AVI Foodsystems, Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 340 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here
Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJuly 20, 2017
Terrible management (if that's what you want to call it) lied to from the interview process until I quit. Lied about my position, pay, hours, and job duties/vs assigned duties. The kitchen supervisors did everything while exec sat in the office or went to grab a beer with the general manager.
Pros
We got to eat the old dried up flavorless pre fabricated food
Cons
They are liars
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food and nutrition company
food service manager (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 18, 2017
Family business that builds on trust and love.Amazing work environment. Long hours if you are willing. Lots of great oppurtunites, Meet alot of new poeple with great attitudes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier, customer service, stocking (Former Employee) –  Loudonville, NYJuly 11, 2017
I have been working at Best Buy full-time (More than 5 years)
Pros
Great development if you work with your leaders on it.
Inside and outside training available.
Really care about their employees.
Some of the best benefits in the industry from healthcare to financial advisors to family planning.
Corporate is very hands on in developing the company in a great way based on customer service.
Holiday pay is great.
Non commissioned in most sales positions but great bonuses if you hit goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to ever work for
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 3, 2017
upper management does not train managers. very disorganized company. gives you no training, and expects you to organize something that is so dysfunctional, that it doesn't matter what you do its not good enough, mind you, you cant change the system; so its an impossible task. always short handed on cooks. don't work here, for management, they don't care about you. you have been warned.
Pros
there are none
Cons
no life, to stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok place to work
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Anna, OHJuly 2, 2017
A typical day at work includes helping associates find what they need to eat on their breaks and lunch. Its our job to make sure everything looks nice and is properly stocked.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a joke
CSA - Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Seymour, INJuly 1, 2017
I loved my job and the factory I worked at, but the managers are very unorganized and only cared about themselves and their paychecks. They need to work on communication skills directly to the CSA for important information.

Too many chiefs and not enough Indians (that they can keep).
If you're part of the "good ol boy's club", you might get taken more seriously.
Pros
Customers, $5 food allowance daily
Cons
No advancement, only part-time, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing Fun Company
Director Business Development (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 26, 2017
Really loved this industry, and the company. So much diversity, and great pride in this family owned and operated large company. Big enough to provide service, while still small enough to care!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hope you can learn on the fly
Unit Manager (Former Employee) –  Highland Heights, OHJune 22, 2017
Training is almost nonexistent. Expect next to no help when you encounter problems. Also expect no help when your cash comes up short and you have solid proof that it is someone higher up than you. Also be ready to be told that your accrual of overtime pay is justification for not receiving an annual raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management staff
FOH Cashier (Current Employee) –  Keuka Park, NYJune 17, 2017
large work load, always short staffed, but a great group of people to work with. have to be able to work as a team. most students are great. not a bad place to work.
Pros
free meals during scheduled shift, 401k, vacation, summers off.
Cons
healthcare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  East Liberty, OHJune 9, 2017
You work 7 hours a day, one 25 minute break, free food, dealing with Honda associates, too stressful and very low pay for what you do. They stick the younger workers on second shift.
Pros
free food
Cons
short breaks, no benefits and no time to do anything during the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hourly employees are considered garbage
Call Center Agent/diet office (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 7, 2017
Hourly employees are treated as garbage,your talked down to as a child. the District manager treats you like an idiot because your not a salary employee.
Cons
healthcare is terribly high, and the coverage is awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities
Director of Nutrition Services (Current Employee) –  OhioJune 6, 2017
Many things to do each day. I would rather not continue with this review. AVI is a good place to work, its just time for me to move forward with my career,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place to work if not looking to be micro managed
Executive sous chef/ chef manager (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 6, 2017
Quite possibly one of the most crooked companies I've ever worked for. District manager over the property is a jerk and a crook himself. Hides money, lies to employees, doesn't allow chef to do there jobs, belittle and talks down to staff on the daily. Not a good work environment at all. Constantly lose great staff because of him and causes unneeded stress. Never again will i work for or back AVI as a good company because of this.
Pros
slow summers and long break, staff other then DM is great
Cons
nearly everything. Very unhappy place to work because of the DM
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Delphi, INJune 1, 2017
Just an overall terrible company to work for. They care little for the employees, and the pay and benefits are terrible. The only good thing about the place was the other workers, outside of management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an fun work place
Su Chef (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 31, 2017
I absolutely loved working for the company... the management is amazing as well everyone on the staff an everyone is treated fairly an there very understanding as far as personal things that may come about. the customers are just as friendly makes u feel like a little family almost.. I would love to grow an possibly retire with this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job accountabilility
I assist in implementing loss prevention measures (Current Employee) –  Warren, OHMay 30, 2017
As long as your numbers were being met and work was complete, management would let you do your job with little to no supervision. The training structure company wide was very strong.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Retirees Mostly
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Penn State New Kensington CampusMay 29, 2017
This job is for women who has a husband that makes the most money in the family. You could not survive on this pay if you were single. There are no benefits.
I worked at Penn State New Kensington Campus. Nice students, faculty.
The women I worked with in the cafeteria were wonderful.
Got a new boss in September 2016. Treated us unfairly, talked to district manager nothing was done. Called HR, nothing was done. This company doesn't try to rectify a problem. Forced me to quit, after 5 years service.
Pros
Can eat and drink anything in cafeteria for free during half hour lunch
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most horrible place i ever worked
catering superviser (Former Employee) –  Woodcliff Lake, NJMay 26, 2017
horrible experience, managers are so cruel and use their power to do treat people very bad,wors life experience working for that company, no matter who you complain at ,they will never do nothing, lot of people has no other choice then quit, i was one of the last one in leave ,
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Chef & General Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMay 26, 2017
Great company they are good at what they do, they have good food and management.there is good opportunity for advancement within the company, company values have gone downhill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
Customer Service/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 17, 2017
I was a driver. Lots of freedom with this position. Unfortunately there were a lot of bad routes with little accommodation from management. There would be stops you have with four sets of stairs and you are asked to bring up all food and drink up these sets of stairs by hand every visit which in all cases required you to traverse the stairs 4 or 5 times. If your route does not have one of these "stair stops" then your work is fun and great. The interaction with customers is fantastic.
Pros
Freedom
Cons
Manager/Customer relationship is a one way street.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AVI Foodsystems, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 340 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8