Find companies:
Avalon Bay Communities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Avalon Bay Communities Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture
Maintenance Associate (Current Employee), Long Island City, NYNovember 15, 2014
Pros: long lunch
Cons: health care
I enjoyed working with different people from many countries and to learn the customs. interact with the guest from different countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company move back east
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 6, 2014
Don't like that the company which was once small & cared about their employees was merged with a larger company located back east
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for this company
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), NJNovember 6, 2014
Pros: horrible company
All managers and senior lever managers work with each other They dont care about the employees growth and development.You are just the number for them 5 years with the company didn't let me go nowhere No training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very open place of employment
Groundskeeper (Current Employee), westburyOctober 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: work schdule
coming to work is very pleasant with co-works that greet you with a warm embrace. I've learn a lot through management by showing the skills i learn basically my supervisor always push me to go forward with my skills. there are days when we have free lunch by company the company functions are great to go to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Claims Processor-Temporary Assignment (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 14, 2014
A typical day at work is usually productive due to well managed work time throughout the day. I've learned to adopt to the environment and the surroundings the came with my position. For me it was a good fit. I got along very well with co-workers being as I am a people person and get along with anyone. Being able to get along with co-workers was a perfect – more... recipe for team work. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things that I knew would help me become more knowledgeable not only in my position but in other positions as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Management ever
Property Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), ConnecticutOctober 5, 2014
Take this job only if nothing else is available and keep looking while there. Management is terrible, inconsistent policies, and frustrated tenants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Resident Services (Former Employee), Newton, MASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: variety
The day to day activities vary from clerical work to one on one interaction with residents. These interactions can vary from renewal issues to general day to day issues with their apartment home or the community. Probably dealing with disgruntled residents but this has to be done too. The more enjoyable part of the job includes coming to a mutually – more... satisfactory conclusion to these situations and dealing with a wide variety of people from all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Assistance Maintenances Manager (Former Employee), Westborough, MASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: good company
Cons: sold properties
good place to work excelent benefits good poeple to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AvalonBay Communities - Horrible Workplace
Utility Department Manager / Statement Processor (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
All managers and senior lever managers work with each other to protect each other and do not care about the employees growth and development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE! Back stabbing gossipers. Management is the worst!!!
Construction Administrator (Former Employee), CaliforniaAugust 6, 2014
Pros: getting paid for overtime
Cons: gossip, boss never at work and always on vacation, hostile work environment
Nightmare working for this mental ward. I worked long hours, and even worked the weekends. Project manager and project engineer NEVER at work to help. I was stuck working all by myself for the team and then got made up bad reviews because boss wanted to make himself look good cause he was never at work and I did all his work. Seriously he would make – more... stuff up to write me up when I was meeting ALL deadlines ahead of schedule. Boss hit on me and sent me inappropriate texts...and other team member always crying. TOTAL HOSTILE work environment. Upper management VP's snobby and don't care. Like a cult working there. Women are VERY vicious and mean and talk bad about people. The worst nightmare experience I ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits but overwhelming amount of work
current employee (Current Employee), Melville, NYJuly 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches, good benefits
Cons: overwhelming amount of work for minimal amount of workers
They need more tech II and III workers. It is way too much to be on call day and nights 3-4 days in a row. People who work at the maintenance dept. don't have balance between work and family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Morale
Accounts Payable Assistant (Former Employee), VAJuly 12, 2014
Good employee morale & excellent upper management. However, not much room for advancement in particular locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Maintenance Tech 2 (Current Employee), Lexington, MAJuly 7, 2014
exciting and different every day
learned the art of pool care
management is top notch
co workers are a great bunch of individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I ever had.
Maintenance Worker ll (Former Employee), Crown Ridge (The Eaves), San RafaelJune 27, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunches. on line training programs.
Cons: hostile work environment.
I had a job with Avalon Bay at the San Rafael location as a Maint. ll tech. called Crown Ridge, they now call it The Eaves. I came from a background of 10 years in the building trades and 7 years as a Maintenance Supervisor. I lasted six months and went through 4 Maintenance Managers while I was there, all of them , incompetent boobs. The first one – more... had absolutely no building or maintenance experience and was disliked by his staff and the residence alike. The last Main. Manager smoked constantly and had no idea what was going on in the apartment complex. He often made disparaging remarks about the physical attributes of the female staff and residence. The property manager was so disrespected that the entire
staff lacked any sort of leadership or a role model. I often made up my own daily routine just to get through the day as no one seemed to get a hoot what I did anyway. And forget about a living wage unless you have other sources of income. So, if you like mundane work and no respect from your superiors for a pay wage that is laughable, then go ahead and work for this company. Maybe in 10- 15 years you too can move up and enjoy the many benefits of property management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working envirment !
Maintenance Tech 2 (Current Employee), San Dimas, CAJune 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch, housing discounts 20%
Cons: very busy and hard to take vacations, unexperianced supervisors.
work is busy and takes up the whole day you do not catch your self bored or have no work. i ve learned better communtication with the people workers and residents . managment are kind of unexperienced were i work and the schedule for maintenance or set unfair . coworkers are good but there is no trust in each other seems you have to watch what you say – more... and do. Hardest part of the job is the stress of work and everything has to be done on time or meet time requirement also bad communitcation between leasing office and maintenace. The most favorite is companhy has quarterly event like going bowling , sixflags, picnics and managment takes you out to lunch time to time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company culture
MAINTENANCE MANAGER (Current Employee), Glen Cove, NYJune 8, 2014
Avalon has a company culture that promotes and fosters a good work environment. People who work here are good hard working people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone in to the industry
Community Consultant (Current Employee), Seal Beach, CAJune 5, 2014
This is an ideal job for someone that loves working with people. A typical day includes tours of apartments, leasing, and providing excellent customer service to prospects and residents. You will learn the tools needed to be a successful agent. The difficult aspect could be not enough work-life balance and the most enjoyable part is the ability for – more... advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAMay 7, 2014
I was hired as Sales and Marketing Associate and promoted to Assistant Property Manager within three months. My objectives included:
 Conducting property tours with prospective residents and answering questions such as pricing, lease terms, and qualifications for application approval.
 Determining the needs of prospective residents and addressing – more... those needs to close the sale.
 Following up on contact leads and individuals previously toured to secure new leases.
 Verifying applications and following up on applications including resident screening.
 Increasing and maintaining occupancy above budget.
 Increasing monthly NOI, market rents and net rent above budget.
 Building a professional relationship with prospective residents, current residents, vendors, staff and supervisors.
 Making sure property files are under HUD compliance.
 Collecting rent, bookkeeping, and cash reporting.
 Coordinating repair/maintenance requests with maintenance staff, and following up with residents after work completion.
 Preparing weekly and monthly reports.
 Preparing new lease contracts.
 Preparing move-in packets for new residents.
 Assisting new residents during lease signing.
 Negotiating and preparing lease renewal contracts.
 Planning and coordinating resident activities.
 Other duties as assigned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and wonderful residents to help.
Technician I Lead (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAMay 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches sometimes and great support system.
A great company to work for. Has alot to offer people. Always a caring company.You can advance in this company easily. The hardest part of this job was trying to keep up on the property since it was a very large apartment complex. I loved interacting with the residents and helping them when I could. Management was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasure to have been employed with AvalonBay!
Construction Administrator (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAApril 30, 2014
I am proud to have in my experience, the past pleasure of working with AvalonBay.

1 2 3 4

About Avalon Bay Communities

AvalonBay Communities has it down in the apartment department. The real estate investment trust (REIT) buys, develops, renovates, – Read more

Avalon Bay Communities Photos