BAKER CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and secure
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 24, 2017
I was glad to work in the company better ways of opportunity, safety the best and the good pay....always pace lol not faster but the safety first is the most important thing specially when you working in construction site.
Pros
Hollydays pays
Cons
2 breaks plus lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Concrete Laborer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 18, 2017
Friendly Sales Associate adept at working in diverse retail and customer service
environments. Reliable and hardworking warehouse operator committed to getting each job
done as quickly, efficiently and safely as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A gud job to have.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJanuary 23, 2017
They give you plenty hours on your check so your checks always come out at a very nice amount. The managers and supervisors are always very understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Internship-Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Eunice, NMDecember 1, 2016
Started as a intern in the surveying department. It was lots of fun and gained a lot of knowledge. Surveying department is great! People are good and nice.
Pros
People attitudes
Cons
Hot conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall experience
Internship Student (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 12, 2016
I was a civil engineering college intern. I was paid $14 an hour. They paid for my living, I did have to commute from Fort Lauderdale to Miami though. They paid for the gas and hotels from northern WV to southern FL. I lived with 9 other college students. I learned a lot on the job, working both in the office and in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is good place to learn work.
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 28, 2016
Is good place to learn carpentry, concrete and drive any lifts (machines) but the personal care (safety) is realy bad and job culture is realy bad too.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging company
QA/QC Engineer (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 2, 2015
Baker Concrete is a good company to work for because you get to experience different types of jobs in the industrial and commercial setting. You are able to gain valuable experience in the construction industry. If you are single, motivated, and willing to travel Baker is the company for you.
Pros
Different scopes of work, challenging jobs, great benefits
Cons
Hard to move up, no stablity
Was this review helpful?Yes19No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sumter, SCApril 26, 2016
I work everyday and the job has a lot of people that are willing to teach you multiple ways of finding a solution to fix any problems we come across.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Sabine Pass, TXAugust 9, 2013
Management puts safety before production. Long hours sometimes so do not take a salary position.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if your Mexican
Form and framing carpenter (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 10, 2012
Serious language barrier unless you happen to know Spanish, unreal hours for example getting off at 3:30 and going back in at midnight and working a 14 hour shift. no room for advancement unless your willing to step on you fellow employees backs.
Pros
we did get free pizza during a 15 hour day.
Cons
language barrier, long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes56No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
real great company to work for
Prime Contractor (Current Employee) –  Eunice, NMMarch 26, 2015
a typical work day I would go to the sub contractors for Baker and cordinate any items needed for them to perform their work

I learned how to manage multiple tasks to meet the milestones

the management is really helpful when you get in position where you do not know what to do next

the co-workers are great to work around and with you learn how everyone has their own ideas on how to perform work

the hardest part of the job was driving from Carlsbad to Eunice everyday for work

the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the different personalities that everyone has to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes35No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good concrete company
Carpenter Foreman (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 22, 2012
This company has a lots of potential where you can advance in your career. Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes16No26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working Culture
Executive Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCAugust 28, 2014
Job security
Numerous changes to management
Change control
Large EPC Projects
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented Company
Field Engineer/ M&TE Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Jackson, SCMarch 6, 2015
Baker Concrete Construction is a great company to work for. The management staff looks after all coworkers and makes it a pleasure to come to work everyday. When joining the company in 2012, I was welcomed and allowed to expand my knowledge outside of my originally hired for position.
Pros
Potential to be promoted
Cons
Moving constantly with the work
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work .
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 20, 2016
MOST OF THE BEST Moments in construction was in baker I love IT.I would recommend to anyone work for baker.Safety is number 1 rule in bake.
Pros
GOOD SAFETY, PAID GOOD. TEAM WORK.
Cons
NONE
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2013
You are Treated Like garbage. Under paied to the point you worry about gas just to get to work the next day if you had the 67 mi. transit one way as I did. no matter how much above and beond you go, if Your not alead mans "buddy" there will be no advancement. when the job ends, so does yours with no worning. At least for a month or so, tell the next one starts.
Pros
Better than nothing
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes41No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours & most week ends
Concrete Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 26, 2014
Typical day is a 10 to 12 hour day and most weekends.
Learned to managing larger projects.
The management department could improve more support.
Co-workers could be more qualified .
Trying to meet the schedule
Watching the project progress
Pros
Able to travel and see diffrent parts of the country
Cons
Lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes33No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no respect from the top of the letter
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJanuary 26, 2014
I have learned what tools to use for a different things. the management team has nasty attitudes the hardest part of the job was to be talked down to day n and day out
Pros
good pay
Cons
their was firing everyweek
Was this review helpful?Yes54No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard, get paid well, get laid off
Lead Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Monroe, OHMarch 20, 2013
Baker is great if you want to travel across the country just to be laid off after a few jobs. Ive played the cat and mouse game with them a few times and each time ended the same way. Great for short term income but not a career
Pros
pay
Cons
no future
Was this review helpful?Yes34No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace for recent graduate
Quality Assurance Administrator (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCApril 10, 2014
I quite enjoy this workplace. A day is long (10.5 hours) but the week is short (only 4 days). This really worked out well for me since I drive an hour to work and an hour home. I never had any issues with my managers. They respected employees and had an understanding of the workplace. However the managers from corporate seemed a bit out of touch. The hardest part of the job is learning information on inspections, engineering and general construction knowledge when you have no previous experience. However my coworkers and managers were always willing to give me a learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No11Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAKER CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

BAKER CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION Reviews by Location