Austin Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Strong loyalty
Vice-President of People (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 18, 2017
Austin is 100 years old and is 100% employee owned. This creates a tremendous amount of loyalty to the organization. I would recommend this organization to an individual interested in pursuing a long career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Site Safety Supervisor
Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  TexasAugust 30, 2017
Designed, developed, and implemented audit system that highlighted positive observations and at-risk findings for management to use as tools to identify trending occupational and /or behavioral trends.
Researched audit data to find patterns within specific work groups and communicated information as such to implement retraining of personnel and engaged appropriate levels of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Historic Company with Pride in its Accomplishments
Benefits and Compensation Analyst (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 28, 2017
Austin has a lot to be proud of. It's been around for nearly 100 years and has adapted to meet the ever changing business climate.

The company being 100% employee-owned is by far its biggest asset.
Pros
Esop
Cons
Poor work-life balance, higher than typical insurance for salaried EEs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lubrizol Deer park
Journeyman electrician (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXJune 25, 2017
A great plant to work at with great people to show you what need to be done. Working with plant Technicians,electricians and Operations that work down the job with you.
Pros
Break times
Cons
In a rush with Austin supervison
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place environment.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXJune 20, 2017
Productive work place environment, great team work. Great supervisors and management easy to get along with. Great team work workplace, good safety culture workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active fast pace working
Roustabout (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 17, 2017
It was a great experience i love the enviroment and dont mind the hours.always on a fast pace great pay and exceptional staff.i wouldnt mind finding something similar
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people rough company
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Borger, TXMay 3, 2017
Everyone i have worked with have been great whether it is supervision or co-workers but as a hole just bad benefits. Austin will help you build a career and learn a lot of different crafts so all in all i give them a 7 out of 10
Pros
competitive pay, move up quick with hard work
Cons
terrible benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & serious work place no games or joking allowed
Painter (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCApril 26, 2017
Good job , had great learning experience so I could paint. It was a good start for my first job every. I liked it a lot I made money & paid bills
Pros
Once a month had bojangles lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Austin industrial @ lanxess
Finishing Technician (Current Employee) –  Orange, TXFebruary 28, 2017
A typical day at work is pretty laid back long as you get the job done! I learned a lot far as hydroblasting and driving forklifts! Management is pretty good, most managers know how to make a plan and make our job safe and easier if possible! The hardest part of the job is probably digging trenches all day trying to get dry rubber out!
But if you work as a team it can happen! I love everything about my job except for the pay! I have a family too feed and have a lot of future goals to succeed in!
Pros
Management are pretty good!
Cons
The pay is not that good!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Borger, TXFebruary 10, 2017
Good company to work with. Very job secured and balanced. Good safe and friendly environment and very understanding. they will take the time to teach you and answer you questions with care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXJanuary 25, 2017
Very good company to work for good benefits. They had there business in order. Austin vauled the workers if you needed something they make sure you get it. Very good communication skills between the co-workers and formen. Good place to work for made me fill good to come to work. This company also went off la person experience and how you conduct your work as of someone saying they have a nccer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun,
Scaffold Builder Helper (Former Employee) –  Ponca City, OKJanuary 19, 2017
I enjoyed working at Austin due to the fact that a lot of my family was working so it made everything easier but harder when it came to work
Pros
Work hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintenance electrician
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJanuary 3, 2017
great place to work,great people,work projects carefully thought out ,saftey a big factor,a good work atmospherenot pushed to the point of making a mistake and getting someone hurt
Pros
treated with respect which is rare these days
Cons
none so far
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Safe
Rail Car Technician (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXDecember 18, 2016
Working for Austin has been an uplifting experience it is a great company if your looking to get your foot in the door into an industrail careers. Austin offers a school program focused on you learning a trade and is a great way to practice what you learn to ever grow your knowledge in your desired trade. However benefits could be better within two years they have raised the amount i pay for my benefits and have switched providers twice. But besides that Austin is a great company to work for and build a career with.
Pros
School Program
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
porductive professional atmosphere
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 1, 2016
Working at Austin has been a really great learning experience I have met some really amazing people here, and have learned a lot while employed here at Austin.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job.
Packaging Operator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 21, 2016
Needs better management. Good medical benefits. Decent entry level pay & available overtime. Willing to train new employees with little experience. Safety policies are very well structured.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a lot of improvement in management
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Borger, TXSeptember 27, 2016
Location isn't bad a lot of great people in the work area, everyone is like family, the only problem is the management and has been for awhile, not a bad company overall
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Pipefitter Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Eastover, SC/Seneca scAugust 31, 2016
Typical day 10 hours to 12 hours, typically four to six hours from home, pretty good people to work for, even though theyneed help in their Management areas and safety. But I would work with them again.
Pros
Average wages
Cons
Dealing with some of the plant people, on certain jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe work place
Auto shop Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 4, 2016
work 10 hours a day. fellow employees great working with. no advancement as a mechanic requirement to ware FRG clothing extremely hot. supervision pushes worker hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Blaster/Painter (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 6, 2016
Good and bad days but overall great experience. Get really good training, communication, and co-workers. Only bad thing its not guaranteed your job permanent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Austin Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8