Find companies:
Bank of Hawaii
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Bank of Hawaii Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work at
Consumer Banking Representative (Current Employee), HawaiiFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: incentive on sales, campaign, promotion, bank party
Cons: very strict policies and regulations
I started working at Bank oh Hawaii right after i finished school at Hawaii Pacific University in 2012, and it was a very good opportuinity for me who didnt have very much experience working in the U.S.

I accepted the offer, started with another branch instead of my original branch which was a good to learn and got to know co-workers. In Hawaii, the – more... variety of cultures as well as ethicities makes us understand better and work better with clients.

Working at different branches was helping me have ideas how to help and work with either consumers or businesses, it was good change for a newly employee.

I actually experience new things everyday with either typically clients or with new clients who try to do business with the bank, whenever i needed help, bosses or co-workers, also other departments will support

Bank of Hawaii is a good place to work at. I got chances to go to different training courses when its opened/

The bank is giving all employees opportunities to get promoted or transfer to new position with their performance as well as having party for us to get together twice a year so that we know who we are working with, also build up co-workers relationship.

I came from Viet Nam and fluently in Vietnamese. Thats why im trying to bring Vietnamese businesses to the bank, my executive bosses are letting me use my strength to help my vietnamese community also, because of that, we closed a big commercial loan with one of the vietnamese businesses last year and it will be the target for this year as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best training I ever had
Teller (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Cash checks, deposit checks, process cashier checks, cash audits and provide good customer service. Perform all the duties of a teller position. Accepted utiliy bills, processed bonds, TT&L, cashier checks, accepted loan payments. I loved my training I received for Bank of Hawaii.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Teller (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: part-time
Cons: less hours
As a bank teller at Bank of Hawaii, it was my fist experience working in a bank after high school. I enjoyed working with awesome mangement and co-workers. All though it was a summer job. The hardest part of beinging a teller were to become a morning shift person as in working early shifts of the day also getting off early. I enjoyed meeting new face's – more... everyday, helping customers with their needs for accounts and to see them leave with a smile, Working with funn and excting pepole. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming / Fun place to work with great employees
Intern / Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIDecember 16, 2013
As a graduate student straight out of college, this internship was able to teach me an incredible amount about myself. I really got a glimpse into the amount of work it takes to keep a large corporation running.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Consumer Loan Underwriter (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIOctober 5, 2013
Consumer loan underwriter in Hawaii

Segment culture of Asians at top ranking position
Acted with false sense of superiority after I found errors in the loan handling process. Did not want to hire Americans at an American bank in America. Kept most Americans as temporary to avoid paying benefits. Very critical to disaster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work and a good place to start your working career after high school
Utility Clerk/vault custodian (Former Employee), Honolulu, HISeptember 29, 2013
Pros: discounted bus passes, annual christmas parties, employee appreciation gifts at the end of the year
Typical work day: balanced tellers work, order money for the branch, balance the ATM machine, balance the safe at the end of the day and the GL work. I learned to be better organized at this job. The management was very strict but I learned a lot from management. The co-workers were helpful and had positive team spirit. The hardest part of the job was – more... balancing the tellers work because in those days, we had to do this manually without computers because we actually used adding machine tape. The most enjoyable part of the job was having a set schedule and sticking with it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kapolei, HISeptember 22, 2013
Pros: 1 hour lunch, located near home
Cons: pay
Atmosphere was nice, sometimes it could be exciting... But that's about it...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kapolei, HISeptember 3, 2013
Good start to gain experience and grow to know how financial institutions works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work
Assistant Vault Supervisor (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIAugust 30, 2013
Pros: business and responsibility
Cons: pay
I learned a lot about my management skills and had to monitor employees and make deadlines. There was a lot of responsibility monitoring the cash flow for the state of Hawaii, Guam, America Samoa, and Saipan. It was very stressful but you always are working hard. The only thing is your salary isn't very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and Family Oriented
Teller (Former Employee), Kunia, HIAugust 29, 2013
Pros: customers were like family
Cons: different accents
there was so much to learn at Bank of Hawaii but if I was to take anything away from there it was this, No matter what you do in life you need to look forward to a new day and new opportunities to fulfill your daily goals and achievements.
The Hardest part of my job was not being able to understand some of the customers request being they may have had – more... a strong accent, i would have tried my best to accommodate them but if no progress what made thats when that would happen i would refer them to my supervisor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I fully enjoyed this employer
Teller (Former Employee), HawaiiAugust 14, 2013
The hours were amazing. The management was very knowledgeable. I have no complaints against this employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and good work enviroment.
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIJuly 26, 2013
Pros: got to take the shuttle van close to my home after work.
Cons: got to start early whenever i have to drive the shuttle.
I liked working in this company because I had a great supervisor who I was abled to get along with. I was able to work together wth my supervisor very well. There were some strange things happening among the employees where I worked at. (Mailroom Services) I enjoyed distributing mail to each department because I was able to walk to all the floors in – more... the building and get to know people in different departments. I enjoy driving the shuttle bus/van taking the mail or employees to designated areas. What I really like about this job was moving all day instead of staying in one place. The more I went around delivering mail and driving the shuttle the more I enjoyed my job. That job was a fast pace work because the mail has to be delivered on time. I enjoyed the challenge everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work outstanding.
Teller / Senior Supervisor (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIJuly 23, 2013
Pros: everyone help each other including managers.
typical day at work: Walking in the branch to friendly smiling faces.

•what you learned: I learned about the banking industry. There was so much to learn.

•management: always there to help in whatever you need and always there to listen to our concern.

co-workers: Love all my co-worker always help each others like a team great.

•the hardest part – more... of the job: I didn't find anything harder about my job, tools were always available and everyone work together.

•the most enjoyable part of the job: Getting up in the morning to go to work, it was just so great working for Bank Of Hawaii!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really was challenging and would work for the company again.
Record Management Clerk II (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIJune 26, 2013
Pros: working o/t
Cons: n/a
I started has a summer hire I was glad to hear when I was offered a full time position. The Manager of the Department said that I was good at my job and turn in projects on time. I enjoyed working for the bank but again my Spouse was being assigned to Fort Riley, Kansas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looked forward to seeing our bank customers
Teller (Former Employee), Kahului, HIMay 31, 2013
Pros: we did get incentives for making our goals
Cons: the same tellers would get "secret shopped".felt it was fixed.
Good place to work,everyone knows the "banks" do not pay well. We as tellers do a lot for the bank,sometimes not recognized as we should be.It was hard to keep up with our goals due to that the same customers come into the bank & we could only sell so much to them.Management could not see that point, they are not doing it and don't realize how difficult – more... sales can be.It was so enjoyable to see "my favorite" customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Consumer Banking Representative (Former Employee), Pearl City, HIApril 29, 2013
Great place to work. Family oriented, great management and opportunities to move ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secured,private,professional
Teller (Former Employee), waianae,hiApril 1, 2013
Pros: structure, communication
Cons: healthcare, compensaton
At BOH a there is no such thing as a "typical day". Work here is so fast paced, and needs so much attention to detail, currency accuracy, filing, paperwork, customer service, phone calls, ect. sometimes i think there's not enough hours in the day. I love days like this. What i've learned working here is COMMUNICATION, TEAM WORK, and great CUSTOMER SERVICE – more... is KEY to a Successful team/ Person. Having the ability to have great communication almost never leaves space for failure.Weather it be with customers,co-workers or manegment. My co-workers are all Independent women, working with them is a pleasure. we can depened on eachother for anything. I agree that others would say my field/job of choice is hard, but i love it. I love that my skills can be challenged daily, i love that their is room for groth, and more things to be learned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and professional
IP Balancer (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIMarch 12, 2013
Pros: benefits, retirement plans, training
Cons: there is no downside to it
Bank of Hawaii is a great company. It's welcoming and great employers excite recruits by giving encouragment and acknowledge success. I 100 % support the great Bank of Hawaii.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call center
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Kapolei, HIFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: medical/dental benefits, pay
Cons: management, unable to change availability
as soon as I was hired and started working at the Call Center in Kapolei, co-workers would come up to me and tell me that working there was horrible, and that the management didn't care about their employees.I found it odd that I was being approached by people who worked there for over a year, and they would tell me about how negative their experience – more... was. It wasn't long before I saw how right they were. The management there treats people as if they are cattle; they do not hesitate to belittle, talk down to, or criticize employees out in front of the rest of the staff on duty. The worst part is the fact that all of the upper management there is the same way-- there is no way to report any of it without consequences. They don't "allow" you to work off of the clock, but you aren't allowed time to finish reports, emails, etc while clocked in and answering calls, so in essence you are forced to finish work off the clock or be reprimanded for not clocking out on time. Potential employees need to remember that this is a BANK- they are going to do everything possible to make sure that any problems in-house are handled in the most cost effective & quiet way possible. Luckily for me, I relocated and kept my mouth shut. Other who decided to bring these issues up ended up terminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, teamwork, great company
Item Processing Specialist (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIFebruary 12, 2013
I worked in the Lockbox department and it was a great experience. I learned how to process checks, send out company summaries about their lockbox statues, answer phones calls, sort mails and process payments. Lots of work, great team to work with and I would definitely would love to work with Bank of Hawaii's lockbox department, if i do move back to – more... Hawaii – less

About Bank of Hawaii

Bank of Hawaii knows there's no place like home. The corporation is the holding company for Bank of Hawaii (familiarly known as – Read more