Find companies:
Banfield Pet Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
321 reviews

Banfield Pet Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and busy but exciting
Pet Care Assistant (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCJuly 22, 2014
Pros: free pet care
Cons: coworkers seemed to push their work off onto me but take credit for it
Working at Banfield involved a wide variety of duties from laundry to actually treating animals. It was different every day and never dull. I learned to multitask more efficiently than I been able to before. While I enjoyed to management and her strict rules yet amazingly happy personality, my coworkers often seemed to be doing very little to move the – more... pace along reasonably. The hardest part of the job was dealing with having to deliver bad news or being unable to fully assist a patient. However hard it was, I really liked it there because I was surrounded by animals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, no accountability
Director of Petnursing (Former Employee), Tucker, GAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: non family oriented, no real compassion is felt by the higher ups
No work/life balance, long hours. Management has no team work capabilities. I feel its more money driven then actual care for clients and pets. This mainly is spoken about the higher ups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
:)
Office Manager/Receptionist (Current Employee), Killeen, TXJuly 17, 2014
Pros: good with my hours
Cons: attitude of the people i worked with and clients
I loved the animals and the hand full of clients that loved there pets just as much as I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is AWFUL
Client Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Greensburg, PAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: 3 free wellness plans and 15% off in pet smart
Cons: practice mgr, long work days/weekends, turn over rate, over booking and overworking the staff, cheap pay, they only hire doctors right out of school
A typical day at work is nothing but chaos. Turn over rate in the last 6 months has been awful because the new Practice Manager has no clue what she's doing nor does she give two craps about her employees. It's all about SELLING the Wellness Plans and seeing how much money she can bring in by overworking the staff and scheduling EVERYTHING that calls – more... in that same day, short staffed or not. I don't know how the Doctor's put up with her, including the clients. The clients are the ones who suffer when they get scheduled and then have to wait for hours because the Doctors and staff are so far behind because there's never enough people working because God forbid someone get overtime! They're so cheap when it comes to paying their staff. You work every holiday and just get "floater" days, there is no time and a half. PTO isn't bad, but I've had better. They're expensive because they want everyone that walks thru the door to sign up on an OWP; that is how they get people to do it. Come on, charging someone an office visit who isn't on the OWP for a nail trim? That is not necessary if they've been seen before. Even more reason to send them over to the groom shop! I could go on and on but I'm wasting more of time with this company by writing this review. However, I feel like everyone should be for warned prior to applying here. Especially at this hospital! Take my advice, go see a REAL VET who will actually take time with you and be there for you every step of the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
PET CARE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAJuly 12, 2014
I really enjoyed working at Banfield Pet Hospital, I loved the nurses and doctors. And of course its always fun working with pets. I was the grunt, so to speak, so I did a lot of cleaning and laundry. Laundry is a huge staple in the veterinary hospital. The people were fun to be around and from my point of view we all really enjoyed working together. – more... The doctors are highly knowledgeable and are willing to answer any question no matter how small. Everyone was easy to talk to and at the end of the day I felt as if I had done a good days work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with career potential if you enjoy animals
Practice Manager (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free wellness plan for up to 3 pets
Cons: no work/life balance
My typical work day would include the following:
checking time cards, auditing staff's work, helping perform receptionist duties, learning vet tech duties, and cash reports.

After supervising/managing employees for 4 years with 2 different companies, I have decided that management is not a career I want to continue to pursue. The veterinary experience – more... was one I didn't enjoy due to the smells of the clinic, the expectation of performing vet tech duties, and leading a difficult team.

My favorite part of this position was educating the owners of the pets and offering/selling them veterinary products for their animals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy workplace.
Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 2, 2014
Pros: 3 free wellness plans
Cons: long days
Typically long hours. Long work days. Day goes by quickly though because of the business. Very fun to see different pets all day. Helping people care for their pet is a great accomplishment. Love all of the people i work with. The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work with lots of rewards.
Veterinary Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee), Acworth, GAJune 30, 2014
Pros: helping pets
Cons: management, long hours, turn over rate
Working with the pets is the best thing I have ever done. It is such a rewarding job. I would love to help people the way I have helped some of those animals. Banfield was hard to enjoy the job because of the tension between management and the high turn over rate. We cannot be very productive if we are constantly training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me great Customer Service experieince
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cobb County, GAJune 27, 2014
Pros: great experience in customer service
It was a great learning experience. I enjoyed the overall public contact, working as support staff for the Veterinarians and Techs. As an animal lover myself, I learned a lot about the general health and care of one's pets. I worked there only part time while working as a GA Pre-K Lead Teacher elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbalanced Workplace
Veterinary Assistant (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAJune 23, 2014
Pros: benefits, good doctors
Cons: lack of structured training, no-advancement culture, componsation not equilivant to expereince or workload
Good Benefits with some very knowledgeable and friendly vets. Technician/support staff was rude and condescending, giving little opportunity to grow/prove oneself. Hired with expectation to be FT, but had hours steadily cut.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Experience
Customer Service Coordinator/ Veterinary Assistant (Former Employee), Peachtree City GAJune 22, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: all together a bad company to work for if you want to love your job
Manager was never there. Wasn't trained and a completely unorganized hospital. The staff was great and really cared for the patients rather then the money. Staff did amazing, being the hospital is under staffed, equipment never works and there is no practice manager to manage the hospital. Long hours and sometimes you don't get a lunch break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same
Veterinary Assistant (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 15, 2014
the same as any other job. very busy and not appreciated. you work long hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enthusiastic and cohesive workplace
Veterinary Student Intern (Current Employee), Glen Carbon, ILJune 10, 2014
Pros: paid internship!
Cons: not all cities with a banfield offer the internship
The days I work are generally long with somewhere between 10-12 hour days, but I only work 3-4 days per week. I have learned an immense amount of veterinary education and I have had great clinical experiences. My coworkers are very nice and work well with each other which offers a great work environment. I would say the hardest part of the job is working – more... for 12 hour increments on my feet almost the entire time, but working with animals and fun people makes it worthwhile! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Vet Assistant (Former Employee), midtown , FLJune 9, 2014
worked with animals everyday, very hands on job, never a slow day, co-workers were great, management was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding work environment
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Willow Grove, PAJune 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
They provide good training in policy and procedure as well as use of their software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly work
Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee), The Woodlands, TXJune 5, 2014
Pros: pto
Cons: long hours, poor management
When management was efficient work went well. Now management has been changed and the work environment is unpleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with emphasis on keeping pets healthy
Veterinary Technician (Current Employee), Sunset Valley, TXMay 31, 2014
Pros: great learning environment
Cons: long hours
Overall a very nice place to work. The hospital I worked at was very busy, but it helps the time pass. Co-workers are very nice and make coming to work pleasant. Not a monotonous job, there is something new to learn every day and you see alot of different types of appointments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about me as an employee
Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT) (Current Employee), Coon Rapids, MNMay 30, 2014
Pros: only working part time
Cons: little pay for a two year degree
A typical day at work is making sure to always be overworked and overwhelmed. I might have two sick pets I am working with, in an appointment where a client has lots of needs, and an emergency that comes in that no other technician wants because it would mean staying after hours. I have learned how to work in a fast paced environment with lots of stress – more... that has forced me to prioritize my time. Management does not care about its employees, we are all very easily replaced. When there is conflict at work the managers push issues under the rug and look the other way, they only care about how much money you can bring into the clinic. Co-workers I never see because everyone is off dealing with their own stressors. The hardest part of the job is not having enough time to ensure clients know how to properly care for their pets. The most enjoyable part of the job are the kittens that come in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is ridiculous
Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Morrow, GAMay 27, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with a little stress.
Pet Care Assistant (Current Employee), Plantation, FLMay 25, 2014
I always have fun at work,you have to. It might get alittle hectic but if you don't let it bother you then it's alright. I will make you laugh when you are mad and calm you down when stess gets to you.

1 2 3 4 5

About Banfield Pet Hospital

Partnership. Teamwork. Collaboration. Back in 1955, Banfield Pet Hospital was founded on a vision to make human-quality medicine – Read more

Banfield Pet Hospital Photos