Find companies:
Autism Spectrum Therapies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Autism Spectrum Therapies Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my kids
Behavior Interventionsit (Former Employee), Monrovia, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: seeing the kids everyday and getting to really know them
Cons: driving from house to house
I enjoyed working and getting to know the families. Those kids had a soft place in my heart due to the fact that I saw them everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, but you work hard for your money.
Advanced Behavioral Interventionist (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: you're not in an office everyday
Cons: a lot of drive time, not a lot of flexibility with schedule.
I learned a lot from my original supervisor, she was always supportive and just a phone call away. Working in the homes of children with autism became difficult day in and day out, especially if your supervisor only seems concerned with filling the contract, as opposed to considering 6 hour sessions are most likely not going to be productive, as my – more... second supervisor did. Overall, good place to work, my experience differed with different supervisors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Behavioral Interventionist (Former Employee), CaliforniaJuly 30, 2013
Pros: most employees genuinly care about the kids
Cons: benefits are a joke.
Please go find a small company that will treat you like a human being. Management is corrupt and out to become huge and get money, and as a result the staff suffers. Training is good and well put together, and the expectations are high, so it is a great way to gain experience, but DO NOT go into this job/ apply and think anyone will root for you, care – more... about you, or encourage you! The starting pay is okay, but there are other companies that will pay 3-4 dollars more. There is a reason why once Easter Seals boomed with ABA services a good portion of excellent AST employees left to become therapists there with $3 pay increases and guaranteed hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive Trainning in ABA
Behavior Therapist (Former Employee), Culver City, CAJuly 1, 2013
At AST, my responsibilities were to conduct parent and teacher guidance lessons, parent consultation meetings, IEP progress reports, data base management, direct behavior intervention incorporating Applied Behavior Analysis, and data collection, interpretation, and input using Excel. This agency provided extensive trainning in ABA, including Discrete – more... Trial Trainning, PECS, and Floor Time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Behavioral Therapist (Former Employee), Culver City, CAFebruary 1, 2013
Professional environment. Great place to work. Challenging and rewarding job. Team oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Feid
Behavior Interventionist (Current Employee), Culver City, CAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: not enough hours or unstable hours
Going into different schools, and homes working with children with autism. It is a pleasure assisting families meet their childrens needs. The hardest part of the job is lack of hours and stability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Understanding of Work/Life Balance
Former Program Supervisor (Former Employee), Orange County, CaliforniaJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: organized, training provided
Cons: unrealistic expectations
AST is a great agency for behaviorists that are looking to be trained well. However, their standards and expectations (especially of supervisors) are unrealistic, especially given compensation, etc. Employees end up feeling exploited and end up taking their new skills somewhere that will appreciate them more. Supervisors at AST are paid somewhat more – more... than industry standard but given hours worked it comes up to being a lot less (and much less worth it). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with lots of support
Behavioral Interventionist (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 29, 2012
Lots of communication between both families and your supervisor. They offered lots of training and advice for new therapy ideas and play activities. If an Interventionist had any concerns or questions, their supervisor would get back to them in a very timely manner. Hardest part of position was the large amount of drive time and the locations of each – more... client. Although, the pros outweighed any con when you saw the large and vast improvements with each child. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love AST
Behavior Interventionist (Current Employee), Monrovia, CASeptember 14, 2012
Pros: kids, pay, supervisors
Cons: data entry, admin
My supervisor is great with feedback and helping whatever way she can. Management is okay but every day is a great experience knowing you're helping improve the lives of children with autism and their families. Health care. Paid time off. Hardest part is entering data but the best part is working with children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of structure/organization...
Therapist (Former Employee), CaliforniaSeptember 4, 2012
Loved the clients I was able to work alongside, but could not tolerate the disorganization of the company. Don't expect any form of structure, especially with your schedule...you will be more of a floater/on-call employee. Decisions are made on a whim about everything, and no considerations are made in regards to you as an employee.
I really wanted – more... to love this organization, but found it impossible to. :( – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working and providing services to young children
Behavior Interventionst (Current Employee), Monrovia, CAAugust 4, 2012
Pros: get to do fun activities
Cons: driving
My typical day at work consists of getting my data sheets ready for the day along with token board and check of system for student. I have learned through this job that you must have a lot of patience. I get along well with the people I work along side with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Payroll and Accounts Payables Coordinator (Current Employee), Monrovia, CAMay 11, 2012
A company with a bright future ahead which continues to grow. The best thing about this company is that at the end of the day we are changing lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack leadership
Project Manager (Former Employee), Culver City, CAApril 24, 2012
Favoritism and politics run rampant in management so one day you're in and the next day you're out. Very unprofessional and stuffy environment.

Rochelle – May 22, 2012

I agree 100%. They requirer to quit your job and don't let a person know that after the four day training is over and shadowing is done you may not have a job. The training is not what I excepted. The traineer lacks in her ability to train others. The expect you to learn the material in less than four days and their so called exam sucks. New new trainers someone that can get the job done. And to me if they dont want you in the company the lie to get rid of you. I read my scores from my exame it said 41/50. The all of a sudden the score was scratch ot and other scored entered 39/50. Something is wrong.