Bank of China Employee Reviews

Found 91 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn much communication skills
Assistant Banking Analyst (Former Employee) –  C09January 27, 2015
 Conducted Foreign Exchange and overseas remittance services to customers
 Conducted some intermediate business such as collecting the bill of water, electricity and telephone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent experience and obtain fun and new insight
Assistant Loans Manager (Former Employee) –  C02January 20, 2015
I assisted my loan manager to complete 5 large private firms annual credit worthiness reports. My part is based on the annual financial statement to compute the financial ratio and then give a objective health and operational analysis. In addition, I accompanied my loan manager visiting the firms that we plan to evaluate, enquiring firms' operation and financial conditions, exchange thoughts and come up with a future prospect. during the conversation, I would take the notes and forth integrate into the annual report.
Pros
nice co-workers, comfortable time schedule
Cons
short summer internship
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Bank in China
Intern, Product (Former Employee) –  Suzhou ChinaJanuary 11, 2015
As an intern in one of the 4 top banks in China, I learned a lot from my manager and colleges. My job is to handle some supply-chain loan project and do the modeling job for online auto detective system, which is totally new products in China.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  ShenzhenJanuary 5, 2015
Compensation and work life balance is alright, the skill set I learned is incredible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is OK
International Settlements Department Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  ChangshaDecember 30, 2014
Good pay, but long hours. You are limited to learn stuff from your own department. Not a family friendly job.

Very decent breakfast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short-term But Fulfilling Work
Summer Intern, Credit Department (Former Employee) –  Longyan, FujianDecember 3, 2014
The three month length summer intern gave me the first platform stepping into the society. The experience of learning the working in the credit department is unforgettable. It gave me the opportunity to learn the differences between the school knowledge and actual working. I learned that one's responsibility of the work is very important since the business is complex, a small mistake could result in a big loss for the bank. During the internship, the spirit of team-work inspired me a lot. Everyone shows his professional and innovative attitude to the work and fully work with the dedication. I want to say thank you to my manager and co-wokers for their encouragement and selfless help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical chinese working environment
Human Resources Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 16, 2014
is not employee oriented. lack of promotion opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  C04November 6, 2014
• Handled cash transactions and cash reconciliation at the end of shift
• Provided outstanding customer service
• Provided financial advisory services
• Checked deposits, processed loan expenses and opened new accounts
• Worked closely with the manager to ensure operation excellence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest stated-owned bank
Intern (Former Employee) –  Qingdao, ChinaOctober 14, 2014
Assistant with daily email drafting, mail delivering, and weekly reports.
Assistant with data entry and error checks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate working colleagues
Intern / International Clearance (Former Employee) –  MianyangOctober 9, 2014
Learnt useful modeling skills in practice.
Strengthened my ability to cooperate with teammates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding opportunities for personal training and improvement
Business Development Intern (Former Employee) –  TangshanSeptember 13, 2014
Great culture with clear responsibilities and chain of command
Provide unlimited personal improvement opportunities, which goes beyond daily work skill needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offer stable career life
Risk Manager (Former Employee) –  C07August 28, 2014
A typical day at work starts at 8:00 am and ends at 5:00 pm with a two-hour break during noon between 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm. The intensity of the workload varies depending on the departments. The most enjoyable part of the job is to get to know new clients and to learn new knowledge and skills. The hardest part of the job is to balance between clients' requests and the bank's limits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place where employees get along well
Intern, Division of Corporate Banking (Former Employee) –  C09August 25, 2014
Co-workers are like families. Senior colleagues are always patient to teach new comers. Great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Security job
IT Security Officer, Manhattan (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 20, 2014
Positive and good culture. IT Security Job. Security Officer. Planning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for working
Corporate Client Manager (Former Employee) –  C09July 25, 2014
Working in Bank of China is a wonderful experience with my communication and leadership skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and amazing work experience
Business Department Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalian, ChinaJune 23, 2014
• Persuaded department heads from Dalian Medical University to open settlement accounts by highlighting the strengths of our product
• Collaborated with team members and a professional manager to develop a digital campus ID and payment card for Dalian Medical University
• Served clients through telephone and e-mail to keep in touch with their needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it might be the best Chinese bank in us
Clearing Department Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 21, 2014
It might be the best Chinese bank in us, but it pays like you were working in China. If you are not Chinese, little chance here for you to be promoted coz all heads are from China. Head office send them here.
Pros
not too much tension
Cons
health care, salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
SVP & Head of Treasury (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2014
good work life balance place

you can learn a lot from the job

grow very fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Summer Intern-Management Rotation Program (Former Employee) –  C32June 5, 2014
As a national company, Bank of China seems never lack customers.During my internship, one point I learn is you must be very attentive and careful when doing transcat business.My co-workers and mentors are very hardworking and responsible.The only cons I think is employees often have to work late due to a large mount of daily work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Vice President- Compliance Department (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 5, 2014
A typical day in the Bank consist of managing and leading a team of analysts to ensure their tasks are completed on time.

I work with a group with strong team spirit. Which make the task much more fun and easy to accomplish.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bank of China. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 195 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
4.2
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

80%
Approve - Based on 35 ratings
Add your rating

Bank of China Reviews by Location