Bally Total Fitness Employee Reviews

Found 429 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ballys is now sold to La Fitness
Fitness Manager/Master Trainer (Former Employee) –  West Covina, CAFebruary 23, 2017
One of the last companies to pay their trainers a great wage. was a pleasure working for them. Unfortunately they went bankrupt and are now owned by la fitness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive culture of sales
Trainer and Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 14, 2017
Bally's was an interesting opportunity that I took in order to grow and learn more. I found myself intrigued with physical fitness and overall health but when the time came to make quotas, sell sessions, and blur lines of ethical business standards I left the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Aerobic Coordinator, Instructor (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAFebruary 3, 2017
Really great company to work for. Lots of free trainings available to learn new formats, flexible hours, good teaching pay!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start to training career.
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 1, 2017
A great start for a personal trainer. Compensation was not the best. I feel like the gym takes too much of the money that the client pays for training.
Pros
Good environment. Personal training career starter.
Cons
Compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 28, 2017
First sales job ever. Great experience in teaching on the spot sales. Sink or swim sales. Cold calling, personal communication with customer and maintaining communication skills with members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get training for sales
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 22, 2017
A challenging work day with many benefits. Learned how to set up for the next day. I also first learned how run a team. Most days were filled with being on the phone and setting up appointments. This is also where I learned how to turn a want into a need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my free membership
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAJanuary 16, 2017
great place to work. The corporate office was located in the beautiful city of Norwalk. Lots of beautiful trees outside to view during break time. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace fitness industry
Fitness Director, Westminster CO (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COJanuary 16, 2017
Management of personal training and group exercise department. Taught fitness classes and trained private clients. Hiring of all Personal trainers and Fitness Instructors. Processed payroll and sold personal training packages.
Pros
Great environment to work in.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness for health
Physical Trainer (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAJanuary 15, 2017
Overall this was a great company to work for as my main job was to teach others how to workout and stay healthy. There are no complaints as i saw it as someone paying me to stay in shape and being healthy
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bally Total Fitness
Assisting fitness couch's on their sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 13, 2017
Awesome environment everyone is very friendly and helpful and good team work. some money responsibilities and a lot of interaction with future members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and challenging workplace
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAJanuary 5, 2017
I am grateful for the experience I had with Bally. I believe it was a very informative and growing work environment. Everyday brought new challenges and new successes. All staff was positive and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It WAS a great company to work for before they went bankrupt.
Assistant Manager/Fitness Coach (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 4, 2017
They had great management, an open environment for ideas, great team members, and it was fun to go to work.

However, they closed down due to insufficiently managing their monies. Before I even started working there, upper management was over paying employees based on what a contract would bring in instead of what it was worth. So, the longer I stayed, the more pay cuts we received. Then they shut down in 2012, sold off their properties, filed chapter 12 and 14, and almost all the remaining employees were let go when sold to new owners.

It was a great experience and I will forever be grateful for the friendships I created at the many locations I worked at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 12, 2016
Amazing spiffs, management, culture, I would recomend this establishment to anyone looking to get into sales and make a good living. Great leadership...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDDecember 6, 2016
I really enjoyed this job working with children and helping out at the front desk. My boss was great and the customers were great too. My favorite was working with the kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Division Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 2, 2016
Was able to help get new and current customer in shape to have a longer and healthier life. Often trained customers when needing further assistance.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance in a health club
Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VANovember 18, 2016
Did maintenance on three fitness centers. Repaired all fitness equipment as well as electrical, plumbing, HVAC repairs, flooring, drywall, roofing and pool maintenance
Pros
Working with people
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor mangement
Receptionist / Cabana Host (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 10, 2016
Mangement was very bad. It was a sessonal job love working for the pool but the mangement t is always poor and don't treat their employees right. It was sad I wish they treated us better
Pros
Sessonal
Cons
No health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back then, it was a good place to work at. Lots of chances to move on .
Personal Trainer and Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, CANovember 4, 2016
It was a good place to work at. If someone wanted to move on , they certainly help and give you the tool to do so. The paying, before its bankrup, was good .
Pros
Free membership, employee discount.
Cons
After the company went to bankrupt, it was a disaster, like disorganization everywhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
General Manager (Former Employee) –  OhioOctober 31, 2016
A huge company who who were the founders of the fitness business. Learned a lot here and would not change it. Great people along with great friends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporate work place
Fitness Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 18, 2016
This job required a long hours. A typical day at work included making phone calls to prospective clients, follow up with existing contacts, staff meeting, and recruitment
Pros
Bonus potential
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bally Total Fitness. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 444 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5