Aviation Technical Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is slowing down with decrease in work load
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Everett, WANovember 28, 2016
Mechanic on Line #1. Repair and maintain: frame, kill beam, skins, floor structure, cargo floors and walls, bulkhead, E whiz, O2 bottles and blankets.

Management is well informed, knowledgeable and caring to employees. They strive to educate and urge personal growth.

Peers are easy to work with and eager to join in to problem solve.

Most enjoyable part of my job is learning different aspects of airplane maintenance from nose to tail.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lack of steady employment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mismanaged, unstable
Flight controls, component repair (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 9, 2016
while working for ATS , I found out they operate on a buddy system that has no room for good mechanics. No matter how good of a mechanic they have, if not a kissa$$ you will not last. Management is so screwed up there, they have zero tolerance for anyone with common sense. The people they have running the backshop have absolutely no clue whats going on or what they are doing. No accountability what so ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company culture
Avionics Technician Level 5 (Current Employee) –  Moses Lake, WASeptember 17, 2016
Its a small town but has a wonderful Catholic Church! The one bad thing is that they do not keep the work steady and still make the serious mistake of lying to the people on the floor about it. We are not stupid and know there is no planes outside waiting for us to start, hence there is no work there.

A company whose leadership is willing to lie to anyone, has absolutely no future, whether is to a customer or its own employees, those kinds of people attract that kind of atmosphere, and your business fails!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stabbed in the back
General Accountant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 19, 2017
Several members of the corporate accounting staff purposely sabotaged my position due to the rumor that the corporate office was being relocated from Washington state to Missouri. Was disrespected by several staff both in Washington and in Missouri.
Pros
Location
Cons
Staff and situation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sheet Metal and A&P Technician (Current Employee) –  Everett, WAJanuary 9, 2017
Great Company , great opportunity to grew, real friendly and professional people to work with. Most valuable in this company are their employees you always have support from leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avionics Job
Flight Control Mechanic L4 (Current Employee) –  Everett, WAOctober 31, 2015
This is a great job for beginners and people who want a dead-end job. There is little to no advancement opportunities and the pay scale is the lowest in the market for this skilled trade. They will loan you out to other departments without your knowledge and send you home if there is no work. This happens often. The facilities are decent, but they certainly don't make up for the lack of management and senior leadership at the company, which strives to gain as much money for as little quality work as possible. If you work here, make sure to keep the FAA hotline number in your phone. If you get stuck on night shift, you're screwed because of the lack of knowledgeable leadership.
I am a Tech II at ATS in avionics.
Cons
Bad repair, bad management, lowest pay in the market
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were awesome!
Line 7 L4 interior mechanic (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAJanuary 2, 2017
I worked at ATS from Aug 2014 to July 2016 as a contractor and i loved working there. I really miss everyone on my crew on line 7 interiors. I wish i could go back.
Pros
Per diem pay, 4 10 hr days
Cons
Cant think of any at the moment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good happy and good working atmosphere
Airframe mechanic (Former Employee) –  Everett, WADecember 26, 2016
Always a good task room to learn and grow and overall just a good interaction with good people. Always learning new things about different aircraft.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good amount of OT
Avionics Technician (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAJune 3, 2016
No willing to train techs to make them better for fear of loosing them, so instead the the techs just leave. In all my time in the skill trades I have never worked with less caring management or less involved.
Pros
OT
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, and a team environment
Heavy Structures Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAAugust 19, 2016
This place is crazy. If you want unlimited overtime and love complex tasks then this is the place for you. They are no respecter of persons. Everyone gets to work.
Pros
Lots of work
Cons
Everett is very expensive to live. Take some heart meds before you look at rental prices
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about Aviation Technical Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent MRO with ample opportunity for overtime.
Avionics Technician (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAJuly 8, 2015
Worked as an Avionics Technician here for a couple of years. Mainly we worked on planes that were brought in to transition to company standards. The avionics shop changed a lot in the time that I was there to include management changes that weren't beneficial to lower level employees in terms of work hours, morale, or opportunity for advancement. Generally if you show that you are competent, you will have no problem at ATS. Additionally if you show that you are the best at installing certain systems, that is all that you will be doing until the end of time. Contractors make a lot more than direct employees, as to be expected. But don't expect to make decent money if you want a direct position.
Pros
As many hours as you can handle, great peer group, ten hour days.
Cons
Poor management, white collar atmosphere, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for newbie.
ex mechanic (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAMay 12, 2016
Its a great place to get a couple years after A&P school. its a dead end sweat shop besides that. pay is low, bennies suck, most leads got their jobs by suck off the supervisor or manager. If you get a chance to get a look on the inside, that should say everything. its filty
Pros
good to start off wit
Cons
the whole place. sucks. dont do it.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good old boy club, most of leadership incompetant
Structures Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Everett, WAMarch 21, 2014
Used or not working equipment, constantly looking for parts, incompentent mechanics for the most part coupled with a good old boy culture makes for a very frustrating place to work. Indifferent upper management who have no clue on what's going on in the hangar.
Pros
Had a good crew .
Cons
Too many to list, simple put if you are not part of the good old boy network you are going no where career wise.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and free enviornment workplace with ping pong tables
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Everett, WaAugust 31, 2011
Great area to work, good climate, team work in operations as a mechanic is growing. I like the cafeteria set-up. I enjoy the size of the company about 700 including overhead. Company is close to all ammenities. Parking is readily available. They have many shifts and work schedules. They provided unifroms for the mechanics. Tools are readily available to the mechanic. Overhead is a tough enviornment, we lay-off every 3 years, due to cost constraints, Middle management is really bullish and uneducated, it's difficult to thrive when you are intelligent. They deparments are really siloed and communications is seriously amiss. I feel like I am wasting my life away at this stage of my career at ATS, that's why I choose to seek different employement.
Pros
free communication, easy shift assignments, friendly work force, ability to think and grow
Cons
unimpressive middle management, very siloed inter departments, consistency of work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment, great Leads and fellow workers!
General Mechanic Lvl 3 (Current Employee) –  Everett, WAMay 7, 2015
Very little in the way of advancement but you will never get fired for a mistake, they are forgiving of errors but not unexcused absences. So don't be a thief, or a habitual Hookie player and you will be there as long as you wish. Just don't expect a raise or anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic with a rushed schedule
Lead Avionics Technician (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 14, 2015
Working here has been an adventure. I have learned a lot from working at this company, however there are quite a few drawbacks. They are a start up location. Having said that, there seems to be a lot of inexperience there. Simple mistakes are constantly made and lead to big issues. There doesn't seem to be a clear direction from management. Leadership there is terrible.
Pros
Pay is ok, great place to learn aircraft.
Cons
Management doesnt lead very well, lack of clear direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
QC Auditor December 2014 - October 2015 (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 1, 2016
Aviation business priorities are constantly changing so one needs to be flexible. Attention to detail and compliance with FAA procedures.
Pros
Good Cafeterial
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Facilities Technician (Current Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAAugust 21, 2015
Typical day checking emails to see if facilities has any posts for high priority work orders . Then working on them highest to lowest. Learned hazardous waste disposal.
Management always willing to help.
Pros
Good work environmemt.
Cons
Drivingfrom tricites to mosses lake every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ping Pong Tables and Foozball.
Apprentice Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Everett, WAMay 2, 2012
A day at work can be hard at times like any other job but that is not what i dislike about ATS. The Management is not very good, a lot of broken promises, and a lot of rumors. Other than that it is a great place to learn if this is your first aviation job ( this is the place to make the mistakes). You work 4 days 10 hour shifts with optional overtime witch is not bad, i like the 3 days off from time to time.
Pros
free wifi
Cons
working outside on rainy days
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with benefits
A and P Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Everett, WAAugust 14, 2014
Can expand and grow with the company very good management. The company does listen to the employees thoughts and concerns. They are right on with breaks and looking after the workers. I have learned to get along with the employees and supervisors. The hardest part of the job is living in was where it rains too much. The enjoyable part of the job is all the workers and the friendship.
Pros
401 k
Cons
Is in WA want to live in OR
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aviation Technical Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0

Aviation Technical Services Reviews by Location