Find companies:
Auburn University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
87 reviews

Auburn University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with friendly staff.
Head Student Assistant (supervisor) (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALDecember 27, 2012
As supervisor, I typically sat at a desk for a couple hours a day checking the progress of our different programs (team registration, surveys, etc.) and answering any questions about Intramurals. I was in charge of the staff as far as discipline, scheduling, marketing, and programming. Outside the office I was either setting up for events or being an – more... official. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Auburn, ALDecember 16, 2012
Work varies by professor. I enjoyed my time at Auburn University very much and learned a tremendous amount.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with chidren
Educator (Former Employee), Clanton, ALDecember 7, 2012
Pros: could come and go as needed without question. time was flexible.
Cons: none that i can think of at this time.
My job with Auburn allowed me to work and encourage kids. I really loved my job. The other teachers were great people to work with!!
My Extension co-workers were more than co-workers but my family as well. There was never "back biting" or negativity in our office.
The hardest part of my job was having to leave when I moved back home to Greenville, AL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for the magazine
Editorial Assistant (Former Employee), Auburn, ALOctober 29, 2012
I loved working for the university. I worked part time as an editorial assistant for the alumni magazine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure, Flexible student job
OIT Helpdesk Consultant - Part-time (Former Employee), Auburn, ALSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: challenging work, flexible schedule, excellent pay (for a student hourly worker)
Cons: very low accountability, zero incentive structure, poor management.
On campus Student/Faculty IT support is the ideal student job. The work takes skill, and the student employees are better compensated the more experience they gain (regular raises). The job is very flexible, adjusting easily with the somewhat unpredictable college schedule. Job security is top notch. This does, however, lead to decreased accountability – more... across the board. The full time employees are not very reliable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temple of knowledge
Picoblaze controlled display system (2011) (Former Employee), Auburn, ALAugust 29, 2012
The time i spent at Auburn University was the best time of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and Innovative senior design project
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering (Former Employee), Auburn, ALAugust 28, 2012
Excellent team work and gained leadership skills.
Hardest time was to come on a idea to propose the project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy sports, you will love being part of this Auburn Family!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Auburn, ALAugust 23, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: upper management is oblivious to the hard working employees.
Auburn University Athletics Department is the best example I can find where ONLY upper management and coaches matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional experience
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Auburn, ALAugust 22, 2012
I experienced a professional environment in my group.
1. Maintaining fixed timings for work.
2. Regular group meetings.
3. Presentations in the group meeting.

I have learnt new software, new concepts, how to over come errors while designing, how can one justify the designs etc.

The hardest part of the job is to execute the design with no errors and – more... still getting the wrong results and the most enjoying part is to find out the mistake in the design. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
TES Administrative Support (Former Employee), Auburn, ALAugust 21, 2012
Pros: relax atmosphere
Cons: parking was difficult on the campus most days
I worked a 40 hour work week. I worked in the department of ACES. I created spreadsheets, excel worksheets and corresponding emails to extend knowledge to coworkers from their meetings of gathered data and surveys held throughout surrounding counties on Prostate Awareness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment.
Student Organization Social Chair (Former Employee), Auburn, ALJuly 5, 2012
Great people to work with. Learned how to manage a group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Auburn, ALJune 11, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: healthcare
It is a good univeristy to work at.
Friendly working environment and good physical environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student Assistant
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Auburn, ALMay 23, 2012
Pros: good support, great learning experience
Cons: balancing teaching with studies, no benefits
The only way to get this job is to be a grad student who qualifies for a stipend. I taught 3 classes a week (on Friday). I prepared lectures and tests. It's a great way to develop public speaking abilities and to further your knowledge on the subject. However combining this workload with your graduate studies can be a pain sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place with fun mechanical experiments to perform
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ross HallMay 22, 2012
Pros: interaction with students
Cons: late night working
It was a new and difference experience to instruct and teach 60 students in the course of statics and dynamics. I had to set their exams, grade the labs and take lectures when the professor is not available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and good place to work and study
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Auburn,alMay 18, 2012
Its a very good university fir research and work. I learned a lot in field of environmental sciences especially soil while at the university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Civil Engineering DepartmentMay 10, 2012
Pros: great time schedule, very flexible to student needs.
Great start for an experience builder for any engineer. Created samples for an asphalt laboratory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working nonstop but the customers and co-workers made it worthwhile.
Cashier (Former Employee), Auburn, ALMay 10, 2012
Pros: improves working skills
Cons: long hours
Each day we came 4 hours before a game would start to prepare for the customers. First, we did inventory to know what we had to begin with. Then we cleaned the whole consession stand. Next, we began to prepare the food, put up displays and organize everything. Soon the rush of customers will start coming, helping with directions, taking orders and working – more... nonstop.
This lasted until 11:30pm. The manager made sure we were always working. My co-workers were always on the job. During my time there, I learned how to work at a fast pace, make hard decisons, learn how to take 3 to 4 different answers accuratey at once. And smile at every customer. The hardest part about the job was you were on your feet for 12 hours and more. But the most enjoyable part was the people I worked with. And the customers that made work fun and the time pass by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible institution to work for and with great opportunities for advancement
Special Projects Coordinator (Current Employee), Auburn, ALMay 8, 2012
I learned more on the job than any classroom could ever teach me about day-to-day operations of a nonprofit and business, event planning, outreach programming, program development and stewardship.

The most rewarding part of my job was knowing that my work was laying the foundation of philanthropy at Auburn University for years to come by improving – more... the quality of life in Auburn and abroad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auburn Extension Summary Review
Assistant to Area Agent (Former Employee), Selma, ALApril 17, 2012
This was a small office environment where I learned a lot about the extension programs and the support they provided to the local community. Coworkers and management was great to work with on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Accountant (Current Employee), Auburn, ALApril 15, 2012
Learned a lot about accounting working for the different food establishments on campus.

About Auburn University

Auburn University (AU or Auburn) is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States. With more than 25,000 students – Read more

Auburn University Photos