Find companies:
Avalon Bay Communities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Avalon Bay Communities Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive work environment.
Community Consultant (Current Employee), Union City, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: contstant learning enviornment
Cons: days and hours prevent much time for family weekends.
Constant customer both new and current by phone and in person. Provides me with an exciting day making time fly. I have learned that time management and prioritization is key in a successful day. I enjoy my team as we work in sync with each other to ensure operations continue to run smoothly. The hardest part of my job is the disappointment I feel personally – more... when I cant please everyone. granted we must always try to fulfill the request of our residents to the best of our abilities but this too must be within reason. The most enjoyable part of my day is knowing that our residents enjoy living with our communities and continue to love us even when they leave. They take the good experience with them and hold it as an expectation for the next community they decide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AVB
PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAMarch 17, 2014
Outstanding Organization with Outstanding People one of the most professional REIT's in the Industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), New Rochelle, N.YFebruary 26, 2014
Good work schedule. Great co-workers. Fun company. Pool and Basketball courts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Customer Service Supervisor, Community Coordinator (Current Employee), Arlington, VA and New York, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation quarterly events include a half day off and a great meal!
Cons: dedicated curriculum to prove advancement
Working here is a great opportunity to learn about property management and most importantly customer service and sales. Great benefits and compensation. They really know how to show employee appreciation events that also motivate the team!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Property management company
Community Consultant (Current Employee), Arlington, VAJanuary 22, 2014
Great place to work. The only downfall is the demanding work schedule i.e late hours during the week (til 6:30), and working on Saturday...hard for moms of young children. I've worked for two property management companies and Avalonbay is the best out of the two.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the most rewarding places I have worked at
Assistant Supervisor of Class A luxury high rise (Former Employee), New Rochelle, NYJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: all around great company with endless growth potential
Cons: limited locations throughout the us
Management and team members are always looking for ways to reward those who excel as well as offer training in every area that would create better employees and work ethic. The company always has a growth and advancement opportunity and looks within for talented employees. They have a work hard and play harder attitude with a true caring attitude for – more... their employees. Excellent Growth Potential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gross
Tenant (Former Employee), Lynnwood WAJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Great place to live if you like your car being broke into and idiots for managers. High Crime Rate at Avalon Brandenmoor on 164th in Lynnwood WA/ Homeless camp nearby for additional entertainment during latenight hours in dumpsters
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but fun enviroment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VANovember 11, 2013
Pros: friendly enviroment
Cons: short lunches
A day in the life of an AvalonBay customer service rep was fast paced around the beginning and end of the month. We were required to answer the phones with a friendly tone and remain that way throughout the call, keep the call to a minimum amount of minutes, and ensure the resident got all they needed in their phone call to avoid any call backs. The – more... work environment at AvalonBay is very friendly and open. The managers are willing to work with you to keep you on track and tell you what could be done better. We had weekly evaluations and meetings. The interaction at AvalonBay was my favorite part of the job because it kept you on your feet. They taught me a lot about real estate and property management in their 6 week training class, along with the actual job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company
Senior Community Manager (Current Employee), Melville, NYSeptember 9, 2013
Overall a good company to work for. The most enjoyable part of the job was the resident interaction and the ability to deliver a quality product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apartment Construction Company
Construction Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: good people towork with
Cons: contract ended
I worked there as a contractors and learned a lot about the constructon field. I liked the employees there, all were very helpful and supportive. Worked a lot with contractors and vendors of the project
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Assistant Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), New Rochelle, NYAugust 26, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: none.
Assisted outside contractors in project completion. Repaired AC’s hot water tanks and appliances.Performed plumbing and carpentry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I kinda love it!
Community Consultant (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 1, 2013
Pros: work atmosphere (at least at my property), pay, loyalty
Cons: required saturdays
I've worked for 4 property management companies throughout my career- Bozzuto, Riverstone, AvalonBay, and a hole in the wall one that shall remain unnamed. I've never been happier than I am with Avalon! Seriously! The starting salary is quite fair. Bonuses were better at Bozzuto but base pay was far worse, and I had no work life balance there since – more... I got calls and texts on my days off and I was very concerned with fitting into the stuck up, "perfect" facade that was required to be a successful associate. At Avalon, I can be my crazy, off beat self and it's just fine. Further, I don't often work late, my co workers do not call me on my days off (unless I'm being invited to an outing), we're not pressured to meet a monthly leasing quota so I actually get along with my co workers rather than secretly despising them, and although I do have to work on Saturdays (hence the four stars for work/life balance), we are CLOSED ON SUNDAYS :)
To compensate for the obvious frustrations of being in a service industry where people can be especially testy, we're rewarded with lots of associate events and recognition programs, and we often have company paid outings and lunches- it really makes me feel valued. This is a great place to start working and to grow (because you can go anywhere, Avalon is a nationwide company). Oh, and did I mention that a year ago, I gave notice because I wanted to return to school full time, and my manager asked if I'd like to stay and work around my school schedule? Does that like, ever happen? Work for Avalon! You'll love it here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, But Good
File Imaging Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 26, 2013
It was one of those busy/chaotic type jobs. The more calls and requests that came in, the faster the work and day went. The overall feeling from my coworkers, became as if we were a family. We were there for each other, assisting when needed and there if you just wanted to unwind and laugh over lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AvalonBay
Prior Resident Specialist (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VaJuly 13, 2013
Pros: moving around within the company
Cons: not enough positions available
Avalonbay is a great company and I enjoyed my time there but the Customer Care Center is limited to how far you can move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great oppurtunity to work with Builder
Superintendents Assistant (Former Employee), Irvine, CAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: learning more about construction
Cons: low pay
fast paced construction challenging,learned high rise construction,awesome management,fun and helpful coworkers,climbing stairs is challenging,enjoyed working eith all subcontractors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A customer service driven environment.
Community Consultant (Current Employee), North Bethesda, MDMay 31, 2013
A typical day includes:

Enhancing the lives of my residents
Learning new and innovative sales techniques
The hardest part of my job is trying to make everyone of my residents happy
Finally the most rewarding part is when I do succeed in making other people happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Community Consultant (Former Employee), Stamford, CTMay 22, 2013
Cons: no breaks, no lunch, no one listened no one cared.
A typical day is packed full with appointments, a phone ringing off the hook and understaffed. I learned that although the company has a good reputation, it is not a good place to work. I was there only 1 month and knew I made a mistake on the second day. Co-workers were disgruntled and turnover was horrible. The hardest part of the job was that no – more... one cared or listened. Most days no lunch especially on the weekend during the summer. You had no control of your day as you had to take all walk-ins and they used an outside booking system for appointments. Always short staffed so property manager and asst. were working at two different sites most times – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture, but bad work schedule
Community Consultant, Gallery Place (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 9, 2013
Pros: great company culture and co-workers
Cons: working weekends
The pro's of this job is that your doing something everyday and the management is great work with. The least enjoyable part of the job is working every Friday Saturday and Sunday and missing out on every event.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would like an open environment where work is eaisly allocated
Labor Worker (Former Employee), Yuba City, CAMay 6, 2013
Pros: thirty minute break
Cons: worked till midnight
I worked for six hours on the machine loading it with 50 lb. bags of corn meal breadng, the job was three hours of work followed by a thirty minute break then two hours and thirty minutes of continuous labor. i learned how to operate a machine and to work with a partner. Hardest part of the job was that the machine needed to be loaded at all times. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is that the boss told us what to do then let us do it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Community Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 4, 2013
The best way to get better pay with Avalon is to be promoted from outside the company. If you work your way up, they will not pay you as much. No matter if you work hard or if you hardly work they will pay you the same.

About Avalon Bay Communities

AvalonBay Communities, Inc., an equity REIT, has a long-term track record of developing, redeveloping, acquiring and managing – Read more

Avalon Bay Communities Photos