Find companies:
Avon
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,856 reviews

Avon Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked from home but traveled daily throughout my district. Put many miles on my company car.
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 13, 2014
I was a District Sales Manager for almost 15 years. I had several different districts in Kansas and Missouri during that time.
I earned the Circle of Excellence twice being within the top 10% of sales increases of managers nationally. Also was number # 1 sales increases in State of Kansas 4 different years. Went on many International trips for achievements. – more... Received many electronic products, etc for achievements not only Avon products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to experience management at its highest levels
Director Global Security (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 12, 2014
Pros: excellent place to work and enjoy a positive image
Cons: too large of an area for one person to cover effectively
I am in touch with a company Security Designee in each location worldwide thru whom I manage and control job-related company security directives.
Learned to deal with various individuals at different levels in their security development.
Management of personnel is basic to any operation; its the type of product manufactured and the end result of the – more... product that varies.
Good results in dealing with co-workers.
The hardest part of this job was communication and delivery of service over thousands of miles apart.
Most enjoyable part of the job dealt with the reduction of losses in the millions dollar range. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At Avon Products
merchandise operation (Former Employee), Pasadena, CADecember 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches when hit a good number of orders
Cons: they closed the cafeteria
A Typical day at Avon: sometimes filling in for people that are absent.

What I learn at Avon: is a fast pace job to get orders on time for shipments

Management: Always on the go and always had there door open for
employees

Co-workers: Always willing to help you out.

Hardest part of the job was to make sure merchandise was ready for orders for pickers.

The – more... most enjoyable part of Avon : I was on the safety committee and Pac Team, to make a Safer place to work,and also to raised money for breast cancer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's literally hustling
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 8, 2014
there isnt an hourly wage. You're paid about $.10 for every dollar you make which isnt much unless you sell about 100 items.

you literally have to know how to work this game. Knowing where to advertise yourself, your website, and your product. Who to sell to (your grandmas friends... trust me). Which catalogs to order from, what you put in your "gift – more... bags".

its literally all a big hustle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling after building a customer base.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Lancaster, CADecember 3, 2014
Pros: demo's, discounts, meeting new people
Cons: hard to start, hard to make a profit, time consuming, expensive, all in all difficult
It's very hard to get started with this company, since you are running your own business. I don't find that to be a bad thing, and in the end, I did not come out as successful as I had hoped. But still being a high school student while looking for a full-time/part-time job AND trying to keep up with a business was just weighing on me too much. And I – more... was spending money that I didn't have.

The concept of the company is great, and like I said, can be very fulfilling. But you have to be prepared before you start, and you have to be patient. Otherwise, you'll give up like I had. My overall experience was decent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being in business with AVON was great.
Independent Sales representative (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 3, 2014
Avon gives you the opportunity to be in business for yourself but not by yourself. there are opportunities to promote your business and gain clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working with good compensation
Undisclosed (Current Employee), Rye, NYDecember 2, 2014
Hard work, many times not recognized by direct management. But the compensation is good and benefits are good. They support training and encourage it. Co-workers are great socially.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Care (Former Employee), Morton Grove, ILDecember 1, 2014
Pros: customer was out sourced to india
Cons: just the best company you could ever work for.
Avon is a wonderful company. I have learned and I was able to grow with the company. It is a well know company. Answered calls, processed price adjustments, and tracked orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent diverse team
Avon Rep./ District Assistant (Former Employee), Lenexa, KSNovember 23, 2014
Pros: traveling meeting new people
Cons: temporary assignment
Always something new to look forward to. A new challenge everyday.
I learned how work the new systems that Avon had, learning new skills in management. As the Assistant to the DSM it was very exciting to meet new people daily and building healthy relationship with them, learning the new products and sales tips. The hardest part of the job was doing – more... majority of my work from home, the most enjoyable aspects of the job was being able to travel and do more hands on techniques. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelent
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), Caguas, PRNovember 21, 2014
It is a very good company here grew as a professional and all the tools and knowledge that I carry with me was because of the opportunity it gave me professional crecimeinto Avon. No complaints, the reason for which it was allow me to move to live in Florida.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice co-workers. flexible work schedule
Sr. Inventory/ Financial Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 21, 2014
Enjoy the lunch time together and company parties were fun and free sample of beauty products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace which allowed alot of opportunity for growth.
Career Representative 1 (Former Employee), Springdale, OHNovember 19, 2014
Pros: closed christmas and new year's eve and christmas and new year's days
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day for me at Avon for me was great. I got along with my Supervisors and Co-workers which always made the work day go well. Unfortunaley, I was effected by a downsizing in the company which affected the department that I was in . However, I learned alot of good valuable things and skills with Avon in which I feel will be very helpful – more... in whatever new job position that I attain. The most enjoyable part of my job was when I was able to work from home and become a virtual agent. Although, I loved working around my peers, being able to become virtual made if less stressful for me to have to come in during times when there was bad weather. I enjoyed working for the company but am excited about a new opportunity to work and learn new skills from another company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time work at home
Customer Service Representative/Sales Associate (Former Employee), WORK FROM HOMENovember 19, 2014
Pros: no pressure and work at home
Cons: no training
I did this part time from home and frankly did not put much effort into the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good fit for me
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Lancaster, CANovember 18, 2014
It just wasn't a job for me. I liked being my own boss, but at the same time it was hard to meet up with the quotas by myself. I was buying more than I was selling and I was younger than so I didn't have the mindset I do now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avon isn't for me
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Hammond, INNovember 18, 2014
Cons: not a lot of people buying.
I realized that I am not a sales person. I did not build me clientele. It was a waste of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to create long-lasting business contacts
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Hampton RoadsNovember 15, 2014
I am able to network and create many different business opportunities promoting and using these wonderful products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avon reps
Sale Rep (Former Employee), Oakdale, CANovember 15, 2014
Pros: you get to know your surroundings and people around better
Cons: the comission hurts when you cant pay the bills
Us men and women want to have the best but not the price of target or macys. Avon helps with now lower priced make up clothes we even have kids stuff from 0-5years old. we make deals to better help u stock up. Your a door to door sales but you also call around to see if your clients need more products or help finding gifts for your love ones
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basketball court
Bin Filler (Former Employee), Pasadena, CANovember 14, 2014
The management does not support everybody just certain employees , is very hot in there they don't like to turn on the air conditioner is spending too much money to them. The company wages are good, but the work could be challenging sometimes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be your own boss
Avon Sales Representative (Current Employee), Cohocton nyNovember 13, 2014
Pros: work your own hours and you are your own boss
Cons: pay is comission base only if you dont make high sales you dont make much money
its a job secondary job but if you dont make high sales you dont earn alot of money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment
Sales Rep (Former Employee), La Puente, CANovember 12, 2014
A day at work for this job employment was a tough one,Because i first i really wasn't into dealing with door to door sales or even approaching people, but once you get the hang of the job, it turns out awesome at the end of the day,you get to meet new faces daily! That was the best part of my job!

1 2 3 4 5

About Avon

Everyday, Avon brings beauty to the lives of women all over the world. At Avon, beauty means finding the right lipstick shade – Read more