Find companies:
Bank Midwest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Bank Midwest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the "new and growing" atmosphere.
Commercial Post-closing Specialist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 19, 2014
I worked here when things were constantly changing as new owners were changing processes and the overall image. The work was challenging and I felt my opinion was considered in ways to make things better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Teller Supervisor/Mobile Banker (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 18, 2014
Pros: vacation and sick time
Cons: not able to advance, if not former bmw employee you were considered a weak link and pushed out, (regional manager told their banking center manager's to do that)
Before BMW took over was a great place people cared about staff, after nothing was more important than pushing out former Hillcrest employees and making that dollar. Always had to push some type of sale on customers whether it was needed or not. Not my idea of good customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Teller (Current Employee), Independence, MOJuly 11, 2014
Achieving and passing sales goals. Quarterly incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and wage-earning work
Teller I (Former Employee), Excelsior Springs, MOMay 20, 2014
Pros: consistent schedule, teamwork oriented staff
Cons: communication from other departments
Friendly staff, continuously busy, mood is always light but staff if always alert. I have learned work scanning, data entry, cash balancing, debit card ordering, check ordering, inventory count, inventory organization, vault balancing, money orders, cashiers checks, cash advancements, CTR filings, hold placements, fraud suspicion, client services, client – more... satisfaction, and much more. The hardest part of the job was learning to form sentences structured on client satisfaction while keeping procedures on a need-to-know basis only and meeting referral requirements (Excelsior Springs is a small town) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a very uncomfortable working environment
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Springfield, MONovember 12, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I would not recommend working for a company that pushes you in to lying to the public to get their business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE
Full Time - Teller (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOOctober 16, 2013
Pros: large bank, well known name, great health care.
Cons: expensive health care, standing all day, terrible management.
Management is terrible, you have to stand all day AND hours are long. Not an enjoyable place to work at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have enjoyed my Retirement Banker position very much.
Retirement Banker/Asst Branch Manager (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOOctober 10, 2013
Pros: great works hours, awesome supervisor. lovely customers
Cons: decision to close the centers
I am not impressed with the way BMW has handled the decision to close the Retirement Center Bank locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Times are changing
Loan Officer/Sales Lead (Current Employee), Olathe, KSAugust 19, 2013
Things keep changing and turning to more of a corporate approach
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful Environment
Banking Center Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 20, 2013
Pros: nice customers
Cons: micro-managing, and sales above all else.
Regional Managers are hard to please. Consistently micro-managing. Sales goals must be met, period!!!! Customer service doesn't mean much to this company, only sales and fee income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Midwest
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Shawnee, KSMay 1, 2013
Pros: fun environment and we all get along very well.
Cons: hard to advance.
A typical day at the location I am currently working at is very slow as far as traffic. We are surrounded by multiple banks in a small area. Working their has taught me to get creative to reach my goals and help me better my leadership role. The hardest part of the job is the re-ocurring customers and trying to make sales to them. They tend to get tired – more... of us asking. Myself and my co-workers work well together and try to make the environment fun while we get our job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company needs improvement
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Savannah, MOApril 8, 2013
Pros: fellow employees, benefits
Cons: schedule, compensation
Working at the branch was an enjoyable experience. Co-workers and clients are supportive and a joy.
Upper management is not engaged with the smaller branches and sets goals that are unattainable.
Company does not equip the small branches with the tools they need to be successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to be a part of the local community.
Teller (Current Employee), Excelsior Springs, MOMarch 5, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: long hours on your feet
I enjoyed my job at Bank Midwest very much. Great work atmospere, fast paced and challenging. My favorite part of the job is building relationships with customers and the community. Management is fair and honest. I learned alot about handling large amounts of currency under dual controls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Teller (Former Employee), Grandview, MODecember 11, 2012
Pros: nice hours
Cons: salary compensation
Providing customer service to the members in their day to day needs of banking.
Learned how manage accounts.
What I liked most was the face to face contact with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy call center work environment
Client Services Specialist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 20, 2012
Pros: being able to assist people with their various issues
Cons: too repetitive
Receiving inbound customer service calls in regards to bank clients who has questions or issues involving their bank account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking experience in rural branch growth opportunities.
PERSONAL BANKER (Former Employee), Marshall, MOSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: large bank with lots of opportunity
Cons: team players, knowledge in management
Bank Midwest was going through rough times while I worked there. They were bought out by NBH Holding Company. I am very stimulated by growth in sales. Being in an environment that was under that type of crisis was hard. Having the right employees in place is key for growth. I have met members of the new Holding Company at a Manager's Meeting, and I – more... do feel that they will be very successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lenexa, KSAugust 25, 2012
It is fun place to work at. Management is good, and they work with you to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employment Opportunity
Lead Technician (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 9, 2012
Pros: very nice management
Cons: short term
It was interesting to be responsible for upgrading every branch of Bank Midwest here in Kansas City, Mo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict
Teller (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSApril 6, 2012
No room for advancement, strict on referral and sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very sales oriented. Good Management & training.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, MOFebruary 20, 2012
Pros: lots of training & encouragement
Cons: hours
Overall this is a good company to work for. The management team strives to help employees by coaching & being leaders for sales activities. Hours of operation are undesirable but good for the customers. Products are good.

About Bank Midwest

Bank Midwest is a leading community banking franchise, headquartered in Kansas City, MO. We serve clients throughout Missouri – Read more