Averitt Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJanuary 22, 2018
Great experience most people will enjoy the companypleasant people in office great orientation. They go thru everything needed for your job. Overall a great place to work
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Hard work doing flatbed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Regional Supply Chain Driver (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJanuary 12, 2018
I liked working at Averitt very much. Their equipment was in good shape and the hours and runs were good. I had a good manager. I liked running down south.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJanuary 8, 2018
Great place to work. Really enjoyed my time there and i miss working. Had a great fleet manager always got home on the weekends. Never had any problems while working there.
Pros
Always had a safe place to park
Cons
Too many macros to type in
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNJanuary 4, 2018
I had a very Stressful job, and the Management did not try to help anyone. It seems you need to fit a certain profile in order to work here. and if you don't fit in, you are out the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not one of my first choices.
Driver/Driver Trainer (Current Employee) –  Erlanger, KYJanuary 1, 2018
A day consists of about 10 to 12 hours of you like it or not. Management isn't really that fair, more friends and family. It started out to be a nice place to work but they started hiring to many friends and family. The hardest part about the job is trying to move up in the company, that's why I moved to northern Kentucky. I used to enjoy driving but to many rules and regulations.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
no advancement in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNDecember 29, 2017
Orientation was good and detailed. However, driver/trainer lacked proper communication skills. This negatively impacted entire first over the road experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Weighing & Research (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 28, 2017
Great benefits,
Top notch equipment,
Solid company financially,
great people,
little room for advancement
long hours but very rewarding
jobs can become very monotonous
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Internal advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dock Worker
Worker (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXDecember 28, 2017
Its a place to be because you dont find the job too stressful and the managers there are so lovely, welcoming and understanding .
They take there time to teach you more about what is needed to be learnt and they are great people.
Pros
not to say
Cons
not to say
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Dock Associate (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 26, 2017
Good place to work if in birmingham. Manager tries to do good things and there are plenty of good people working here. Just be prepared to work more hours than you ever have before
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to start
Freight Clerk (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXDecember 18, 2017
Great job to advance your career I started as a dock worker part time within six months I became full time freight Clark my next level up will be supervisor.
Pros
Work as many hours as you want
Cons
Straight time no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNDecember 14, 2017
I feel it is Averitt is a great company. I started in a bad time of the year so there was very little freight. I wasn't happy with the equipment though. My truck stayed broke down more than on the road
Pros
Good service centers
Cons
low miles and bumb equipment starting out
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for employment
DOCK STOCKER (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GADecember 13, 2017
Averitt is a great company to work for and pays well. They treat their employees like family. I would recommend anyone to join there team. I currently part time but there is room for advancement which Im looking forward to in the near future.
Pros
Starting pay is good
Cons
As a part time employ your not qualified for vacation or holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNDecember 12, 2017
Great company to work for nice people willing to help you with anything home every weekend if you want to it satay out if you want to. Overall good company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 9, 2017
Driving across different states every day.

The hardest part part of the job. I used to be sent to the north east coast in the worst of the winter season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNDecember 8, 2017
i day was getting a load and deliver it and then going to pick the next load up and diving as close to deliver it the next day the hardest think about the job was traping
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 6, 2017
Fun and busy place to work. There is always work to be done. Very secure job place.Provide great healthcare benefits, 401K,. Cross trainging is encouraged, excellent opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 3, 2017
Good place to work and people are friendly. Thry treat the employees as family. The service centers are nice and clean. The trucks are all up to date also
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GANovember 29, 2017
Clock in and receive delivery schedule, load any necessary equipment need for the days deliveries
Hook up tractor trailer and inspect to insure the rig is mechanically in good working order and that there are no safety issues
Enjoyed meeting and servicing many customers and keeping them happy with professional service
No hardest part of this job for me I love this type of work and atmosphere and am very comfortable doing it
Pros
Meeting people and moving from town to town
Cons
Delays or Damaged freight
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR Driver
OTR DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNNovember 26, 2017
Over the road driver
Sense of directions
Time Management
Good communication with employers and customers
Proper inspection of equipment
Adapt quickly to difficult situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place but no advancement
Loader (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXNovember 25, 2017
As a long time employee, the workplace culture is very stressful at times.The hardest part of the job is trying to please someone in upper management.Who spends more time trying to find fault in what we do then making the workplace enjoyable.
Pros
free uniforms
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Averitt Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 323 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4