Find companies:
Avalon Bay Communities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Avalon Bay Communities Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Assistant Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), New Rochelle, NYAugust 26, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: none.
Assisted outside contractors in project completion. Repaired AC’s hot water tanks and appliances.Performed plumbing and carpentry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I kinda love it!
Community Consultant (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 1, 2013
Pros: work atmosphere (at least at my property), pay, loyalty
Cons: required saturdays
I've worked for 4 property management companies throughout my career- Bozzuto, Riverstone, AvalonBay, and a hole in the wall one that shall remain unnamed. I've never been happier than I am with Avalon! Seriously! The starting salary is quite fair. Bonuses were better at Bozzuto but base pay was far worse, and I had no work life balance there since – more... I got calls and texts on my days off and I was very concerned with fitting into the stuck up, "perfect" facade that was required to be a successful associate. At Avalon, I can be my crazy, off beat self and it's just fine. Further, I don't often work late, my co workers do not call me on my days off (unless I'm being invited to an outing), we're not pressured to meet a monthly leasing quota so I actually get along with my co workers rather than secretly despising them, and although I do have to work on Saturdays (hence the four stars for work/life balance), we are CLOSED ON SUNDAYS :)
To compensate for the obvious frustrations of being in a service industry where people can be especially testy, we're rewarded with lots of associate events and recognition programs, and we often have company paid outings and lunches- it really makes me feel valued. This is a great place to start working and to grow (because you can go anywhere, Avalon is a nationwide company). Oh, and did I mention that a year ago, I gave notice because I wanted to return to school full time, and my manager asked if I'd like to stay and work around my school schedule? Does that like, ever happen? Work for Avalon! You'll love it here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, But Good
File Imaging Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 26, 2013
It was one of those busy/chaotic type jobs. The more calls and requests that came in, the faster the work and day went. The overall feeling from my coworkers, became as if we were a family. We were there for each other, assisting when needed and there if you just wanted to unwind and laugh over lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AvalonBay
Prior Resident Specialist (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VaJuly 13, 2013
Pros: moving around within the company
Cons: not enough positions available
Avalonbay is a great company and I enjoyed my time there but the Customer Care Center is limited to how far you can move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great oppurtunity to work with Builder
Superintendents Assistant (Former Employee), Irvine, CAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: learning more about construction
Cons: low pay
fast paced construction challenging,learned high rise construction,awesome management,fun and helpful coworkers,climbing stairs is challenging,enjoyed working eith all subcontractors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A customer service driven environment.
Community Consultant (Current Employee), North Bethesda, MDMay 31, 2013
A typical day includes:

Enhancing the lives of my residents
Learning new and innovative sales techniques
The hardest part of my job is trying to make everyone of my residents happy
Finally the most rewarding part is when I do succeed in making other people happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Community Consultant (Former Employee), Stamford, CTMay 22, 2013
Cons: no breaks, no lunch, no one listened no one cared.
A typical day is packed full with appointments, a phone ringing off the hook and understaffed. I learned that although the company has a good reputation, it is not a good place to work. I was there only 1 month and knew I made a mistake on the second day. Co-workers were disgruntled and turnover was horrible. The hardest part of the job was that no – more... one cared or listened. Most days no lunch especially on the weekend during the summer. You had no control of your day as you had to take all walk-ins and they used an outside booking system for appointments. Always short staffed so property manager and asst. were working at two different sites most times – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture, but bad work schedule
Community Consultant, Gallery Place (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 9, 2013
Pros: great company culture and co-workers
Cons: working weekends
The pro's of this job is that your doing something everyday and the management is great work with. The least enjoyable part of the job is working every Friday Saturday and Sunday and missing out on every event.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would like an open environment where work is eaisly allocated
Labor Worker (Former Employee), Yuba City, CAMay 6, 2013
Pros: thirty minute break
Cons: worked till midnight
I worked for six hours on the machine loading it with 50 lb. bags of corn meal breadng, the job was three hours of work followed by a thirty minute break then two hours and thirty minutes of continuous labor. i learned how to operate a machine and to work with a partner. Hardest part of the job was that the machine needed to be loaded at all times. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is that the boss told us what to do then let us do it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Community Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 4, 2013
The best way to get better pay with Avalon is to be promoted from outside the company. If you work your way up, they will not pay you as much. No matter if you work hard or if you hardly work they will pay you the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice and knowledgeable co-workers. I really enjoyed working there.
Loss Mitigation Specialist (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAApril 19, 2013
I really looked forward to going to work each day. Everyone was so nice and acted professional. I learned a lot while working there and I really miss the people and the job. I was happiest when I worked as a Payment Services Specialist, which is just another term for accounts receivable. That seems to be the type of work that suits me well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Leasing Consultant- Avalon Sunnyvale (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CAApril 17, 2013
Pros: benefits
Excellent Benefits and beautiful properties. I recommend working at the newest properties as they lease up the quickest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A GOOD PLACE TO WORK
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee), VIRGINIA BEACH,VAApril 7, 2013
Pros: free lunches and drinks
Cons: higher up management
I WORKED FOR THEM FOR THREE WEEKS THRU A TEMP SERVICE I WAS EXCITED ABOUT THE JOB AND VERY HAPPY.I WAS TOLD BY MY SUPERVISOR THAT I WAS DOING GOOD.THAN OUT OF THE BLUE ON A FRIDAY EVENING. I WAS LET GO AND WASNT GIVEN A REASON WAY THIS IS A VERY UNPROFESSIONAL COMPANY AND WOULD NEVER THINK OF WORKING FOR THEM ON A PERMANENT BASIS... VERY UNHAPPY WITH – more... THEIR MANAGEMENT OR HIGH UP MANAGERMENT.. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE TO WORK THERE... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away from Avalon!
Rather Not Say (Former Employee), MassachusettsMarch 26, 2013
Pros: housing discount
Cons: poor management, backstabbing co-workers, especially leasing people
Do not work for this company, especially the Massachusetts communities. The managers are terrible, constantly screaming at you no matter how hard you work. They never give any positive feedback, only negative. That's one reason why the turnover is so high. The worse thing about it is they don't care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work, too little time, not enough pay
Maintenance (Current Employee), Avalon BayMarch 17, 2013
Cons: everything
This company recently took over Archstone which was a far superior company when it comes to values, benefits, management and employee camaraderie. Ever since Avalon took over everything is falling apart. Its sad really because at Archstone we were employees not just a number. Avalon is extremely money hungry and the budget is very tight. You must dry – more... clean your uniforms at your own expense, no overtime, an excessive amount of pointless paper work, no bonuses and poor upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor and Unfair Management
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee), CTMarch 14, 2013
If your looking for employment in the CT - Westchester region ask this employer 1 question about Employee Retention, how many employees have either quit or been fired in the past 3 years including Community and Maintenance Managers? Then ask yourself 1 question, is this the kind of company I want to work for???
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with great opportunities to meet all kinds of people.
Senior Community Consultant (Current Employee), New Rochelle, NYMarch 13, 2013
Pros: ability to make additional income.
Cons: most advancement opportunities are only available with area change.
The day includes many tasks. Basically each individual office is expected to post Craigslist ads, follow up with prospective leads and give tours of the community. As an employee I've learned organizational skills the most. The ability to balance and prioritize multiple assignments has greatly improved in my time with the company. Co-Workers have, for – more... the most part, been supportive. There is friendly competition and bonus pay opportunity. The hardest part would definitely be dealing with the customer service aspect of the job. At times, the building may not live up to the standards of the residents and as a representative of the property management you must justify the costs of rent. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the continuous meeting of new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overseeing a community of 348 units and 7 employees
Property Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 8, 2013
Pros: promoting staff
A typical day with AVB also varied greatly with numerous tasks including but not limited to training staff on various reporting functions, hiring, evaluating or counseling employees, completing community performance marketing reports, implementing calendar year budgets, obtaining quotes for projects, and negotiating renewal offers.
The hardest part – more... of this job, being in management, was trying to make all the employees happy all of the time because everyone knows you can't please everyone.
I learned so much with AVB starting off as a leasing consultant and being promoted up to a property manager training other property managers which was I found very rewarding and beneficial. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Northborough, MAMarch 8, 2013
Pros: mangement
Cons: hours
Avalon is truly a great place to work, they really care about their employees. Great place to work and learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at ! Stay away
Maintenance (Current Employee), CTFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: housing discount
Cons: political, favorite games played all the time, bad team moral and environment
Not to waste a lot of time writing a out this horrible company. The directors play favorites, want to get promoted or be in good terms with your job? The. Be ready to be a "yes sir" employee- no matter your skill set of commitment. The new maintenance directors in CT and Westchester are the WORST !!! Very hypocrite !!!

About Avalon Bay Communities

AvalonBay Communities has it down in the apartment department. The real estate investment trust (REIT) buys, develops, renovates, – Read more

Avalon Bay Communities Photos