Baltimore Washington Medical Center

Baltimore Washington Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy, poor supervision, no advancement
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDNovember 24, 2017
this is a very busy er in need of proper supervision from all charge nurses. some don't care, don't utilize the computer properly to assign patients to nurses. they panic and will end up giving you 3 priority 2 patients. leadership is not culturally diverse, management is very unprofessional and will stagnate your growth based on their feelings and not your performance. look somewhere else.
Pros
good lunch breaks
Cons
bad culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Medical Social Worker, II (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDNovember 2, 2017
This is a fast paced but friendly environment. Workers are friendly and supportive. Benefits are great. As with most social worker jobs, advancement is difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDNovember 1, 2017
a typical day at work includes getting things together for your day at work, and making sure others are ready and safe.
Everyday is a different change in your work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Expeirence
Sterile Processing Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDOctober 19, 2017
They love to teach you new things. There is plenty of room to grow. The breaks are good and everyone is friendly. I really enjoyed working there and would return
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serious but yet knowledgeable about health and great rewards
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDOctober 18, 2017
listening to pt's and curing illnesses, stressful at times, and leaving with a better sense of helpfulness to others,fun for me is also, being a part of something much greater then myself
Pros
staff gets shots free, lunches at times free, parties at holidays
Cons
not competitive enough at pays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Physician Assistant, Emergency Department (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 12, 2017
Fantastic colleagues. It is a busy ED so there is little to no down time. You will see some very sick patients. Almost all the doctors are very helpful and great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor mid level management
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDOctober 12, 2017
Poor mid level management. good pay, poor management creates unhealthy work environment, disrespectful employees are allowed to behave poorly without recourse. A fine place to get some experience for a few years but most can't stay on longer due to the culture, very high turnover rate housewide.
Pros
good pay
Cons
poor culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with amazing people
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDOctober 3, 2017
I don't appreciate the clinical ladder but I work with amazing people who all care for one another. Management could use a lot of work. Our managers seem to be very overworked and our unable to keep up with issues going on in the unit.
Pros
Work Family
Cons
Management, Clinical Ladder makes you sacrifice time with your family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK when starting out as new person in field
PRN Staff (Former Employee) –  BWMCSeptember 28, 2017
As someone who was PRN it was an opportunity to get in with a respected organization. The PRN classification is a bit of a joke. 2 weeks after I started they changed the way they staff for the PRN people. Now they require 2 or more regular shift people to be off before they offer a shift to the PRN pool. Thus drying up the available shifts. In the role of patient care, I can't see how this serves the community and patients in a quality manner...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDSeptember 20, 2017
Long as you mind your business and have good work ethic you would love the job, its a nice atmosphere especially during the holiday season give good bonuses
Pros
Lo
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high paced workplace
envirnmental service tech (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDSeptember 19, 2017
i loved working at the hospital people are in sync by that i mean that the team work is very important and the people there live by that in every aspect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place In The Hospital
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDSeptember 15, 2017
Any hospital is a company you can move up ward in, advance and very skilled from house keeping to nursing.Right now i"m in house keeping but one day i plan to go back to school to get my licences for nursing, The hardest day at Bwmc is Constant Discharges. The Most enjoyable thing in the hospital is i like what i'm doing, i like working with people i like helping people and my dream as a little girl was to work in a hospital.In a hospital you would want to see the sick get better, you would want a clean environment for a family member a love one or friend who has to go into the hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, supportive
Oncology/Neurology staff RN (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDAugust 12, 2017
Busy unit (oncology and neuro), but very friendly and supportive leadership and colleagues. Nursing staff worked together very well. Always someone to come along side and assist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Telecommunications Operator (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDAugust 9, 2017
I recommend BWMC to anyone who is looking for any type of job. There is opportunity for advancement and transfers in BWMC. This is a very large company that respects its employees and will compensate them for the hours they have worked. There are a few bad apples as far as employees, but overall its an excellent place to work.
Pros
Advancements, competitive pay, and vacation time.
Cons
The few bad employees (rare)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided excellent care to patients and families.
Psychiatric Social Worker II (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJuly 28, 2017
I worked in the Department of Psychiatry and the motto of the manager was "patient first". This allowed and encouraged staff to always do what was best for a patient, not for the hospital.
Pros
Excellent treatment program
Cons
High ethical standards of department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but laid back place to work
Document Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 21, 2017
Compared to most hospitals, this location is pretty laid back yet still productive. The most enjoyable part of the job is the comradery amongst the entire hospital. There is always a reason to party or celebrate which makes me feel much more appreciated then most places.
Pros
Free parking, job advancement, raises, benefits
Cons
leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic schedule and various special events makes it challenging
Executive Chef and Manager (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJuly 19, 2017
Very busy including special events. More trained resources needed. Kitchen must be updated and work flow with refrigeration facilities also needs reworks but it is manageable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning
Patient Care Technician III (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJuly 12, 2017
Teach you things you should know to do your job. They are well into teaching all new employees. But think you are extremely experienced and if they don't like that you are an expert at drawing blood after coming fro school they let you go.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love the operating room
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJuly 3, 2017
a busy day with seven cases in one room with two different doctors.i have learned that i love general surgery over orthopedics. manangement seem to be okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and stimulating medical facility to grow with
Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJune 21, 2017
As a Physician Assistant, I rounded on up to 10 hospital patients daily, writing orders, obtaining history and physicals, ordering pertinent labs and imaging.
Pros
Physician Lounge has free snacks and coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Baltimore Washington Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 86 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6

Baltimore Washington Medical Center Reviews by Location