[s children involved. It's fun and exciting except when cars don't want to stop to let the kids cross st
Securtiy/ Crossing Guard (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 15, 2014
Safety first always. You know the children and their parents to all aspects of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, Inconsistent, hostile working environment
Administrative Clerk - HVAC Services (Current Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaApril 14, 2014
Pros: previous experience in
Cons: unlawful and unprofessional management practices, inconsistent or non-existent instruction, unrealistic goals, suppressive and hostile work environment, lack of clear communication, lack of integrity, dishonesty, lack of proper compensation for job
Initially working here, you were provided the opportunity to learn beyond your title. Proper training was provided, growth opportunities and a sense of pride in a willingness to achieve goals was present.

Unfortunately, with the unlawful and unprofessional management practices being enforced daily on employees, blatant deceitfulness and dishonesty – more... from management involving sitatuations that could cause harm to otherws as well as lawful reprecussions, constant threat of disciplanary actions for any and all minor infractions, and not having the opporutnity to utlize the knowledge and skills I obtained previously from my experience outside companies and from other departments in the organization, time has stopped here why the rest of the world continues to evolve.

The hardest part of this job now is enduring constant ridicule, micro management practices, inconsistent, unorganized and unrealistic goals, while keeping a positive demeanor and still providing the best service I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with an exercise room
Accounts Payable Associate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 8, 2014
Pros: i enjoy interacting with the people i work with
Cons: we only get an hour for lunch
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting deadlines. The hardest part of the job is working with people from another department who is not trying to assist you with getting the job done.
It builds moral when you have management support. I especially like when I learn something new. A typical day at work is fast paced, fun and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great experince i my life.
Substitute Teacher (K-12) to regual teacher. (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: be thankful for good outer life stages
Cons: stand on your word and this make a great one.
Taugth how deal with non-professional and professional level. I learn how to deal with myself and others in the work on a job. Life can do thinga to you that you can not ask for the is deal with understanding common sense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work and play can go together as long as you put work first.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 22, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
i have always been a team player at work and off job. i love to exercising with co-workers (walking)keeping fit the worse part of job:.when others don,t won,t to be a team player it,s hard, the . enjoyable part is having a game of table tennis with co-worker at lunch.during the years i have learn how to manage myself(personality)a typical day at work – more... is doing my job thats assign for me to do – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data base Adminstrator and Auditor
Senior Auditor and Database Administrator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 21, 2014
I helped increase productivity in the Budget department providing an increase in efficiency with Hyperion in information to 200 entities. I decreased report preparation from 1 week to 1 day. I acted as a liaison with Sox 404 Auditors and the Atlanta Public School System. This system is one of the largest in the country. I was the Lead Auditor for the – more... audit of the purchase card used by the system. I provide all the training, performed the walk-through, did the sampling, determined the risks and control associated with the Information System and prepared the final audit report. I was in charge of Accounts Payable. I ran the checks and performed the reconciliation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace ok, people I worked with, we had a great rapport.
Educator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 20, 2014
The district was fine to work for however, the school site was more relevant to me. I enjoyed the people I worked with and for although I feel that we had so much to do that it bled into my home/personal life. With children of my own, it was difficult to try and put my students first, when I have children at home that also need my attention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atlanta Public Schools Paraprofessional
Interrelated Paraprofessional Instructor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: great work atmosphere, salary during off season
I enjoy working as a paraprofessional for Atlanta Public Schools. It is a great way to learn how to manage a classroom and become an effective educator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for
Contract Administrator/Paralegal (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 4, 2014
Great laid back environment. Worked there for 5 years. Work at your own pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership Is Terrible
INSTRUCTIONAL TECHNOLOGY SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 3, 2014
Could be much better if leadership was better. Salary pays well, but so much more comes along with it.

1 2 3 4 5

About Atlanta Public Schools

Atlanta Public Schools is one of the top-performing urban school systems in America. When students pass through our doors and – Read more