Find companies:
Banfield Pet Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
393 reviews

Banfield Pet Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing but a money market
vet assistant (Current Employee), HooverDecember 18, 2014
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: very poor management
If you want to work a place that has very poor management,then this is a place for you. Full of empty promises and bi-polar attitudes. A chief of staff that leaves things undone,another vet that will turn and bite your face off if under pressure and a practice manager that gets her thrills of coming into work merely just to see one specific manager – more... that works at petsmart who, which by the way is so involved in what he's doing that she will mess up schedules,mess up ordering and wear revealing clothing. Who works in a vet clinic and wears very short skirts and wears 6 inch heels?? Yes,I have learned some traits while here but most is micro - management skills. The only thing they care about are numbers and getting pets into the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work environment
Veterinary Assistant Externship (Current Employee), East Mesa, AZDecember 16, 2014
Pros: continued education
Cons: disorganization of staff
I learned a lot during my time with Banfield. All of my current skills have been learned from Banfield and school. I did not care for the way management was running the clinic, which is why I am pursuing employment elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with pets and and their owners is fullfilling and enjoyable.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Lexington, SCDecember 16, 2014
Banfield cares about their employees, has excellent benefits and supports employees in succeeding at work and in life in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a changing work environment. Great team atmosphere!
Practice Manager (Former Employee), Salem, NHDecember 15, 2014
Amazing company! Great benefits.
It is unfortunate that the culture and brand is outstanding, but upper management will allow field directors to make poor decisions that lets dedicated associates go. I myself have witnessed 2 top managers be released without any previous reprimands. To think of all the money spent to fly these managers out to Portland – more... OR, Phoenix AZ, and to numerous hotels for training and certifications to cut them for not so serious issues? It is unfortunate because there are leaders that look over practice managers and field directosr who truly care about the vision of the company! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment
Practice Manager (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCDecember 15, 2014
Banfield provides a high level of education for associates, providing you with the opportunity to learn and grow. The practice focuses on preventive care, ensuring that the clients are properly educated in the best care for their pets. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping and seeing your patients recover and enjoy a happy, healthy life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banfield "MARS Corporation" The Candy take over
Hospital manager (Former Employee), Aurora, CODecember 12, 2014
Pros: i owned it
Cons: mars
I was the leader of a Banfield franchise for 11 years that was highly successful due to the fact that we could practice at our pace and our medicine. We had thousands of people that came to us and would go no where else. Mars bought the practice in 2008 and all has changed they claim they don't want to buy the franchises, but one mistake and there are – more... no second chances. 11 years will be swiped away from you at a rock bottom price. That's some real loyalty they have. They have no intention of continuing any private ownership supposedly 40 of us just wanted to sell this year. Wake up Banfield! I hope clients start to figure your deceptive practices and put you under.
I can't tell you how many clients came from Banfield's around ours that were sold a Wellness Plan that the hospital could not service. My hospital sold what we could service. Banfield would rather sell the WP then worry about service later or never.
I am happy to report that the sells at my past location are DOWN to our 2004 levels since my departure.
I would never recommend anyone to work for MARS they will have no loyalty to you or your clients. They run the company out of a pearl tower in Portland and will not listen to you or anyone in the trenches. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unethical and dangerous
veterinary associate (Former Employee), aurora coDecember 11, 2014
Pros: it's a paycheck
Cons: you must compromise your sense of ethics and self to survive here
Although I am a disgruntled past employee, my review is quite accurate. The work days are long without sufficient breaks, often will have split shifts, and the goal is more to make money than to take care of the pets. Frequently (as in multiple times a day) ill pets are turned away and it may take weeks or months to get your pet in. The corporate stated – more... goal to provide care on the wellness plans is to do less than 1/2 the services people pay for. The culture has really deteriorated since Mars bought the company and employees and clients are treated terribly. They will talk to you for hours about the "5 Principles" of Mars, but they really make no effort to live up to them. Management is poor and focused on having worthless meetings rather than really determining solutions to problems. The in-hospital management works more to satisfy the corporate folks with meaningless numbers and unethically obtained revenue than to provide good care to the patient and client. The clients are frequently charged for services not provided or overcharged for services that are included on their wellness plans. Sometimes unnecessary surgeries are performed due to clients not being given adequate and accurate information. You should only consider this as a place of employment if you are desperate; keep looking if you get the job. They pay below the industry standard in most areas, but the benefits (health insurance/time off) are better. You'll even get a Christmas ornament as your holiday bonus (sometimes)! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment if you love working with animals
Receptionist (Current Employee), Round Rock, TXDecember 11, 2014
A day at work for me is a general always a busy day, whether its checking people in or answering phones or even holding a dog for a doctor, what gets me through the day is team work. We always have to work as team to get through the day effectively. The most enjoyable part about my job is seeing people smiling, happy for the care an service we served – more... to them whenever, always when they come in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active job
Veterinary Technician (Former Employee), Mobile, ALDecember 9, 2014
Pros: a great team that all worked very hard
Cons: the management lacked in some areas, such as guidance and encouragement.
Many duties aiding the veterinarians in their day to day, from placing catheters to insuring sterility during surgery to critical care of sick animals. Banfield does an amazing job of training, thorough and detailed with everything to ensure all staff are on the same page. All of the technicians and doctors worked as a team, pushing through long hours – more... and busy shifts. The most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction I found with the pets and their owners. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coorporate
Veterinary Assistant, Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIDecember 9, 2014
Pros: helping pets, benefits
Cons: coorporate greed
Coorporate, poor turn over rate, profit motivated.
Poor management.
12 hour days
Get to work with pets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funny, multi-tasking
LVT (Current Employee), Northville,MIDecember 1, 2014
When working we do alot of preventive care ,outpatient , sick and ER patients. We work 12-15 hour days and also do routinue surgeries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun at times, busy day goes by fast, great people
Veterinarian Technician (Current Employee), Rocky Mount, NCNovember 26, 2014
Pros: the people and pay
Cons: working long hours on your feet all day
there is no typical day at banfield, every day is different with the many animals that come in. Some days it is extremely busy some days it can be slow. I've learned so much about animals, vaccinations, and the plans that are available. I enjoy meeting the parents of these animals and working with a good team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEh
CADM (Former Employee), Oneonta, NYNovember 26, 2014
I worked here for 2 years as a manager. I was promised advancement opportunities from the start. I was not granted due to lack of business, in my eyes having 40-50 k a week is not a lack of business. Not to mention the only time the " higher ups" even helped is when some customer complained. If you, the employee complained about another employee, it – more... was looked over usually. There was a manager who was below me who needed to be relieved of their duties that is still there. I find that ridiculous. GOOD Luck if you work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a new tech or a tech coming back to clinic
LVT (Current Employee), Vestal, NYNovember 26, 2014
Was promised 40 hours a week. Got only 30 hours and that is if they had the time.. I improved on my skills by 80% and got more confidence. But i would not work here for longer than a year, unless they moved closer to my house.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Veterinarian Assistant Externship (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 25, 2014
Pros: the experience of doing everything possible
Cons: no pay
helped with restraint and blood drawn and surgery and dental. always about teamwork and reaching our goals, always communicating and I was able to be cross-trained
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for those starting out
Licensed Veterinary Technician (Current Employee), Various locationsNovember 24, 2014
Pros: great for those wanting to learn quickly
Cons: very corporate, more concerned with making money
For anyone who has worked in private practice, Banfield is a giant shift from caring for animals to hitting number goals. I have worked at multiple locations to help out understaffed hospitals and the problems seem to be company-wide. For those just starting out, Banfield allows for great cross training opportunities and has a steep learning curve. – more... For those of us who went to school to make this a career, it is frustrating. The pay is low, the hours are long, the employees are not valued at all, and most of the time, the techs are doing way more than they are qualified for. Most doctors I work with don't write their own notes, the techs/assistants do. Most of the time, they don't even check them over. Busier locations tend to feel like an assembly line for the pets because they don't have the time to see the number they are expected to see. Clients are short changed because they get about 5 minutes with the doctors. The services are priced exceptionally high for our area of the country and we don't really offer anything that other clinics wouldn't also provide. And they do it for way less. Ordering medical supplies is limited because there is a contract with one supplier, so there are some things that literally can't be ordered. Doctors are paid on production, so that means the more they recommend, the more they have a chance to make, so I have seen unnecessary drugs and diagnostics ordered up to boost their production. Another issue was that employees are held accountable when the clinic was slow. Employees shouldn't be concerned with number goals, that is a management concern and shouldn't be the focus of a veterinary clinic. Hours are constantly being extended and they have taken away all holidays but Thanksgiving and Christmas. They also took away time and 1/2 on holidays as an incentive to work them. On top of being open 7 days a week and not having a consistent schedule week to week, having a life outside of Banfield is almost impossible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized environment
Client Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Burleson, TXNovember 23, 2014
Pros: great training with the software
Cons: poor location in a big pet store
Typical day at work was checking in and out clients, and helping them with wellness plans. They mostly did preventative care. They co-workers were rude and big attitude issues daily. The hardest part of the job was hearing my clients at the front desk and on phones in the big Pet Smart on a Saturday when it's adoption day. The most enjoyable part of – more... the job was seeing the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banfield Receptionist
Client Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 23, 2014
I was responsible for checking in/out patients and answering phones. The most difficult part of this job was selling medical services that are not necessary to clients to build up revenue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working animals
Veterinary Assistant (Current Employee), Missouri City, TXNovember 21, 2014
Pros: good clients and patients
I love working with animals and the clients are nice as well. I enjoy going to work everyday there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company that really cares.
Client Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Roanoke, VANovember 15, 2014
Pros: being around animals all day.
Banfield was probably one of my favorite jobs I have ever had. They really showed how much they cared about others pets and did everything they could to ensure your pet went home healthy and happy. If it wasn't for having another job that was very demanding I would have stayed. The hardest part about working there was when there was nothing left we – more... could do for the pets and having to put them down so they wouldn't suffer. After getting to know the pet owners and the pet yourself, it made for a rough day. These pets truly because like your own. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Banfield Pet Hospital

Partnership. Teamwork. Collaboration. Back in 1955, Banfield Pet Hospital was founded on a vision to make human-quality medicine – Read more

Banfield Pet Hospital Photos