BAKER CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sumter, SCApril 26, 2016
I work everyday and the job has a lot of people that are willing to teach you multiple ways of finding a solution to fix any problems we come across.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is good place to learn work.
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 28, 2016
Is good place to learn carpentry, concrete and drive any lifts (machines) but the personal care (safety) is realy bad and job culture is realy bad too.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work .
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 20, 2016
MOST OF THE BEST Moments in construction was in baker I love IT.I would recommend to anyone work for baker.Safety is number 1 rule in bake.
Pros
GOOD SAFETY, PAID GOOD. TEAM WORK.
Cons
NONE
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 16, 2015
Great Company to work for, very professional leaders. Needs more workers at times and need to keep the morale at the workplace at a high level!
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
real great company to work for
Prime Contractor (Current Employee) –  Eunice, NMMarch 26, 2015
a typical work day I would go to the sub contractors for Baker and cordinate any items needed for them to perform their work

I learned how to manage multiple tasks to meet the milestones

the management is really helpful when you get in position where you do not know what to do next

the co-workers are great to work around and with you learn how everyone has their own ideas on how to perform work

the hardest part of the job was driving from Carlsbad to Eunice everyday for work

the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the different personalities that everyone has to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes32No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented Company
Field Engineer/ M&TE Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Jackson, SCMarch 6, 2015
Baker Concrete Construction is a great company to work for. The management staff looks after all coworkers and makes it a pleasure to come to work everyday. When joining the company in 2012, I was welcomed and allowed to expand my knowledge outside of my originally hired for position.
Pros
potential to be promoted
Cons
moving constantly with the work
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace for recent graduate
Quality Assurance Administrator (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCApril 10, 2014
I quite enjoy this workplace. A day is long (10.5 hours) but the week is short (only 4 days). This really worked out well for me since I drive an hour to work and an hour home. I never had any issues with my managers. They respected employees and had an understanding of the workplace. However the managers from corporate seemed a bit out of touch. The hardest part of the job is learning information on inspections, engineering and general construction knowledge when you have no previous experience. However my coworkers and managers were always willing to give me a learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people in a small company, working to make it the best.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Monroe, OHDecember 16, 2014
I received orders, processed them to the plant & kept inventory for customers throughout the US. This required constant communication with the plant to assure the volume was adequate.
Pros
super nice people, casual atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2013
You are Treated Like garbage. Under paied to the point you worry about gas just to get to work the next day if you had the 67 mi. transit one way as I did. no matter how much above and beond you go, if Your not alead mans "buddy" there will be no advancement. when the job ends, so does yours with no worning. At least for a month or so, tell the next one starts.
Pros
better than nothing
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes38No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if your Mexican
Form and framing carpenter (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 10, 2012
Serious language barrier unless you happen to know Spanish, unreal hours for example getting off at 3:30 and going back in at midnight and working a 14 hour shift. no room for advancement unless your willing to step on you fellow employees backs.
Pros
we did get free pizza during a 15 hour day.
Cons
language barrier, long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes54No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours & most week ends
Concrete Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 26, 2014
Typical day is a 10 to 12 hour day and most weekends.
Learned to managing larger projects.
The management department could improve more support.
Co-workers could be more qualified .
Trying to meet the schedule
Watching the project progress
Pros
able to travel and see diffrent parts of the country
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard, get paid well, get laid off
Lead Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Monroe, OHMarch 20, 2013
Baker is great if you want to travel across the country just to be laid off after a few jobs. Ive played the cat and mouse game with them a few times and each time ended the same way. Great for short term income but not a career
Pros
pay
Cons
no future
Was this review helpful?Yes32No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no respect from the top of the letter
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJanuary 26, 2014
I have learned what tools to use for a different things. the management team has nasty attitudes the hardest part of the job was to be talked down to day n and day out
Pros
good pay
Cons
their was firing everyweek
Was this review helpful?Yes51No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a people friendly company
Tax Administrator (Former Employee) –  Monroe, OHFebruary 25, 2013
This was a very good company to work for as I was not micro managed but the management was lacking in interest in the employee.
Pros
not micro managed
Cons
direct supervisor was not reliable
Was this review helpful?Yes16No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unprofession and disorganized
Rodman/Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  orlando floridaApril 4, 2014
asked to do things that were not your job description, hired cheap help to do important tasks that were sloppy to just get job done cheap
Was this review helpful?Yes34No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 21, 2012
Management states one thing and the company does another. Mid management strives on the blame game and nepitisim is king in this company.
Pros
pay
Cons
inept management
Was this review helpful?Yes47No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working Culture
Executive Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCAugust 28, 2014
Job security
Numerous changes to management
Change control
Large EPC Projects
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Concrete Contractor
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 3, 2012
Started with Baker on Mile High Stadium. Worked on parking garages and low-rise, P-T elevated deck buildings.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work for
Field Engineer/ Layout (Current Employee) –  Houston, TexasJanuary 15, 2013
Construction layout, Building Grids, Elevations, Concrete figures and As-builds.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Pay was excellent
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charleston TennesseeJune 22, 2013
No Comment! The pay was really good!! The work hours were good!
Pros
no comment
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes16No8

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAKER CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1

BAKER CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION Reviews by Location