Find companies:
Banfield Pet Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
331 reviews

Banfield Pet Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Career
Front Desk Coordinator/ Technician (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 18, 2014
A typical day at work would be constant clients throughout the entire day. I learned so much about different treatments for animals, shots, etc. Management was perfect as well as my coworkers. The hardest part of my job was having to assist putting a pet down. The most enjoyable part would be meeting new pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work enviroment
Client Service Coordinator/Vet Assistant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 17, 2014
Pros: working with animals and people
Cons: hours
I learned how to handle pet parents and their animals. I learned how to draw blood from cats and dogs, as well as, mix and give vaccines, run bloodwork, fecal exams, and various types of test. The most enjoyable part of the job was watching the pets grow up and be there as they go from babies to adulthood with their families. The hardest part of the – more... job was when patients had to be euthanized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great doctors
Client Service Coordinator/ Veterinary Technician (Former Employee), McKinney, TXAugust 17, 2014
the doctors here are great, sadly its a corporate owned clinic and the doctors hands seemed to be tied on a lot of what they are allowed to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love pets - so it is not like a job to me.
Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Rockaway, NJAugust 11, 2014
Pros: my coworkers
Cons: no health insurance and not enough hours
I love working with animals, but the hours I am getting are not enough for me to pay my bills and to save. I am promised more hours but that's all it is. I love my coworkers. We get along great. I have a great manager but this is a big corporation and their is nothing she can do about hours. The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with the – more... pets. They really bring a smile to my face. The hardest part of the job is when a pet owner has to say goodbye to their sick pet. It breaks my heart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a Veterinarian Technician
Veterinarian Technician (Current Employee), Old BridgeAugust 10, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-workers
Cons: short or no lunch break
If I arrive in the morning I help my co workers put in catheters and get blood samples from the surgery patients. If I am in surgery I start to calculate the drugs used for each patient. I often answer questions from my co workers because I have been there longer than most of them, We often help each other through out the day, making sure we each have – more... support. If I am in rooms that day I will assist the Doctor by getting information on the patient they will see, and order tests and other things needed up. We are encouraged to have the freedom to make decisions on what we believe the patient in the room may need, the decision to give it is of course up to the doctor. On a average day I will have help hold a hostel pet sometimes much bigger than I am, get blood, fecal, and urine samples set them up and run them, help my co-workers with any task they need for their patient. I always make sure my co-workers take a break, because sometimes it gets very busy at the hospital and it is easy to put your own needs aside. I will help the Doctors in the tests and tasks they need to do with the patient, and have even learned to start some tests like bile acids one my own without being told what to do. I tend to be as pro active as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with animals.
Internship (Former Employee), Orem, UTAugust 6, 2014
Pros: awesome experience
Cons: interns cannot have contact with animals
Although not allowed as an intern to touch any of the animals, is a great way to learn about the different types of animals and injures. Fun environment and team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor regional management, little support
Practice Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisAugust 1, 2014
Little support for regional management, inconsistent message/expectations. No growth opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun playing with the pets
Student Intern/Vt (Former Employee), Signal Hill, CAJuly 30, 2014
I was there 4 hours and I did housekeeping and help restrain pets when need by a doctor or veterinary nurse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banfield
Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAJuly 28, 2014
A typical day at Banfield would we providing great customer care to clients and their pets. I Answer a four line phone service and I do call many clients on a daily basis. I handle pets with care all day and I get perscription medication ready. I love working with Banfield clients and pets bacause they are so kind and loving. The Dr. educate me and – more... the clients about pet care and preventative care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small general practice
CVT, Receptionist (Former Employee), Lonetree, COJuly 27, 2014
fast passed, high volume client/pet care, corporation owned
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and busy but exciting
Pet Care Assistant (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCJuly 22, 2014
Pros: free pet care
Cons: coworkers seemed to push their work off onto me but take credit for it
Working at Banfield involved a wide variety of duties from laundry to actually treating animals. It was different every day and never dull. I learned to multitask more efficiently than I been able to before. While I enjoyed to management and her strict rules yet amazingly happy personality, my coworkers often seemed to be doing very little to move the – more... pace along reasonably. The hardest part of the job was dealing with having to deliver bad news or being unable to fully assist a patient. However hard it was, I really liked it there because I was surrounded by animals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, no accountability
Director of Petnursing (Former Employee), Tucker, GAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: non family oriented, no real compassion is felt by the higher ups
No work/life balance, long hours. Management has no team work capabilities. I feel its more money driven then actual care for clients and pets. This mainly is spoken about the higher ups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
:)
Office Manager/Receptionist (Current Employee), Killeen, TXJuly 17, 2014
Pros: good with my hours
Cons: attitude of the people i worked with and clients
I loved the animals and the hand full of clients that loved there pets just as much as I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is AWFUL
Client Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Greensburg, PAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: 3 free wellness plans and 15% off in pet smart
Cons: practice mgr, long work days/weekends, turn over rate, over booking and overworking the staff, cheap pay, they only hire doctors right out of school
A typical day at work is nothing but chaos. Turn over rate in the last 6 months has been awful because the new Practice Manager has no clue what she's doing nor does she give two craps about her employees. It's all about SELLING the Wellness Plans and seeing how much money she can bring in by overworking the staff and scheduling EVERYTHING that calls – more... in that same day, short staffed or not. I don't know how the Doctor's put up with her, including the clients. The clients are the ones who suffer when they get scheduled and then have to wait for hours because the Doctors and staff are so far behind because there's never enough people working because God forbid someone get overtime! They're so cheap when it comes to paying their staff. You work every holiday and just get "floater" days, there is no time and a half. PTO isn't bad, but I've had better. They're expensive because they want everyone that walks thru the door to sign up on an OWP; that is how they get people to do it. Come on, charging someone an office visit who isn't on the OWP for a nail trim? That is not necessary if they've been seen before. Even more reason to send them over to the groom shop! I could go on and on but I'm wasting more of time with this company by writing this review. However, I feel like everyone should be for warned prior to applying here. Especially at this hospital! Take my advice, go see a REAL VET who will actually take time with you and be there for you every step of the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
PET CARE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAJuly 12, 2014
I really enjoyed working at Banfield Pet Hospital, I loved the nurses and doctors. And of course its always fun working with pets. I was the grunt, so to speak, so I did a lot of cleaning and laundry. Laundry is a huge staple in the veterinary hospital. The people were fun to be around and from my point of view we all really enjoyed working together. – more... The doctors are highly knowledgeable and are willing to answer any question no matter how small. Everyone was easy to talk to and at the end of the day I felt as if I had done a good days work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with career potential if you enjoy animals
Practice Manager (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free wellness plan for up to 3 pets
Cons: no work/life balance
My typical work day would include the following:
checking time cards, auditing staff's work, helping perform receptionist duties, learning vet tech duties, and cash reports.

After supervising/managing employees for 4 years with 2 different companies, I have decided that management is not a career I want to continue to pursue. The veterinary experience – more... was one I didn't enjoy due to the smells of the clinic, the expectation of performing vet tech duties, and leading a difficult team.

My favorite part of this position was educating the owners of the pets and offering/selling them veterinary products for their animals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy workplace.
Client Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 2, 2014
Pros: 3 free wellness plans
Cons: long days
Typically long hours. Long work days. Day goes by quickly though because of the business. Very fun to see different pets all day. Helping people care for their pet is a great accomplishment. Love all of the people i work with. The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work with lots of rewards.
Veterinary Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee), Acworth, GAJune 30, 2014
Pros: helping pets
Cons: management, long hours, turn over rate
Working with the pets is the best thing I have ever done. It is such a rewarding job. I would love to help people the way I have helped some of those animals. Banfield was hard to enjoy the job because of the tension between management and the high turn over rate. We cannot be very productive if we are constantly training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me great Customer Service experieince
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cobb County, GAJune 27, 2014
Pros: great experience in customer service
It was a great learning experience. I enjoyed the overall public contact, working as support staff for the Veterinarians and Techs. As an animal lover myself, I learned a lot about the general health and care of one's pets. I worked there only part time while working as a GA Pre-K Lead Teacher elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbalanced Workplace
Veterinary Assistant (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAJune 23, 2014
Pros: benefits, good doctors
Cons: lack of structured training, no-advancement culture, componsation not equilivant to expereince or workload
Good Benefits with some very knowledgeable and friendly vets. Technician/support staff was rude and condescending, giving little opportunity to grow/prove oneself. Hired with expectation to be FT, but had hours steadily cut.

1 2 3 4 5

About Banfield Pet Hospital

Partnership. Teamwork. Collaboration. Back in 1955, Banfield Pet Hospital was founded on a vision to make human-quality medicine – Read more

Banfield Pet Hospital Photos