Averitt Express Employee Reviews

Found 252 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Contract Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNJune 16, 2017
Small company in a small town, so salary is low. But atmosphere is good. I was a contractor, so cannot comment on benefits, but rumor was that they were good. Even salaried people get two 15 minutes breaks a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Dock Assoc/Admin (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 14, 2017
I started working there on the dock loading and unloading trailers part time. Then went to full time as Admin in the office checking in Drivers and checking paper work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Averitt Express is a great company to work for.
LTL Driver (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TnJune 13, 2017
The best part of my job with Averitt is my husband and I team out of Nashville and love our service center. I have got to see alot being on the road. The hardest part of this job is being gone for a week at a time. I have learned to have more patience and deal with things different, and God has helped with that to.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Being gone
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good some bad.
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 13, 2017
The job was good till the company change management, then they wonted to tell how to dress how to talk an how to drive the truck, when they have never driven truck.
Pros
Go to work in the morning go home in the evening
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Fulton County, GAJune 6, 2017
great training program good people great company to work for, they pay for your travel to where ever your training is food and hotel stay is paid for,would definitely recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no life working there
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 5, 2017
the management was not that great, things were not ran according to plan. they would penalize you for being sick, the management would not treat you equally.
Pros
sometimes breakfast
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good work envirmont
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 4, 2017
Averitt is a good company to work for. They have 401k plain. The insurance is good. You can move up in the company an relocation . There are different shifts you can work.
Pros
Break room was nice had recliners could relax at lunch
Cons
Had breaks an time to sit for a few minutes
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all its a family type enviorment, Averitt treats you like a real person.
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNMay 27, 2017
The Pace for over the road drivers are good during the warm months, but things slow down in the cold season. Its better to get your HAZMAT certification to keep you going or get you home easily by the weekend. They do get you home every weekend as promised. Raises happen fast as long as youre a good driver. Its best to become a local driver or get a dedicated account from the begining. Once into a department its hard to get out and change departments.
Pros
Gets you home on the weekend as promissed.
Cons
Winter Months loads are slow for truck load.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace to move feight
P&D driver (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 25, 2017
Its a nice place to work , once you get the hang of things, fellow co-workers are very nice and friendly and will nelp each other out if theres questions
Pros
good people to wor with and office personnel very helpful
Cons
Boss made you feel uncomfortable, was very mean and had a reputatio, did'nt stand up for his drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salaries are wrong on indeeds website
Driver (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaMay 19, 2017
Local driver is near $25 an hour.Great equipment great pay and the best benefits, no other freight company comes close. Its all about your work ethic, if you're lazy you'll never be happy at any job (clock milker). If you're willing to work hard and show initiative and know how to drive a truck without causing accidents, you'll have a great career at a great company!
Pros
benefits, equipment, professionalism
Cons
lazy employees ride on the backs of hard workers til they're weeded out
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits, nice folks, don't have an accident
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMay 18, 2017
Assigned loads to pick up and deliver to customers. Some places were fine to get in and out of but others were difficult. Got sent to NJ alot where traffic can be tight.
Pros
Good company culture, great benefits
Cons
hard to stay on there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Florence, SCMay 16, 2017
Great company to work for in trucking. Pay, benefits and time off when needed. Plenty of averitt yards to park at take breaks take showers and relax.
Pros
All around great company
Cons
You have goods and bad in trucking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 15, 2017
I really enjoyed working for Averitt, they really care about their employees, it's been plenty of time I have came to work they have lunch for us or when it was cold they had someone to come and cater gumbo for us, I left to get my CDL so I could grow in the company
Pros
Good place to work, team feel more like family
Cons
Working in the Cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a paycheck, but that's all
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 10, 2017
Tremendous lack of communication between Management and workers. Unsafe work conditions and it is a filthy dirty environment Dock etc, Management doesn't listen to employee feedback.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to work....
Delivery Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 30, 2017
Averitt is a good place to work with good benefits and pay. The management is good. The work can be stressful due the unrealistic demands of customers and Averitt as whole...
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fleet Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 27, 2017
I loved working for Averitt Birmingham shop. They were like family and the drivers were a crack sometimes. It had it's downs yes, but overall it was a great experience
Pros
Good people
Cons
No time and a half
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I've learned
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 25, 2017
I've learned how to drive a sitdown forklift and learned about routes and the details of a handheld device operations. It's an amazing workplace and great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hayti, MOApril 25, 2017
Has very good benefits nice equipment, friendly environment,fast pace could afford to give out safety bonuses as well as many other perks better rider
Pros
Cook outs
Cons
No bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Averitt it was my second income
Customer Service and Billing Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63147April 24, 2017
I enjoyed the opportunity to work with Averitt . I needed a second income and was hired there and learned a lot about billing and different code needed to bill the customer correctly. I also enjoyed the steady pace of the job.
Pros
Second income
Cons
The hours late into the night sometimes getting home around 2am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here.
Local truck driver (Former Employee) –  Vance, ALApril 22, 2017
Productive and fun workplace to work at. Management was fair, they have an open-door policy with the owner of the company. Very driver friendly. enjoyed working for them.
Pros
Competitive Pay
Cons
Automatic Transmission
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Averitt Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 253 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

77%
92 ratings
Add your rating