Bally Total Fitness Employee Reviews

Found 409 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business for a Reason
Assistant Manager /Sales (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 17, 2017
They were once the best in the business,
they're now basically no longer in most or all markets except CA and that's if they're still around in that state.
Pros
free workouts
Cons
customer's don't differentiate your time from company time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work.
Asst. Manager/ Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLMay 15, 2017
Learning how to run your own clients and business is great. Ballys teaches you how to establish control with clients as well as getting your clients in shape can be rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great pay.
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLMay 12, 2017
Great working experience for Certified Personal Trainer. Competitive pay. Fast paced environment. Hired non certified personal trainers. Unprofessional manager.
Pros
Great pay when certified
Cons
underpaid when not certified
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work (when they were open)
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Falls Hill, VAMay 11, 2017
Not sure why this is asking me to do this twice for the same company. But i already answered this questio on the other page. Not sure if this is suppose to be for the other job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Childcare Attendant and Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDMay 11, 2017
The environment was pretty cool especially if you love kids. I would say that they did not give enough supplies to make sure the kids had things to do. So we had to fend for ourselves for the most part. The pay was horrible considering what they want you to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health and fitness industry, long hours, average to minimum compensation.
Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 9, 2017
it was very hard to keep life balanced with this job because of the long hours in the position No true benefits, The job overall was interesting to me because I have always liked health & fitness.
Pros
work out for free
Cons
too many days and the long hours were hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive & uplifting coworkers,perfect work environment for myself
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Jamaica AvenueMay 7, 2017
Bally total fitness was a great work experience for me. The staff were positive,helpful,encouraging,& motivating. It's unfortunate that the gym location I worked at was very small,so some of the clients I would converse with would already have a personal trainer.
Pros
The work environment for me was perfect I felt comfortable & in my element
Cons
The gym was too small for the number of personal trainers available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Assistant Pro Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 5, 2017
Great staff that care much about the health of others. There are many different types of classes that suits all sorts of walks of life. The atmosphere is relaxing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAMay 2, 2017
The environment was not only created by gym management, but also corporate made sure to stick with helping the members and employees. Plus was very helpful to move up to management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Gym
Fitness director (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXApril 19, 2017
I enjoyed working at Ballys because I was truly helping people meet there physical goals. Management trusted me to do my job and train my trainers. I really enjoyed it.
Pros
Free membership, discount on supplements, good pay, truly changing lives
Cons
most of all Ballys are out of business now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a bad experience personally
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYApril 16, 2017
As personal trainer there, there was no commission pay. You had to find clientele and compete with rival trainers. Bally would take 80% of your earnings! Certification is not required.
Pros
Certification not required
Cons
Mean spirited employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Rockville, NYApril 14, 2017
Everyone almost seems like a family. We were a close group of staff members. We genuinely cared for one another and were always willing to teach each other new techniques for training.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Building condition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start out
Personal Trainer/Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILApril 2, 2017
Ballys took a lot of time to help train you and encouraged advancement. Emphasis on membership sales and personal training packages. I think it had some great programs and great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst company ever
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, NJMarch 20, 2017
I will never work for bally total fitness again the company closed down and I don't think that they are ever going to re-open. There was no support staffing \was an issue and the process in place were very old school.
Cons
Alll connssss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Operations/Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMarch 19, 2017
This company no longer exists. But it was a great company to work for if you were a hard worker. You got out what you put in. While the sales goals were challenging they were attainable for a lot of year. In the end though, they raised goals so much, it was hard to attain.
Pros
great pay, good people to work with
Cons
sales goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym
Front Desk/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 9, 2017
My first job in Colorado was great. Flexible schedule since I was going to school and easy to talk with management. Requesting time off was easy and using the gym was free for employees
Pros
laid back enviorment
Cons
to many guys
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE/FITNESS COACH (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILMarch 8, 2017
I had this job while going school. Its was great, the people the management everything. The pay was almost nothing but it made up for it in other ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being Productive each day!
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Penn Hills, PAMarch 7, 2017
A typical day at work was always different.
What I learn is to be a positive person and be kind.
Management, I had so many manager over the 17 years of employment. Some were not so good!
Workplace culture was great!
The hardest part was trying to make every happy!
When members were entering the gym early in the morning. This put a smile on my face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience gained
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 28, 2017
I enjoyed learning as much as i possibly could in very little time. From sales rep, front desk, to even making smoothing in the retail store it taught me a lot!
Pros
Free shakes
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great members!!!
General Manager, P.T. Mgr., Nutritionist (Former Employee) –  Towson, MD, White Marsh MdFebruary 28, 2017
I really enjoyed my staff, my clients and my members!!! However the corporate part of the company wasn't what I had expected in the way they treated their staff and the members. Left a bad taste in my mouth
Pros
great gym to train in, met some wonderful people!!
Cons
horrible corporation to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bally Total Fitness. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 424 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5