Auburn University

128 reviews

Auburn University Employee Reviews

Found 127 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place with fun mechanical experiments to perform
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ross HallMay 22, 2012
It was a new and difference experience to instruct and teach 60 students in the course of statics and dynamics. I had to set their exams, grade the labs and take lectures when the professor is not available.
Pros
interaction with students
Cons
late night working
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding academic setting, great experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Auburn, ALJanuary 24, 2014
This was a great place to pursue a graduate degree, and the English Department was very helpful. The department provides its GTAs with invaluable training and experience for teaching or other jobs that require skills such as speaking, presenting, synthesis, planning, multi-tasking, time management, and interpersonal skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to find a better life-work balance!
Professor (Current Employee) –  Auburn, ALMay 8, 2015
Auburn affords a fantastic life-work balance for its faculty. In 15 years on the faculty, I've had the pleasure of working with world-class colleagues that I respect as professionals and truly enjoy as people.
Pros
Great small-town environment! Great faculty!
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The CHemica engineering Deaprtment is very close knit.
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Auburn, ALApril 5, 2013
The Chemical Eng Dept is just the right size with the faculty as well as the staff always willing to help students. They have always treated the students well and the phd stipends are competitive.
Pros
cost of living is decent
Cons
health insurance is expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Experience
Athletics Intern - Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALJanuary 6, 2016
My time at Auburn University working with the strength and conditioning coaching staff exposed me to a leadership skills, program design, team building activities, and proper assessment in handling any situation concerning training and exercise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work skills, Technical Knowledge, and Aquaculture knowledge.
Aquaculture Assistant-Seasonal Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Gulf Shores, ALJuly 3, 2014
Responsible for fixing and maintaining aerators, wiring pumps and motors. Repairing 110/220V electrical plugs, cords and outlets Record and enter data for nutrition experiments with fish and shrimp. Helped teach students how to operate and repair equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Times on the Plains
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALOctober 24, 2014
I enjoyed the opportunity to work at Auburn. Great working environment with potential to advance if willing to stay.
Pros
great living conditions and good k-12 schools
Cons
there is an opportunity to be persuaded to have too much fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy sports, you will love being part of this Auburn Family!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Auburn, ALAugust 23, 2012
Auburn University Athletics Department is the best example I can find where ONLY upper management and coaches matter.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
upper management is oblivious to the hard working employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working and educating environment for Graduate Student
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Auburn, ALApril 17, 2014
Great place to get your graduate degree from. Located in a small town in Alabama with friendly people. The graduate and teaching assistantship provided by University for Graduate Students is often enough and satisfactory.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did a research project on mosquitoes
Reasearch Assistant (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAOctober 28, 2013
I did a research project on mosquitos that I already documented in the part that said "articles". In addition I want to mention that we published an article in a trade journal put out by those who raised emus throughout the U.S.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about Auburn University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an excellent university.
School of Accountancy - Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALJuly 29, 2013
I worked at the university, and also went to school there. I had a job as the office assistant at the accounting department. It was a nice office where I helped students and staffs with daily affairs. I had a great time knowing the people at the department.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job to have
Men's Basketball Manager (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALJuly 23, 2015
It was a great job to have, but the coaching staff at the time was very self centered. The coaching staff had receive their first "big pay day" and it altered their ego.
Pros
free travel, food, and access to the university
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
project
Early Childhood Specialist (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALAugust 22, 2014
Teach and train other adults about the needs of children
maintain records and a over abundance of paper work
Very detailed job
Travel is required
Pros
the people and the children worked with
Cons
paper work, cut in travel pay too often
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALNovember 14, 2013
- Challenge to work with student database where things change rapidly
- University great place to work if you have family
- Most enjoyable part of my job was problem solving
- Developed analytical and problem solving skills along with IT basics
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady paced workplace.
Senior Network Administrator (Current Employee) –  College of Architecture, Desigh and ConstructionOctober 15, 2013
I oversee and maintain the Windows Active Directory infrastructure. DNS, DHCP, and all hardware.
I am in the initial stages of Hyper-V imaging.
Pros
fun during football season
Cons
lack of funding and pending layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good student job
Math and Economics Tutor, Professor Aditi Sengupta (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALAugust 22, 2013
• Tutored undergraduates in a Mathematical Economics course
• Created techniques to help students improve in optimization, linear algebra
• Facilitated deeper understanding of lecture material to help students grasp concepts
Pros
learned about economics
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student job
IT Technical support (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALJanuary 22, 2013
This was a great job for students. It only paid min wage. But they worked around all class time and make sure you have all time you need to devote to your classes and studying
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auburn Extension Summary Review
Assistant to Area Agent (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALApril 17, 2012
This was a small office environment where I learned a lot about the extension programs and the support they provided to the local community. Coworkers and management was great to work with on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing College Town
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Auburn, ALJune 25, 2015
Auburn is a really nice town with a lot of nice people. It doesn't take long for anyone to fall in love with the place. Auburn University is a great place to work because of wonderful people and the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research group
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Auburn, ALMarch 10, 2015
Good research group. My professor creates an environment where the student can put his point of view for the research.
Best part of this research group is you get outdoors in the name of field trips
Pros
grad student life
Cons
grad student life
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 128 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture