Bally Total Fitness Employee Reviews in United States

Found 317 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work in
Personal Trainer/Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  californiaFebruary 4, 2014
*the benefits of being a fitness training is that you make your own schedule.
*disadvantages include having to sign and maintain clients.
*management was horrible
Pros
work anytime
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy atmosphere
Head Mechanic, Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJOctober 24, 2013
Decent company to work for. At times had to perform in areas not hired for, but in all a company worth looking into. Management easy to contact when needed. Benefits not worth spending money on.
Pros
good flexible hours
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, good income & made a lot of friends
Fitness Manager (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 25, 2014
would've been a great company to stay with if they had managed their wealth better an NOT gone out of business
Pros
flexible schedule, good compensation, cool clients
Cons
went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sells and pressure
program director (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHAugust 17, 2015
A typical day at work entailed trying to sell the customers a commitment and a service we took the customers on a tour around the facility and offered personal training that wasn't affordable to many of the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  West Hartford, CTMarch 31, 2012
started very early to make sure pools and hot tubs were functioning and at proper levels, made many friends and got to work out. company went bankrupt and got rid of maintenance.
was in charge of all maintenance to building and grounds.
Pros
hours, people, benefits
Cons
bankruptcy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Group Fitness Manager (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 17, 2015
I was with Ballys for over 12 years as an aerobics instructor and manager. It was a fun job working with very talented, exciting instructors.
Pros
Fun and exciting job.
Cons
Ballys is closed now.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of exercise equipment
FITNESS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 17, 2015
As a manager of the personal training staff A typical day would be matching new members with a personal trainer. Tons of scheduling and development of trainers, including weekly meetings. Assisting in all sales of personal training packages. Other co workers were great to work with, and learned a lot about the business side of personal training and staying within a budget. Hardest part of the job was reaching a big monthly goal in terms of bringing in cash, which was also the most enjoyable part because I was able to hit quota almost every month in management.
Pros
free membership
Cons
company was sold
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going atmosphere
RECEPTIONIST, KID'S CLUB SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, OROctober 26, 2012
No structure with management, tasks were mundane, no benefits, I enjoyed conversing with gym member and kids
Pros
easy going atmosphere
Cons
mundane tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  West Los Angeles, CASeptember 1, 2015
Great company to work with, fast pace and always learning new things each day. All about the numbers and customer satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectable atmoshpere
Reseptionist Front Desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Dearborn Michigan Fairlane MallDecember 9, 2011
Fun place to work, and stay healthy. Friendly atmosphere. Learning from the staff was great. Awesome Personal Trainers, inspired me to go to school for training.
Pros
free membership, always learning.
Cons
cold, poor benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an OK company several years ago
PAYROLL ADMINISTRATIVE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAApril 16, 2012
Great place to work. Great benefits. I worked in a fun department but the pay was low, even though it was almost 10 years ago.
Pros
great benefits, free gym membership
Cons
low starting pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Secretary (Former Employee) –  N Providence, RINovember 29, 2012
I enjoyed working at Bally Total Fitness. It was a very fun experience. Unfortunately they did not offer many benefits or have a room for employees to grow in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Near by
Lifeguard, Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 11, 2015
A Typical day here at the gym was nice a busy always something to do. I learned to manage my time wisely considering I has early mornings and late night classes. Management didn't know how to speak or to organize her professionalism. The hardest part was compromising with the manager.
Pros
It was close
Cons
Management did not know how to mange
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Receptionist/Kids Club Assistant (Former Employee) –  Villa Park, ILMay 29, 2015
Workday consisted of nothing but encouragement and fun.. my co workers were very cool, and management was always willing to work with your schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Willow Grove, PAJuly 15, 2012
Great co-workers and leadership. Could be a better benefit package.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Kids Club Attendant (Former Employee) –  Morrow,GaNovember 21, 2013
I really enjoyed working for Bally's. There was many caring people there.
Pros
free membership
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Fitness Coach (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 23, 2013
Not enough money or hours, the commisions where too low and the salary was horrible.
Pros
free gym
Cons
no money
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and educating times
Childcare Attendant and Customer Service/Part Time (Former Employee) –  Villa Park, ILApril 30, 2015
I enjoyed the time I shared with the children brought into the daycare.
I loved how I absorbed a great deal of information about maintaining a healthy lifestyle from my co-workers and managers. They really expressed their love for fitness by helping others. Therefore, it inspired me to be apart of the healthcare industry.
Pros
Relaxed environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed being in the fitness world but not best company
Front House Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INDecember 6, 2014
I am definitely into fitness and health so I thought why not get a job at a gym. There really isn't any culture there and didn't seem as anyone truly cared about the establishment. I was still so young and willing to be taught the ropes but it seemed I cared more then everyone else. I was in charge of giving tours answering any questions and dealing with any issues that may come up that didn't need a manager higher then the front desk which was me. What made it fun was our clients who came through the door. I got to know many of them by name. I still love fitness that will always be apart of me.
Pros
the friendly clients and getting to workout for free
Cons
many of the staff didn't care about the gym or the clients
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place always positive and upbeat
Asst. Sales General Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 14, 2015
funfilled entergetic atmosphere, awesome co-workers, positve management team whom are always helpfull. seeing new members results is the reward at hand!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 329 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture