Find companies:
AutoNation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

AutoNation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandising Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 30, 2014
This is a great place to work, however very hard to move up. Almost everyone is a team player and there are a lot of people from different backgrounds that can give you great advise in their area of expertise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great, some not
Sales Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, updated stores
Cons: no demo. frequent pay plan changes. fixed profits from variable departments way too much.
Was able to grow within the company. Some great leaders, some need a lot of work. Worked long hours and scrutinized when asked to take vacation time that I earned. Had been with company for many years. Pay plans constantly changed. As the business grew, our pay plans remained flat. Don't start without seeing a pay plan first. Sales Managers overworked – more... with admin duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job there.
SOX/Reconciliation Audit Reviewer (Former Employee), Las Colinas, TXMarch 17, 2014
The only reason for leaving was the commute was to far. All else was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constant production steady work environment
Oil Technician (Current Employee), Amarillo, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch on saturdays, employee discounts on parts. and employee pricing on vehicles
my usual day consist of mainly oil changes and tire rotation. Occasionally, there will be wiper blade changes, light bulb replacements or minor recalls. I learned that the auto industry is a first come, first served with the commisioned sales and commisioned work. The management at Autonation are easy to get along with. my coworkers are easy to get – more... along with which increases the fun of working in this environment, there are few coworkers that are hard to work with, but those are the ones that are hungry for that commision pay. The hardest part of my job is learning new things. the most enjoyable part of my job would also be learning new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Cashier (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 24, 2014
AutoNation is a very hard company to work for, there is a lack of management, dedicated workers, and loyalty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun but sometimes, too remedial. Low pay for the long hours you worked...
E-Commerce Sales Manager / Closer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: corporate training
Cons: hours, pay, and favortism store level management
A typical work day involves calling, greeting and listening to potential customers and their needs and wants for purchasing or leasing new or pre-owned vehicles. Using a daily planner to follow-up with store visits, inbound calls and service customers. I stayed busy even on slow days managing and assisting other not as proficient with CRM, Outlook, – more... Word, and follow-up skills. Very long hours, 6 days per week including every Saturday, and every other Sunday. Scheduled hours were either 9-9, 9-6, or 12-9... Good co-workers, management was probably the least qualified, and voted in to lead based on popularity, but not skills, and production. Above average training for the industry, but according to most, pay was below the average for the industry... The hardest part was the advancement process, and the hours for the pay. The best part was the customer base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Assistant Service Manager (Current Employee), memphis, tnFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: no lunches
Cons: no short breaks
horrible compnay in every way would not suggest anyone work for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service writer in jacksonville
service dept (Former Employee), jacksonvilleFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches on saturdays.. ..
Cons: many. not the place for a long term career
A typical hire and fire car sales company. dont plan on being here for a long time. . firing from the bottom down. when many problems come from the top down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Internet Sales Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas , N vJanuary 30, 2014
I worked for Autonation for nine years. Great place. Good pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people to work with
Service Department Cashier / Receptionist (Current Employee), 4600 Stevens Creek Blavd San Jose CAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: i work days monday through friday
Cons: i'm not learning new things
I start my day answering incoming phone calls, greet and assist walk in customers scheduling appointments, cashiering, providing them with rental cars, filing and assisting my Service and General Manager with any projects that need to be completed.

We are a great group of people, we work hard to reach our goals

The hardest part of the job would be – more... probably challenging customers.

The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers through the day and making sure we provide them with excellent service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT VERY GOOD
Autobody Technician (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: insurance
Cons: no leadership in bodyshop
NOT VERY GOOD.NO WORK TO MAKE MONEY,AND COWORKERS ARE GREAT.MANAGEMENT NOT SO GOOD TO ME.HAVING A JOB WITH INSURANCE WAS GREAT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal auomotive dealer
technician (Former Employee), ohioJanuary 7, 2014
veru busy place, always have a vehicle to work on, at one time or another
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the right place to work for a full time student
New and Used Vehicle Sales (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, good atmostphere.
Cons: long hours
Being a completely commission job, long hours and a lot of dedication is required. Being a full time student I decided to resign after a year of 65-75 hour weeks. Its a fun and competitive job that would be perfect for someone that can give a 100% to their career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Assistant Service Manager (Current Employee), Henderson, NVDecember 30, 2013
Been Working for the same company for many year and looking a career in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
continual growth and education
Finance Manager (Former Employee), Littleton, CODecember 5, 2013
always willing to educate and train with the latest techniques and software tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
BDC Sales (Former Employee), Miami, FLNovember 14, 2013
Pros: great opportunity
Cons: to many working hours
Great place to work, learn and grow, great benefits, gives job opportunities at entry level
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and make a career.
FINANCE & INSURANCE MANAGER & DIRECTOR (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 9, 2013
Pros: longevity bonuses every year, excellent benefits.
Cons: no complains at all.
Very good work environment, friendly co-workers, excellent training, I become from salesperson to Finance Director in only 5 years. The most enjoyable part of the job was the income.The hardest part of the job was to work Sunday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work
Business Intelligence Consultant (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 6, 2013
A lot of work to do, Contractors cubes are too small, everything else is fine. as far as I know the permanent positions do not pay that much but year end bonus could be really good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a great company but is not my field
Sales and Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Miami, FloridaOctober 6, 2013
I change this job becouse I need to start in this country my career, even I do not have experience in this country, I have several year in the construction business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonation is the biggest but no way are they the best
Assistant service manager (Former Employee), Sanford FlSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: some awesome employees that are stuck there
Cons: no training and no honesty
After 20 years in automotive I decided to try working at a dealer, too bad I picked a bad one. The company is driven by bottom line only, they don't give two craps about employees or customers just the almighty dollar. Poor Management I can't believe the General Manager keeps his job in my short 8 months there he chased off the two Ford master techs – more... that the dealer had, then my service Manager quit, I ran the service dept while they looked for a replacement I lost pay while doing that was made promises then when new service manager transferred in was lied to that they we never made. I resigned and new boss begged me to stay. From what I have read sounds like this is a problem nation wide. Work 70 80 hrs a week and get abused. I wonder if upper management doesn't know or just doesn't care! – less

1 2 3

About AutoNation

When America needs a car or truck, they call on AutoNation. With over 8 million happy customers and counting, AutoNation is America’s – Read more