Bally Total Fitness Employee Reviews in United States

Found 326 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace freedom to get personal matters done
Senior Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Union, NJNovember 17, 2014
Easy as long as your bringing in results you had freedom to take care of personal matters
Pros
free membership
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to obtain entry-level employment where I can apply my strong management and leadership skills
Management and Sales (Former Employee) –  Montebello, CAOctober 29, 2014
supervised staff,work well with management team,purchase product for cleaning and retail store.
Performed daily jod duties around gym,cleaning,stocking and shipping and recieving inventory
Sales high pace and competive,enjoy customers and helping them achieve thier goals short-term and long
Company was great while expanding west coast but relocated last year back east
Pros
competive salary
Cons
holidays slowdown
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
PERSONAL TRAINER (Former Employee) –  Rowland Heights, CAOctober 28, 2014
looking for clients to help them with their workout goals.talking to people anout personal training and selling training to them
Pros
working with others
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYOctober 27, 2014
Great place to acquire people skills, Work at your own pace. Easy advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXOctober 21, 2014
Bally Total Fitness is a high pressure sales oriented company. With a what have you done for me lately attitude from the company you must be able to consistently motivate yourself to achieve sales goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy, problem solving
Receptionist/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 16, 2014
Busy through out the morning, noon & after 5p.m. Always helping customers and making sure there membership accounts were up to date as well as calling corporate to verify and fix any issues/ problems with member account. The hardest part was when classes were full and members would be upset because there wasn't anymore space availability for them to join in. The easiest part was greeting members as they came in and making sure they felt comfortable while in the facility. Always keeping a smile and very outgoing personality.
Pros
free gym
Cons
no lunchroom, had to by lunch everyday, pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Wexford, PAOctober 2, 2014
In my experience this organization did not offer much in the way of compensation or work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
front desk (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDSeptember 27, 2014
healthy way to start life working with trainers that are about eating healthy and staying fit helping other make a difference
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in Buisness
Engineering Administrator (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CASeptember 27, 2014
No Longer in business
Was a good place to work
Worked hard to keep the company going
Pros
no longer in buisnes
Cons
no longer in buisnes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Training
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MISeptember 22, 2014
Learned the ins and outs of how to sell Personal Training in a competitive environment. Was able to gain the confidence to create my own business.
Pros
learning
Cons
membership rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good run
Lead Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORSeptember 22, 2014
The team that I worked with absolutely made every day worth while.
We were all team players and I enjoyed the fact that I could get as much overtime as needed.
I am sad the company was bought out and shut down, but the experience I gained there was well worth while.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went out of business of a reason.
Sales Manager / General Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN.September 15, 2014
Crisis Management. One good sales month you are the best employee they ever hired but if you have one month you are the worst employee they ever hired. High Turnover rate. The average employee lasts 6 months. High Pressure Sales. Lots of hours. Few benefits and pay.
Pros
fun atmosphere
Cons
crisis management culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym Life
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverdale/JamaicaSeptember 9, 2014
Great if your a PT or into the gym life. Need to make lots of phones calls and hit a quota thats not even realistic every month, very competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 3, 2014
scheduling and time management learned how to properly schedule clientele
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to meet new people
Certified Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 2, 2014
I have learned how to deal with different kinds of people
i have great co workers
the most enjoyable part of my job is seeing my clients reaching their fitness goals
Pros
fun palce to work
Cons
high budget for trainers to meet on slow months
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bally
Administrative Coordinator/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 27, 2014
it was an ok job it paid well and that's all that matters. it was easy with good hours and stability. I hate they were bought out. LA Fitness is not like bally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mount Prospect, ILAugust 25, 2014
Bally was a job that was all sales based. The company was something that my position was not full time.
Pros
free gym membership
Cons
no paid holidays or vacations
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great energy, and always busy
Front Desk Manager (Member Service Rep) (Former Employee) –  Orlando.FlAugust 23, 2014
A day at the gym is always a good one. Happy people wanting to get fit and get healthy. I learned new ways to stay fit and eat healthy and learned more of the sales side of the company to always bring in new prospects. Management was same age as myself and we got along great. We always talked about everything, and came together to make smooth and easy transitions for the company and staff. Most enjoyable part of my day is if I ended my shift early, I was able to also workout
Pros
free access to all bally's gyms nationwide
Cons
no breakroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 22, 2014
I would come in and start my sessions with my clients for an hour at a time. From working in the fitness industry you will find that not a lot of people are as motivated about fitness as you. So there are different methods you need to use on the them for motivation. The managers were very professional and fun when needed. My co-workers were always enjoyable. Hardest part of the job are those clients who quit on you because they don't get the results fast enough. The most enjoyable part are those who reach their fitness goals.
Pros
hours, fitness and pay
Cons
quitters
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier/Receptionist
Cashier/Receptionist (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 15, 2014
Answered phones in a professional manner and provided excellent customer service at all times
Receive and post payments to accounts
Used cash register for financial transactions
Create member ID cards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 338 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4