Find companies:
Auto-Owners Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Auto-Owners Insurance Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience for new insurance professionals
Commercial Lines Underwriter (Current Employee), Draper, UTNovember 24, 2013
Good learning experience for new insurance professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical productive day
Senior Claims Representative (Current Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 25, 2013
My typical day at work begins with prayer of serenity/wisdom, then review my work diaries of tasks for completion. I proceed to work diligently to complete my tasks, while balancing any supervisory duties to assist our claims manager. I have a great working relationship with all of my co-workers. The hardest part of my job is sitting but I balance this – more... by alternating sitting, walking and standing. The most enjoyable part of my job is developing working relationships with insured, policy holders, attorneys, medical providers, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Field Claims Representative (Former Employee), Brentwood, TNJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: never had a lay-off
Cons: one person does the work of 2, so you can't lay off when you need more employees from the start.
Max work for min pay. Brown nosing gets you far with these people because everyone want to feel important even the people with no education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad management
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Mesa, AZDecember 13, 2012
Pros: it's in the e valley for those of us on this side, early pay increases at first
Cons: too much babysitting...don't come back 2 minutes late from lunch, you will hear about it!!!!!
When I left, there was one manager that had and probably has no clue what she is doing. I have no idea how she got the position other than being there the longest. Shortly after she was promoted they split the office into 2 separate territories. The new manager had been in the insurance game a long time and tried to "set an example" when he came in. – more... He was trying too hard to make a name for himself. So on one end, management doesn't have a clue. On the other end, management is trying to micro manage. Try being in the middle of that mess!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and endless amount of work
Associate Claims Representative (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: good management
Cons: not enough time for the work
There will never be a moment of down time and days will go by quickly, but your phone will always be ringing. Team work is promoted, but it is hard to help others when your work is behind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back company to work for.
Unit Specialist (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 23, 2012
Pros: long lunch breaks
I enjoyed working for this company, the hour lunch breaks were awesome. Co-workers were all fun people and we were like family.
There was no hard part about working for this company, with the exceptions of an irate customer for time to time. The most enjoyable part of this job was the peacefulness within the office we all got along well. I also, enjoyed – more... the incentive bonuses we receive throughout the year and the Christmas bonus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Field Claims Representative (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 18, 2012
My typical day consisted of handling a large territory of 23 counties averaging 190 claims on a monthly basis. I would handle property losses (residential and commercial) and general liability losses. My previous employer had adjusters doing either auto claims or property claims. We would work the whole file. No specialty teams. I got along with peers – more... and superiors. My manager was relatively new as I only known her for 11 months; therefore, we did communicate on a constant basis in regards to my territories. The hardest part was dealing with the 23 counties. I was the only adjuster for this company to handle that many counties. My most enjoyable part of the job was handling 1st party property claims. It felt good helping people in their time of need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work environment with room for growth
Personal Lines Associate Underwriter (Current Employee), Irmo, SCApril 9, 2012
Pros: christmas bonus, incentive bonus, thrift & savings, pension plan, healthcare
Cons: inconsistent requirements for promotions, lack of leadership from management
I enjoy my job as an underwriter and have gained a wealth of knowledge during my first year in this position. I have a clear understanding as to what is expected of me and am able to produce a large quantity of work without sacrificing accuracy. I have developed positive relationships with fellow associates and outside agencies as well. The most challenging – more... part of my position is balancing phone calls, emails, and system review, however, time management skills allow me to overcome this challenge. The most enjoyable part of my job is the freedom to manage my work as it works best for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Senior Attorney Corporate (Current Employee), Lansing, MIApril 9, 2012
Pros: reasonable work hours for most positions.
Cons: conservative pay structure, lack of opportunity for professional positions.
Fast paced work environment for people willing to reach out for challenges. Great values and overall desirable corporate culture. Wonderful opportunities for most hard working employees. Decent pay and benefits.