Find companies:
Babcock & Wilcox
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Babcock & Wilcox Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Applicable
Welder (Former Employee), Westpoint, MSSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: excellent company
Cons: job security
Great Company-Current Lay Off after 25 years. Health Insurance deductible is costly. Otherwise, great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be great
QAE Engineer (Current Employee), Barberton, OHSeptember 11, 2014
Things are not like they used to be. I believe upper management has their jobs on the line and have been systematically releasing employees that stand up for what is right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Stud gun operator, Mill operator (Former Employee), West Point, MSJuly 12, 2014
Pros: good job
I like working here. I milled end of tubes. It was one of my best jobs with good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welding and rigging for an overhaul project
Apprentice Welder (Former Employee), Farmington, NMJuly 12, 2014
Pros: there was alot i learned from this job. and i loved that fact that it was all hands on.
Cons: the job ended
In this job I really enjoyed the welding and the rigging. use my hands and did a lot of blueprint reading. repaired welding and replacement of boiler area of station. used a lot of tools involved with welding like grinders, welding machines and small simple tools in the prcess of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free Fitness Center on site, safe environment
Sr. Accounts Payable Processor (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 17, 2014
I have enjoyed most of my years employed by B&W. The benefits are great and the environment is safe and clean. Flexible working hours.

Lack of communication via my immediate management team is a great deterrent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious productive work environment
Advisory Engineer, PhD (Current Employee), Barberton, OHMay 2, 2014
Pros: each other friday free.
Cons: a bit too conservative and formal.
Competent personnel.
Interesting projects.
Solid corporate culture.
Understanding management.
Week on IT side.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First professional job out of college.
Quality Assurance Engineer (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAApril 21, 2014
Pros: very professional environment and worked with highly educated team engineers
Cons: hours of reading code books and micro-film. very tedious work at times
After graduation from college, I accepted my first job at Babcock & Wilcox. I was very fortunate to have an excellent unit manager to mentor me and I am very grateful for this experience. I had an excellent team to work with on various classified programs.

The hardest part of the job, was the many government code books I had to review and this was – more... a very document laden position.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with a team on a variety of very technical programs. These were very challenging! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First professional job out of college.
Quality Assurance Engineer (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAApril 21, 2014
Pros: very professional environment and worked with highly educated team engineers
Cons: hours of reading code books and micro-film. very tedious work at times
After graduation from college, I accepted my first job at Babcock & Wilcox. I was very fortunate to have an excellent unit manager to mentor me and I am very grateful for this experience. I had an excellent team to work with on various classified programs.

The hardest part of the job, was the many government code books I had to review and this was – more... a very document laden position.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with a team on a variety of very technical programs. These were very challenging! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting engineering work on B&W mPower SMR project
Engineer I - II (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAApril 20, 2014
Pros: exciting and challenging engineering design experience
Cons: job security was thought to be strong, but ended up very poor after a layoff of 90% of the project work force
Ability to gain valuable design experience
Work responsibilities are very fluid, allowing individuals a broad and exciting work experience
I learned the ability to multitask and interface with various design groups in a fast-paced, design-intensive project
I learned about the ability of a nuclear plant to respond to various plant transient conditions – more... and about the importance of conservatism and safety margin when designing a passively safe nuclear plant
The hardest part of the job was keeping pace with the ever-changing plant system designs
The most enjoyable part of the job was the new and exciting challenges of every day design work, the ability to perform different work activities on a weekly or daily basis, and the quality of engineers with whom I worked and with whom I developed strong relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with
Master Fitter (Former Employee), Barberton, OHFebruary 24, 2014
Value people who can perform precision work.
Excellent attendance expected
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health care benefits declining and new management is questionable at best
PC INVENTORY ANALYST (Current Employee), Barberton, OHNovember 3, 2013
The new management did not even consider what we were doing well before considering what changes they were going to maketo make the company more profitable. Just more big business corruption.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Boilermaker Apprentice (Former Employee), Waterflow, NMOctober 22, 2013
Pros: mini breaks, benefits, pay, supervisors
Cons: n/a
I learn to a team player to complete a task, safely. Great pay with long hours. They always manager to hire me and has something positive to say about my work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical factory
Inspector (Former Employee), Rockford, ILOctober 14, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: plant closed down
The hardest thing is I worked with mostly men. Dirty, smelly, long hours. Money was good, Union shop. I learned I could get Security Clearance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stick Welding and Tig Welding Pressure Vessels
Welder (Current Employee), Barberton, OHAugust 20, 2013
Many Certifications under NAVSEA Welding code
Stainless, Inconel, and Carbon
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, ever changing work enviorment
Supervisor (Former Employee), West Point, MSJuly 15, 2013
Directed employees on job assignments, tracked performance, estimated jobs and planned and scheduled jobs based on lead time.
Enjoyed giving hands on training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee oriented until 2013
Document Control Specialist (Former Employee), barbertonApril 19, 2013
fine place to work up until 2013, employee oriented, negative changes in 2013 affecting moral
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Lead Manufacturing/Quality Engineer - (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAFebruary 7, 2013
I fully enjoyed my experiences at this company. It was a very rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, opportunities are available and excellent benefits
Talent Development Consultant (Current Employee), Oak Ridge, TNOctober 2, 2012
Pros: benefits & the people i worked with on a daily basis
I was able to gain my degree while working and advance in my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Machine shop Lead hand and supervisor (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONDecember 3, 2013
Pros: good salary and steady dayshift
Cons: on call most weekends
Set up CNC lathes,milling machines and horizontal boring mills.
Make programs on the machine control (Cincinnati own control) produce part get a first off and continue with production usually max run was 30 parts.
Promoted to supervisor did attendance, Safety meetings, discipline employee's in a Unionised environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great people.
Information Technology (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 9, 2013
Pros: encouraged education.
Cons: down sizing
My typical day was very busy. Primary contact for IT department. Coordinated and deployed all help desk calls. Ordered and received and deployed PC equipment.
My co-workers worked as a team most of the time.
The hardest part of my job will leaving due to down sizing.
The most enjoyable part of my job was dealing with people.