Find companies:
Atria Senior Living Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

Atria Senior Living Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate environment run by people without a conscience
Sales Director (Former Employee), California, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: loved the residents; free meal
Cons: bad bad energy in management...stay away
The Regionals are basically without conscience. They roll their eyes, talk behind your back and don't support you when you need them. They pretend to welcome you to the team and rather than develop you they threaten you and fire you. There is a very high turn over and it's a big game. Unfortunately, the old people suffer because I'm sure they'd like – more... to see a solid team. There are Atria communities that advertise for months to get a Sales Director and/or ED after firing the ones in place. They have absolutely no value for good, hard working people. They blame the Sales Director for low move-ins, when their prices are easily $1000/month higher than the competition. It's a company full of cocky men (and some women) in Kentucky. It's pretty disgusting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice facility
Medication Tech (Current Employee), Grapevine, TXApril 5, 2014
fast paced, easy to get along with people, easy to learn system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Receptionist and Resident Services Assistant (Current Employee), Lakewood, COMarch 24, 2014
Pros: free meal, excellent benefits
Cons: pay scale could be better
I enjoy working for Atria very much. The staff is wonderful and the residents are great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Community Business Director (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits, 401k.
Cons: management turn overs.
A typical day - most important - who was coming to tours, getting their name and time so I could great them by name.

Motivating and put smiles on employees faces during stand-up.

We worked as a Team we took a building that was 65% full to 100% full, maintaing 3 years. With a Executive Director that stood behind his managers and allowed them to do – more... their job.

The hardest part of the Job was leaving for the day to go home.

The most enjoyable part is the interaction with Residents, Family Members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with residents, helping others.
WAITSTAF (Former Employee), Sandy, UTMarch 12, 2014
Pros: getting to know the residents
Cons: we had to wear ties
Set up tables & food. Took orders for residents (breakfast, lunch & dinner) Cleaned up, setup again go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIGHTMARE
Manager (Current Employee), USAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: sweet elderly folks
Cons: everything. the pay is below average, they claim great benefits, bonus plan, etc but you won't see a dime. long hours, a lot of headaches
This company is a sales driven company and only cares about money. They have a sales director but all managers are expected to do sales without compensation and are expected to drop what they are doing and do sales at any given time. Then expect you to stay until 9pm to do the job you were actually hired for. Job description that you sign? What a joke! – more... You never know what you are in for when the day starts. The corporate people swoop in and say they are there to support you, the only thing they support is a lifetime supply of Tylenol! They nit pik, demand you fix issues that have been in place for YEARS prior to your employment, and when all else fails, walk you out. You want to resign? Forget it. The minute you resign they find a reason to fire you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst
caregiver (Former Employee), lakewood, co (former morningstar)March 2, 2014
Cons: everything
Caregivers are paid $10hr to do the LPNs' job, work short-handed, and get beaten-up by out-of-control demented residents. Managers are armed with not more than associate degrees. They lecture caregivers on how to appriately handle out-of-control residents yet dont know what the hell they're doing once they are forced to work the floor for a few measely – more... hours. Their advice sounds good in theory; however, all residents are not the same and shouldnt be treated as such. When 3 caregivers are physically injured by one violent resident within a less-than-two-week time frame... It should really make u think about what type of control the nursing staff have over these residents. Also, how little respect they have for the safety of their staff. You cant depend on management for support when needed. During a recent elopement, it took approx 4 calls and 45mins later for someone to arrive onsite to help control this violent resident (who assaulted other residents as well as staff during the tirade). This place is sorry. Families are billed for motion sensors that only work 20% of the time. Usually pages are so delayed (if working at all) that falls become a regular occurence at this place. Furniture is filthy. Rodents and ants seek shelter in one of the memory care units. Turnover is so high, it's become the "fast food" of work places. Especially when ED threatens staff write-ups if violent residents aren't tended to or if violent residents end up becoming physically violent (yes, caregivers) are written up). I can go on and on but i'll stop here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Driver/Tech (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Great work experience, working the with Senior population was very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the seniors living there.
Driver / Activities Assistant (Former Employee), Woodbridge, CAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the interaction with co-workers and seniors.
Cons: the wheather, it stopped traveling on day trips when it got bad.
Got to know the seniors living there. Took them places as their driver.
Also learned to play games with them, that was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the residents and families
Rather not say (Former Employee), Stratford, CTFebruary 11, 2014
Home office team has alot to be desired, the folks who oversee the operations of the buildings are "hillbillies". This mentally in an organization of this size needs to be overhauled then the reviews would lean more positive than negative. If someone in the home office doesn't like you, you are as good as gone so be careful!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere, Great Residents
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee), Barrington, RIFebruary 8, 2014
The building had a great vibe, very friendly people. Many activities throughout the day, I learned a lot working in the kitchen such as meal planning, menus, knife skills etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever
cna (Former Employee), annapolis, mdFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: nice residents
Cons: lazy upper management staff & upper nursing staff
No one cares about the seniors who pay so much money to live there. If staff is short no one will help the cnas who have a high ratio of caregiver/to client, and work. They cant keep staff & the pay is not great, because they charge u for taking a break! SO u barely get 80 hrs every 2 weeks. Will schedule u to work alone knowing its so many residents – more... ringing call bell & if u do not answer call bells (you get a nice write up), and all of the upper management are sitting in the offices like they dont know....undercover boss needs to go to this place! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Wait Staff (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch
From this job I have learned what it's like to work in an environment with the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Only Cares About Money, not Residents or Employees!
Sales (Former Employee), Cape Cod, MassachusettsJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: free meal, working with families
Cons: corporate micromanagement, feeling like a number not a person
I got out as soon as I could. This company only cares about the bottom line, corporate reps have no people skills and do not care enough about their employees to make any type of connection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so-so
Waitress (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PAJanuary 25, 2014
the work was great pay for a first time job, but expect to work a lot of hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Company to work for
Receptionist (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: work and family balance
Helping and Communicating with seniors from all walks of life, give a fulfilling feeling at the end of each shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior living facility
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: full autonomy with menu
Cons: poor quality of facility hampered better experience. poor on boarding process with regional "chef", very little support from executive director.
Managed a staff of 20 in senior living facility with 3 meal a day set dining room and clubhouse. Co-worker pool was under qualified, facility was run down and in need of repair. While in employment I was able to utilize the national rebate program through Sysco to accrue an increase of 12% to my monthly budget to bring a higher quality of dining choices – more... to the residents. Did monthly pizza parties and special functions with the staff and residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume of Interaction
Wait Staff (Current Employee), Great Neck, NYJanuary 8, 2014
A typical day at work consists of a high volume of interaction with the residents. The most enjoyable part of the job is definitely getting to know the residents personally- their stories of growing up, their most memorable moments, their likes and dislikes, and how they interact with other residents while living at the Senior Living Center. Management – more... and co-workers understand the importance of the resident's satisfaction and work hard to upkeep Atria's mission. The hardest part of the job may be learning that a resident has either moved out or has passed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly-based, a place residents call home.
Internship (Former Employee), Woodbridge, CADecember 12, 2013
Pros: good stories, entertainment/fun with the residents, free meals
Atria is a wonderful place to work and I admire all the workers there. They all taught me so much in the short period I was there. I learned how to work with residents, and be a fellow companion to each one of them. There is nothing more enjoyable then putting a smile on one's face. Every time I came in to Atria, and said a simple hi to the residents, – more... they smiled with joy in their eyes. I worked closely with the engaged life director, so I was always among the residents. Whether I was helping them with one of their daily activities, assisting them by any means, or sitting down and having a conversation with them--I enjoyed every moment spent with them. I would say the hardest part, is patience because you have to be very patient with them. Sometimes they wouldn't understand me, or listen, and that would get frustrating. However I have a strong patience, so it was manageable. I loved each and every single resident at Atria. I wish I could have done more, but in the time that I was there, I grew fond of the residents, and desire to help other seniors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable enviorment to work in.
Atria Westchase (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 7, 2013
Pros: no pressure from any of the management.
Cons: more employees working.
My opinion on Atria is a great company to work for. Good amount of benefits for their employees. Not to mention the customer service we as a group apply to our work enviorment keeping our residents happy is our first priority.

1 2 3 4 5

About Atria Senior Living Group

Atria Senior Living is breathing new life as a senior living management company. It was formed in 2011 as a spinoff of Atria Senior – Read more