Find companies:
Atria Senior Living Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
129 reviews

Atria Senior Living Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my clients.
Residential Service Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Wright, KYJuly 28, 2014
enjoyed working with my clients the other employee were great. Had misunderstanding with management. Lack of communication with supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for employees and residents
Coordinator/Supervisor (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 3, 2014
Pros: great food
Cons: relatively low compensation for the level of work expected
After working for Brookdale Senior Solutions, I transitioned to Atria Senior Living. I work at a beautiful campus in Charlotte, the atmosphere is homey and the staff is warm and inviting. A far cry from what I was used to.

My job is to supervise our Dining Room staff, we strive to run this Dining Room as a full service restauraunt and I think our management – more... here has attained that goal in the best way possible, with the limitations being taken into consideration.

Our residents are generally always happy and satisfied with the services being offered, and the staff is well trained to handle almost any situation. Often times upper management comes in to the Dining Room and communicates with residents and helps them get served. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think it is a great company - if you work hard, you will be rewarded
Community Sales Director (Current Employee), californiaJuly 1, 2014
Pros: great pay, good benefits, and of course - residents.
Cons: sometimes - long hours - working on days offf etc..
I have been a Sales Director for about a year, and think they are a fantastic company. Yes, they expect A LOT - but why wouldn't they? you are the one that is supposed to be in charge of filling the building, and they give you every resource possible to do that. They are supportive, they pay well, I personally have a fantastic team (mostly). I think – more... sometimes people (employees) expect TOO much. This company pays very well - and they expect you to work hard for that. And I do. So, so far, so good. I am happy with the way they operate. I would like to see them pay the frontline staff a bit more - caregivers mostly - b/c these are the ones that are taking care of mom and dad, and you want the best of the best in that position. Sales Directors do a lot of outside sales calls - talking with influencers to build referral based relationships. We also do sales plans, do tours (a lot) and are expected to close as many deals as possible - get as many move ins as possible per month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HAPPY HOUR WITH MUSICAL ENTERTAINMENT/snacks
COORDINATOR/ DIRECTOR ASSISTED LIVING (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: in case of emergency at times unable to have a break
I HAVED LEARNED A LOT IN THIS COMPANY SPECIALLY THE STATE REGULATIONS/AND IMPROVED MANAGEMENT SKILLS/THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB WAS IF IM SHORT STAFF CAUSED IT AFFECTS THE QUALITY OF CARE GIVEN TO OUR RESIDENTS/ THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF MY JOB IS WHEN ISEE THAT GOOD QUALITY OF CARE ARE GIVEN AND THE RESIDENTS ARE HAPPY AND SATISFIED WITH OUR DAILY – more... SERVICE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and pleasur work with that team
C.N.A (Former Employee), Rocky Hill, CTJune 22, 2014
Pros: free lunches
that was a realy god place to work! Fun and pleasure work with coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Cranford, NJMay 29, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: favoritism
Atria is a very friendly environment, from there residents to there employees. Diatry is the heart of atria without my co-workers the meals would not run smooth and the residents would not be pleased. The hardest part of my job is cleaning up after three meals in a single day, can be very stressful and tiring but the most enjoyable part of my job can – more... be the people without them the place would be very stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my work with my coworker and my residents.
wait staff (Current Employee), Hudson, FLMay 27, 2014
Pros: free lunch and dinner
Cons: healthcare
I learned to work with other people as a team work and working hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive network
Community Business Director (Current Employee), Fairhaven, MAMay 19, 2014
A great place to work! They offer great benefits and salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Certified Caregiver/CNA (Former Employee), Chandler, AZMay 5, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: short breaks
staff all gets along with one another and everyone works as a team helping on another when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut Throat Enviornment
Admin. Assistant (Current Employee), Atria Shaker, Albany NYApril 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: low pay even for the qualified workers!
If you do not kiss the behinds of management you wind up with a cut throat! I love my co-workers, I love the residents but management really sucks! They act like they are better than everyone else! My last day is on Friday and I am so glad to be going! I only gave a 2 week notice just to be eligible for rehire this way if I ever needed to get something – more... quick and temporary I would be able to, cuz thats the only thing Atria is good for, no good screening for the new hire process and low pay grades for line staff!!! Believe me I know, I do the payroll and there is so much unfairness in pay its sickening! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has a high focus on quality
Community Sales Director, Atria Senior Living (Former Employee), Tucson, AZApril 28, 2014
Typical day: review week up to the date weekly an monthly reports, following up on active prospects, contacting referral sources and touring prospective residents or their families,

Learned. Factors that motivate independent seniors to change their lifestyle.

Management. Largely controlled at the regional and corporate level..

Co-workers. Highly – more... qualified, and in touch with the core sales culture of the company.

Hardest. Telling a motivated prospect that the unit they most desired is not available, and then helping them to accept the next best option and move along with their decision.

Enjoyable. Being able to assist individuals to accept their readiness to make a transition and feel that they are making a good and safe decision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Wait Staff (Former Employee), Tucson, AZApril 15, 2014
Pros: fun, rich, exciting, historical.
Cons: under paying, slow, constrictive
Most of the time while working there, I was complimented on how pristine my attention to detail was, and how I serviced everyone with a smile. Working at a retirement home is indeed a different form of culture when you speak with the residents who have been around in years and can tell you some very intriguing stories, but what makes it even more satisfying – more... is becoming their friend to continue to make their life style a memorable experience every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate environment run by people without a conscience
Sales Director (Former Employee), California, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: loved the residents; free meal
Cons: bad bad energy in management...stay away
The Regionals are basically without conscience. They roll their eyes, talk behind your back and don't support you when you need them. They pretend to welcome you to the team and rather than develop you they threaten you and fire you. There is a very high turn over and it's a big game. Unfortunately, the old people suffer because I'm sure they'd like – more... to see a solid team. There are Atria communities that advertise for months to get a Sales Director and/or ED after firing the ones in place. They have absolutely no value for good, hard working people. They blame the Sales Director for low move-ins, when their prices are easily $1000/month higher than the competition. It's a company full of cocky men (and some women) in Kentucky. It's pretty disgusting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice facility
Medication Tech (Current Employee), Grapevine, TXApril 5, 2014
fast paced, easy to get along with people, easy to learn system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Receptionist and Resident Services Assistant (Current Employee), Lakewood, COMarch 24, 2014
Pros: free meal, excellent benefits
Cons: pay scale could be better
I enjoy working for Atria very much. The staff is wonderful and the residents are great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Community Business Director (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits, 401k.
Cons: management turn overs.
A typical day - most important - who was coming to tours, getting their name and time so I could great them by name.

Motivating and put smiles on employees faces during stand-up.

We worked as a Team we took a building that was 65% full to 100% full, maintaing 3 years. With a Executive Director that stood behind his managers and allowed them to do – more... their job.

The hardest part of the Job was leaving for the day to go home.

The most enjoyable part is the interaction with Residents, Family Members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with residents, helping others.
WAITSTAF (Former Employee), Sandy, UTMarch 12, 2014
Pros: getting to know the residents
Cons: we had to wear ties
Set up tables & food. Took orders for residents (breakfast, lunch & dinner) Cleaned up, setup again go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIGHTMARE
Manager (Current Employee), USAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: sweet elderly folks
Cons: everything. the pay is below average, they claim great benefits, bonus plan, etc but you won't see a dime. long hours, a lot of headaches
This company is a sales driven company and only cares about money. They have a sales director but all managers are expected to do sales without compensation and are expected to drop what they are doing and do sales at any given time. Then expect you to stay until 9pm to do the job you were actually hired for. Job description that you sign? What a joke! – more... You never know what you are in for when the day starts. The corporate people swoop in and say they are there to support you, the only thing they support is a lifetime supply of Tylenol! They nit pik, demand you fix issues that have been in place for YEARS prior to your employment, and when all else fails, walk you out. You want to resign? Forget it. The minute you resign they find a reason to fire you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst
caregiver (Former Employee), lakewood, co (former morningstar)March 2, 2014
Cons: everything
Caregivers are paid $10hr to do the LPNs' job, work short-handed, and get beaten-up by out-of-control demented residents. Managers are armed with not more than associate degrees. They lecture caregivers on how to appriately handle out-of-control residents yet dont know what the hell they're doing once they are forced to work the floor for a few measely – more... hours. Their advice sounds good in theory; however, all residents are not the same and shouldnt be treated as such. When 3 caregivers are physically injured by one violent resident within a less-than-two-week time frame... It should really make u think about what type of control the nursing staff have over these residents. Also, how little respect they have for the safety of their staff. You cant depend on management for support when needed. During a recent elopement, it took approx 4 calls and 45mins later for someone to arrive onsite to help control this violent resident (who assaulted other residents as well as staff during the tirade). This place is sorry. Families are billed for motion sensors that only work 20% of the time. Usually pages are so delayed (if working at all) that falls become a regular occurence at this place. Furniture is filthy. Rodents and ants seek shelter in one of the memory care units. Turnover is so high, it's become the "fast food" of work places. Especially when ED threatens staff write-ups if violent residents aren't tended to or if violent residents end up becoming physically violent (yes, caregivers) are written up). I can go on and on but i'll stop here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Driver/Tech (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Great work experience, working the with Senior population was very rewarding.

1 2 3 4 5

About Atria Senior Living Group

Atria Senior Living is breathing new life as a senior living management company. It was formed in 2011 as a spinoff of Atria Senior – Read more