Badger Daylighting Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job keeps a person very busy
Hydrovac Operator (Former Employee) –  Rifle, CONovember 26, 2016
The most enjoyable part of this job was meeting lots of different people. The hardest part of the job was being shorthanded at times.
Pros
good pay
Cons
last minute jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work no hours bad bad management
Operator (Former Employee) –  Bay Area, CAAugust 15, 2016
Lies, from management, some work others sit... They hire even thou they have no work, so then people quit, they hire more instead of keeping people working they have lost their contracts in calif,, for fraud, that why no work.
Their are much better company's doing the same, don't waste your time here.
Pros
None
Cons
No work lies and promises
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place
Hydrovac Operater (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 11, 2016
Responsible for the successful completion of hydro

excavation projects including: utility line exposure,

debris removal, slot trenching, and digging.
Pros
good people
Cons
working place
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst jobs that I have ever had
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  IndianaJuly 19, 2016
I have never been associated with a company who lies to both there management and employees. They tell you how they will support you and help you make your area profitable. But they way that they have it structured is the only one making money is Badger. PERIOD.
I have seen my regional manager maybe twice in 3 months. The trucks that they lease to us are 8 to 10 years old and if you are lucky enough maybe half of they might or might not run. Then all they do is yell and scream that it is the operators fault. Never a fault of Badger.
They claim to be an American company with an office just outside Indianapolis, IN. But they are run and controlled from Canada. The trucks are built there and brought in in WY. Were there are tax loops for Badger.
Also there turn over rate is close to 70% a year.
The big thing is that everything that you purchase comes away from any profit that you thought you would see. Nothing from Badger is free!!!!!
If you see an ad for a job from Badger run away and run away fast.
It will be the worse mistake of your life. I know it was for me.
Pros
NONE
Cons
Lies, no help or support, trucks that barely run, terrible regional managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and great environment
Intern/Opt-Support (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXMay 27, 2016
This was a great place to work for! I had a great manager and awesome co-workers! My typical day at was mostly busy on Friday's and Monday's.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good fun workplace
swamper (Current Employee) –  north ms, memphis branchFebruary 16, 2016
I do some traveling and i work with high pressure water and a wireless remote controlled high suction boom. after we fill up the truck with debreewe dump it and clean it after every work day.The job can so,etimes be physically demanding but the up side to it is that it keeps you me busy and i think wrk days go by smoother when im busy.
Pros
paod hotels and 30 dollars a day for food out of town.
Cons
travel, time spent outta town
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job and environment
Service Engineer / Hydro Vac truck operator (Former Employee) –  Pittsboro, INJanuary 25, 2016
as a field hydro vac operator you typically spends alot of time traveling, hardwork but your are paid very well for the job ( union worker).Great team and great colleagues i worked with. wished that i could of stayed onboard but had to resign due to medical reasons.
Pros
Great mgmt team and great colleagues
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good comPant to work for
swomper (Current Employee) –  taft caSeptember 9, 2015
i work for badgerdaylightingtaft for about 8 mouth and it was the best jod ever getting to work with good people and every buddy has team work the and you get to be part of the team and best thing is nowing that you made home to your family and and nowing are job was done right and think to badger for have good team member
Pros
30 min lunch
Cons
2 15 min braces
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty but fun
Non CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDAugust 1, 2015
Basically you will use water to move dirt. The truck you will be operating comes with a super high presser washer and a giant vacuum. The job is a lot of hard work and a lot of time away from home. the plus side is the job pays great for what it is.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun job if you like playing in the mud!
Equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Columbus ohioJuly 28, 2015
Like my posting says... If you like hard work @ times and playing in the mud..... Then this is the job for you... Not all locations will be the same... From what I see working here... If your Union you make money & live well... The non Union shops will work you to death & not pay you what your worth!Work is sporadic at times... So you better save some of what u make for a rainy day...our boss is good and he does what he can for his employees...
Pros
Good boss...excellent Union wages...good equipment
Cons
Long hours dirty work extensive travel sporadic work
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and pay
Hydro Vac Operator (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 13, 2015
Beeing 24/7 on call is not so great. Not much free time.

You will get very dirty so. Long hours sometimes.

Still a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Good Company to work for
Operation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 11, 2015
They were not a company that cared about employees family.
Management was not good
Co-workers were sloppy
Order parts for jobs
Had to stay at jobsite due to lack of employees doing job correctly
Was this review helpful?Yes23No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, until it isn't
Non-CDL Operator (Former Employee) –  OklahomaMarch 2, 2015
You get paid ridiculous amounts of money considering the type of work you're doing. When there is work, you have the potential of working 80 hrs a week, even though the limit for cdl drivers is 70, but don't worry, they'll tell you to cheat on your log books. When work slows down, you better hope you saved some money because you'll be lucky to get 16 hrs sometimes. But don't try to file for temporary unemployment because they will fight you on it tooth and nail.
If you go out of town, don't expect to be able to come home until the job is done, even when there are guys sitting at home because they will not rotate out. I was gone for 3 months straight with no opportunity to come home.
If you get sent out to do clean oil rig pits, be prepared to go without sleep or a relief crew for over 24 hours.
This job is awesome for single folks or people who don't like being at home very often, and for people who don't mind doing the same thing virtually every day, just on different locations.
Pros
Plenty of hours, great pay and benefits
Cons
Little home time, incompetent corporate staff
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run by family
Office (Former Employee) –  MichiganJanuary 21, 2015
I have little to say, hours were good,
The job says great pay but Taco Bell offers the same. Job was potential at the start but was down hill. Cannot compete with other family members working there, even though against the policy. Good job for those who want to go no where if working in the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok place to work .
Swomper (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 28, 2014
This job was ok except the pay but i learned how run all kinds of equipment and meet workers too
Cons
30 min lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place to work for the right person
Commercial Driver and Hydrovac Operator (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 14, 2014
Great people work for this company. Everybody goes out of their way to help each other. Management really tries to help in every way they can. Badger needs a dedicated sales team to pull jobs in for the whole company.
Problem is there is not enough work or it's very sporadic. If it could be more steady I don't think you could go wrong working here.
Hardest part of the job is the mud. You will get dirty everytime you work.
Pros
Co-workers are all great
Cons
Never know when the next paycheck is coming
Was this review helpful?Yes17No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & interesting job to learn
Driver / operator (Former Employee) –  Conway, ARJune 28, 2014
You get more time off than you actually work. If you wanna work 1-2 days a week & be on call everyday then it's the job for you!
Pros
Experience
Cons
Not enough hours to qualify for insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Operator (Current Employee) –  HebronMay 2, 2014
Ground exacvation work.
Great people to work for.
Work varies day to day.
Pros
earning potential great
Was this review helpful?Yes17No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They had really good equitment to work with
Driver (Former Employee) –  North Salt Lake, UTMarch 23, 2014
Good plaice to workthe manigment was noyt all that great but did injoy the pepole I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work tight deadlines but fun and enjoyable
Driver (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXMarch 5, 2014
long hours and hard work. learned a lot about pipelines, oil rigs, gas plants ext. family owned business with a family owned feel. hardest part was the sometimes extremely long hours. the best part was learning everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Badger Daylighting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9