Find companies:
Avis Budget Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
477 reviews

Avis Budget Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job I had ever had
Rental Sales Agent (Former Employee), PortlandApril 16, 2014
Pros: co-workers and customers
Cons: management
Micromanaged everyday, no job security. Management lacked accountability. If they think you won't fit they will harass you into another position until you either forced to take it or they will eventually find a way to fire you. Never gave you the opportunity to learn or improve the skills they feel you were lacking. They literally told you to lie in – more... order to make a sale. Hardworking and a great attitude is not rewarded.

I would not recommend this job to anyone.

The best part of the job were the customers and the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was great, my fellow workers made it so.
distance driver, part time (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKApril 13, 2014
Pros: traveling with others
Cons: not enough runs
It is a part time on call job.Clean and check and fill car and deliver to different locations in 3 states.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment.
Dealer/Sales Representative (Former Employee), Orchard Park, NYApril 8, 2014
Fast paced work environment, with a focus on customer service and satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only hiring african american people
sales (Former Employee), floridaApril 4, 2014
Descriminitation why not new opportunities for other races????
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
District Sales Performance Manager (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 3, 2014
My short time with them . I do have the opportunity to stay full time, but my strengths are in outside sales.as been great even if only a consultant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sink or swim training method
Rental Agent (Former Employee), Redmond, ORMarch 31, 2014
Pros: the staff were all very friendly and helpful in my training
Cons: the sales tactics and the owner
In the brief time I worked there (a little over 2 months), I found that the people I worked with were great. Thank goodness they were helpful in answering my questions and helping me learn the ropes. I found that you received very little training before being left alone to fend for yourself. Although the owner expressed a desire to be very professional, – more... her solution to training involved my standing in front of the customer and calling her to walk me through screens I hadn't yet learned. Although effective, it appeared to me to be very unprofessional and quite embarrassing. At my interview I expressed to the owner that I was NOT a salesperson and not comfortable with sales practices. I was told it was not sales it was more of a numbers game. NOT TRUE. By the time I was "laid off", I had learned most of the screens used (there are like 20) and had the all the reports and procedures down. Unfortunately I was not producing sales to the owner's satisfaction. Exactly the thing I told her at my interview that I was not comfortable doing. I ALWAYS asked the customer if they were interested in buying the supplemental products/coverage. However, I didn't possess the ability to fancy-talk or trick them into paying to upgrade their vehicles (especially when I was required to give them the upgraded vehicle because we did not have the vehicle they reserved). I'm not comfortable lying and I did not like the idea of being caught in a lie. However I do think the worst part of the whole situation was not receiving any type of warning or training to improve on what she thought I was lacking in. Another somewhat serious problem is the owner's need to micromanage from home, as well as her ability to make the atmosphere feel a lot like high school. Consistently attempting to bid the employees against each other by making up half-truths or asking questions and turning the answers around to cause problems between co-workers. In every office I've ever worked in, it seemed management was constantly trying to keep those type of issues out of the office. In this case it doesn't really work to her advantage, as ALL of the employees know that she is doing this and talk to each other to find out the real story. Thank goodness her employees are smart enough to know that it's almost impossible to work in that type of environment. As a footnote, I found it funny that she asked me if I preferred working days or nights. I told her I preferred days and found that my hours only ranged between 4pm and close (which was midnight or after, based on when the last flight arrived). Although I was willing to work whenever she needed me to work, why bother to ask me? In the end, I guess, if you are good at sales tactics and not bothered by the owner's messed up method of micromanaging, this job could be for you. As for me, it is a small blip on my resume....should it actually make the resume. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 28, 2014
Avis-Memphis is a very fast paced environment with plenty of action. We house a variety of employees throughout the work culture and set high expectations and goals. The Customer is our most valuable asset and we try harder to meet every possible expectation. I've learned that no matter what capacity an individual operates in, whether customer facing – more... or not; we must always smile. A smile is worth 6,000 points. The group of managers strive daily to thrive in such a competitive environment. Additionally, co-worker are continuously being developed to initiate great service. The most challenging part in the organization maybe remembering to always put your game face on and make it happen; no matter what. The most enjoyable aspect of the job in being able to fulfill someone else's desires and needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Rental Sales Agent (Former Employee), Avoca, PAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: 40 hour work weeks with over time potential, decent pay, commission, benefits, paid holidays and time off, management is reliable and helpful.
Cons: airport locations are open long hours and holidays, no lunch breaks but plenty of down time
I worked for Avis Budget Group for 6.5 years. Although the hours were rough at an airport, my colleagues were some of the most effective and caring I have ever met. Management is effective and was personally vested in the growth of all employees. Benefits are excellent and paid time off got better with each year I was there. Yearly pay raises were better – more... than most companies and there's the potential to make a ton of extra money in commissions every month for pretty much just doing your job. You could expect to be paid at least $100 in commissions even if you just do the bare minimum. Human Resources was actually readily and easily accessible. They were willing to meet with employees to discuss issues and make action plans to resolve them. Overall it's a great company to work for and if I didn't move away from the area, I would still be working for ABG. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Manager turned over so many good managers
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 21, 2014
The corporate structure at this company is very broken, there are people in there positions for over 20 years that have no idea how much the rental industry has changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chances to develop good people skills
Sales Associate (Former Employee), studio cityMarch 20, 2014
work was very challenging with me at avis because i was compete'n with co-workers in a friendly way all my co-workers was very respectable and nice i think compete'n was the hardest but funnest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
IT Consultant (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Works in partnership with clients, advising them how to use information technology in order to meet their business objectives or overcome problems. Consultants work to improve the structure and efficiency of an organisation's IT systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Service Agent (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 19, 2014
Cons: management
Decent job, not really a brain using job. just stay busy management is really dumb
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invests in time management skills
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee), AMMANMarch 18, 2014
A typical day would involve receiving bookings, inputting them on the system and then following up with staff to ensure customer receives expected requirements.

I learned how to manage the staff and ensure customer satisfaction upon their individual requests.

The management is very productive and fair to the staff ensuring the system flows systematically – more... upon the guidelines.

Co-workers are professionals that have been in the business for a couple of years.

Hardest part of the job is making sure the requested vehicles are available.

The most enjoyable part of the job is customer satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for .
Vehicle Return Associate/ Customer Service Rep. (Former Employee), OHARE AirportMarch 15, 2014
Pros: customer appreciaton day
Cons: the weather
A Typical work day for me would be a fast paced environment.

What I learned is if everyone is a team player everything goes smoothly.

LOVED the MANAGEMENT TEAM.

LOVED MY CO-WORKERS.

The hardest part of the job was working in different weather conditions.

The enjoyable part of the day was getting to meet different customers everyday and even seeing – more... the regulars who came back and fourth through the week , and I can't forget working with an AMAZING TEAM. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going job
Driver (Former Employee), san francisco,caMarch 14, 2014
learn how to deal with customers,and solve problems for customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is one of the best place to works to me thank you
Leadman Driver (Former Employee), Reno, NVMarch 13, 2014
Pros: in some of theme free lunch .
Cons: yeah 15 minutes break not abusing the time
I always been trying to makes my work a good place to work in all the jobs that I been working, a good environmental and atmosphere place to worked , trying to give the best on my own with a good environmental and positive atmosphere place to work , always thinking that the customers always tight to me , with helping each other on everyway , staying – more... long hours working overtimes to finish the job , and I am ready to give or to put all my skills that I been learning in the jobs that I been working thank you , for giving me the opportunity to express myself , in the way I think to make a very place to works with good attitude and atmosphere in the work place . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It use to be a good company.
Manager (Former Employee), Albany, NYMarch 12, 2014
Pros: team was great, fun and upbeat.
Cons: asked to do some very shady things, inspections, sending customers out with expired tags and inspections....etc.
Company has no clue how to grow their management team. While there is a training system in place, with demands of being short staffed you get tossed into it without knowing the business.
The time it takes to replace team members is utterly ridiculous. In need of Return agents. Which took almost 2 months. No flexibility with scheduling.
DM is a con artist. – more... If your in need of a job tthen you would be better off looking elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work very friendly environment,teamwork
rental sales agent (Current Employee), Hanover, MAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: great staff
ive been employed by avis rent a car for 17+ years,very fast paced environment,if you can multi task and have a positve attitude and a lot of patience you will be well received.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Compensation Analyst (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJMarch 7, 2014
An exciting workplace with a very family like atmosphere. Very supportive of employees and upward mobility was not an issue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke
rental sales agent (Current Employee), richmond,vaFebruary 26, 2014
You will never make any money here the way the tiers are set up

1 2 3 4 5

About Avis Budget Group

Whether you're a business traveler on an expense account or a family on vacation counting every penny, Avis Budget Group has a – Read more

Avis Budget Group Photos